We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the tub, but there are some quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nexus Seattle
Ranked #69 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 8 September 2006

We were intrigued by the Japanese Hydrotherapy Suites, so we opted to spend a bit more to try it out. Since the tubs, when fully filled, weigh a lot, we expected to be on the ground floor and we were. The tub was FANTASTIC, as was the "rain" showerhead. BUT, the one downside was that the tub is basically right next to the bed. No biggie, just be prepared. We thought it would be in the separate bathroom area, but it wasn't. Also, for some reason, the bathroom wall (shower & toilet) didn't reach completely to the ceiling. Thus, every sound made in the bathroom could be heard in the room. It's not a big deal for couples I guess, but if you're bunking with a friend or family member, just be aware of that! Otherwise, the hotel was nice and clean, service was fine (although after the first night, the cleaning staff took the hotel-provided robes and didn't replace them, and didn't refill the in-room coffee supplies). The continental breakfast at the adjoining restaurant was initially a bonus for us, but it left much to be desired. It consisted of single-serve cereals, toast/englishmuffin/bagels (which you toasted yourself at the end of the buffet, often resulting in a long wait), oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, a couple of fruit choices, Yoplait yogurt, juice and coffee. After day one, we opted for the Starbucks across the street. OH, one other quick note -- the hotel does have high-speed internet, but only if you have a wireless card. We thought they might have ethernet cables, but there was no option for that, so we had to upload our vacation photos on dial-up. Needless to say, we decided to wait until we got home, and just bought an extra media card for our camera instead!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ttheuriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2006

Front desk personnel were unfriendly and not helpful throughout the stay.
Couldn't sleep, because so close to highway.
Public Transport not available

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank Speedy-Vesper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2006

We were visiting family close to this location so decided to try it over much nicer hotels in Seattle. The first morning of our stay water started pouring through the light fixture in the bathroom. We called the front desk who suggested that we take a key for a dirty room and use the shower there. I was told that they did not want to give us a key to a room with a clean shower because they would have to re-clean the room. When they finally agreed to allow us to use a clean shower they told us that they did not know when they would be able to fix our room. We were considering checking out when the manager told us that if we stayed the next night that we had reserved she would make sure that we would be taken care of. Although the room was cleaned when we returned, taking care of us was a $10 discount on the room which frankly was less than we tipped the maid. The front desk staff was disinterested and somewhat rude, parking was difficult to find and although they said that the hotell was newly remodeled it still looked like a run of the mill Ramada Inn. It's near a hospital and you will hear sirens all night long. Good luck if you stay here.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank oahutraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

We're out of State visitors to the Seattle region visiting our daughter and stayed at the Ramada Inn @ Northgate for 3 nights which were 3 nights too much.

There were a few some pro points about the hotel-near the Northgate Mall and highway on-ramp entrances, free parking and continental breakfasts but the cons over-ruled the pro points.

Cons-

Check in was messed up with a confirmed reservation for a two double bed room, but front desk told us that they had us for a room with single queen size bed.

No bell man to take our baggage to our room.

The lobby's single elevator is too small to transport 4 adults with baggages.

Room number configuration is confusing-odd number & even number rooms on either side of the building. Strange hotel design-coming out of the elevator where all room doors are exposed to the outside part of the building. Hate to check in this hotel when the temperture is in the 20's-30's.

Tiny cramp rooms and out-date furniture- lamp with blue poka dots shade & green plastic swivel chair.

Room's only window is fronting tthe corridor preventing privacy.

Air conditioning is NOT central air. It's a stand alone a/c unit that is built in the exterior wall under the window. Our a/c unit's control was broken and could only work when the gauge is at the coldest settings. Instead of freezing, we turn the a/c off and slept in a musty but warmer room.

The blankets were thin and the bed sheets were stiff, regardless of their claim of upgrading their beds with new Serta beds, our sleep were not restful.

The bathroom faucet couldn't give us any warm water when we turned the handle to the middle, it was hot, hot water. The shower head was loose so on our first shower, water sprayed all over the bathroom floor.

The name has changed from the Ramada Inn at Northgate to the Nexus, but it's still an out-dated and a budget class hotel that we definitely won't come back to. For a few bucks more, I'd rather stay at a Marriott and enjoy their superior rooms ,service and ameneties.

Overall grade for the nexus hotel- D

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kennygH0n0lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jesuschd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Thank VielreisenderBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at Hotel Nexus Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 105 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nexus Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nexus Seattle

Address: 2140 N. Northgate Way, Seattle, WA 98133-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £84 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nexus Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nexus is a non-smoking establishment located in north Seattle close to shopping and area medical centers, convenient to all of greater Seattle. The hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast buffet; complimentary area shuttle, high-speed Internet; free parking, business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, restaurant and room service. Guestrooms include granite countertops, hardwood furnishings, Serta Perfect Presidential Suite Diamond Plush beds, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, and cable TV. Dogs allowed in specific rooms (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nexus Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing