We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience at a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience at a good hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Five in early December from Friday-Tuesday.

My first impression of the hotel was quite good. It was clean, the staff were all very friendly and the location was decent. Max's Cafe was an excellent choice for breakfast.
A few hours later, I noticed a group of 6-8 young guys checking into the hotel. We shared an elevator up to our rooms and they mentioned they were in town for a stag weekend. One of them said, "I feel sorry for anyone else that's on our floor".

Lucky for us, our room was right across the hall from one of theirs.

Each night, they started the party early in their rooms. Drinking heavily and being very loud. They would head out and come back between 1:00 and 2:00am. Each night when they returned, they continued to party in their rooms and in the hallways. They were screaming, had their shirts off banging on doors and were overall just obnoxious. This lasted about an hour and a half. I spoke with other guests and many of them complained to the front desk, but it didn't seem to make a difference. This went on each and every night. Needless to say, getting a good nights sleep wasn't possible.

One afternoon, while coming back to the hotel, I noticed one of the guys talking with the front desk staff. To me it seemed the staff were more interested in being buddies with this group than they were recognizing that these 8 guys were really putting a damper on the weekend for many of the other guests on the floor. To make matters worse, the front desk even provided them a fridge so they could stock up and keep their booze chilled for when they returned each night. This compounded the problem.

When I checked out on Tuesday, I asked the front desk what kind of feedback they received from other guests and she said they heard about the rowdy group. She told me that they were given "a talking to" when they checked out. It was difficult not to laugh when I heard that come our of her mouth. Unfortunately it was too little, too late. She did seem sincerely apologetic.

I don't blame these guys for partying at their buddies stag. I get it. What I can't accept is the way the staff just let these guys disrupt so many other guests stays. I can't imagine another hotel tolerating this. I realize Hotel Five is a boutique hotel and it caters to the younger/hip crowd, but this was brutal. I'd have second thoughts booking Hotel Five again.

I sent Pineapple hospitality an email over 3 weeks ago sharing my experience. I'm disappointed to say I never heard back. For a company that claims it excels at it's customer relations I am disappointed.

I'd suspect that normally this is a good place to stay, but for me, I'm sorry to say it was a bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eegnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Eegnops,

I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. This is not the impression we like to leave with our valued guests. We tried to contact you via the phone number you provided for your reservation but we may have the wrong number. I would love an opportunity to speak with you, please feel free to call me at your convenience. I can be reached at 206-770-7146. Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to speaking with you.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    472
    123
    34
    22
See reviews for
245
553
79
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Booked this hotel through HotelTonight and was very pleased. Friendly front desk staff, nice room, best pillows I've ever had in a hotel, and located near a nice restaurant and jazz bar. Parking fee was reasonable.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wrossbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
wrossbc,

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to our front desk staff! It is great that you were able to try us out using Hotel's Tonight and we are happy to know that we met your needs! We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Seattle, be sure to check out our hotel's website for new and upcoming promotions!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Hotel Five was an awesome find. It was close o everything downtown and was easy to find.
The hotel itself was very funky looking. It was refreshing to see something other than the average traditional boring hotel. They had free Starbucks coffee and cupcakes in the lobby as well! Can't beat that! We loved our room and the shower was awesome! I didn't hear any noise at all, not from the neighbours or the streets. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Tiffsta.

Thank you for your comments! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel FIVE when your travels bring you back to Seattle. Be sure to check our hotel's website for new and upcoming promotions!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Awesome hotel. Totally funky design, very modern. Room felt very new and was spotless. Huge glass shower. Location is great with easy walk to Space Needle attractions and right on the Monorail line. We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuckJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
DuckJock,

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to our Hotel. We do take great pride in the product that we have, and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay! When your travel brings you back to Seattle we hope to see you again!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This was a funky, cute hotel and it was in a pretty decent location. It's located 5 blocks from the Space Needle and maybe 6 blocks in the other direction to Pike Place Market. It was clean, unique and the service was good. I only have a couple of minor complaints. One is that the rooms don't have mini fridges which is a major inconvenience especially after visiting the market and making food purchases. Second, the bed frames have wheels and do not stay in place so if you lean on it to tie your shoe or try to sit with your back to the "head board" - WATCH OUT because it'll slide out from under you. And third, the heater did not seem to work. Other than those, it was a good hotel and the price/location was right. I would probably stay here again if I couldn't find something similarly priced with a fridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thanks for sharing a review and the very nice pic. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a few mini fridges available upon request. We are planning to upgrade our beds this year so that should help with the moving around.

Hope to welcome you back this summer!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights at the Hotel Five in a Space Needle view room. Comfy beds, heater works well (though the tiled bathroom floor remained freezing cold) and more than enough room. One major complaint is the lack of insulation. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything your neighbours are doing. Everything. And they can hear you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troyzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Troyzilla,

I'm sorry you found the rooms to be a bit noisy. I am glad to see you enjoyed the Space Needle view from your room.
Hope to see you back soon!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This place was great! The decor, the cleanliness, the staff, etc! My favorite part, the bathroom has a fan! Hard to come by in a hotel. My only suggestion would be for the hotel to include a fridge in each room. If we come back, this is where we will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meljaydlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thanks Meljaydlc,

So happy you loved Hotel Five! We do have a few refrigerators available upon request for you next stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 100 in Seattle
2,309 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
981 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
431 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 2200 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Seattle
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#32 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in. Then check out The Emerald City.The sights. The sounds. The scenery. Seattle is known for a lot of things and there's no better home base than Hotel Five. Located in the heart of downtown on the corner of 5th Avenue and Blanchard, you're mere steps from the city's most famous attractions. Just five blocks away you'll find the Seattle Center, home of the Space Needle, Experience Music Project and Pacific Science Center. And only six blocks from the hotel is the bustling Seattle Waterfront, World Famous Pike Place Market, and the city's best shopping areas-Pacific Place, Westlake Center and the Nordstrom flagship store. Even better, the hotel is conveniently located on the Free Transit Bus Line so it's just a quick ride to Qwest Field, home of the Seattle Seahawks and Seattle Sounders, as well as Safeco Field, the Seattle Mariners' home turf. And after a long day of exploration, come home to a world of creature comforts while you Staypineapple at Hotel Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 5
Ramada Inn Seattle
Ramada Downtown Seattle
Ramada Seattle
Ramada Inn Downtown Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing