We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVED our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“We LOVED our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel was perfect. The staff was very helpful, friendly and polite. When arriving back from our daily jaunts, they always asked how our day was. They also gave us suggestions regarding local eats. The room was perfect but could use a refrigerator and microwave. They have microwave popcorn in the snack machine, but no microwave. The hotel was walking distance to everything. We loved this hotel. THANK YOU hotel 5 staff for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello Janice j,

Thank so much for you review of Hotel FIVE. We love to hear that guest are enjoying all the great stuff Seattle has to offer. Our staff pride themselves on knowing all the hotspots in Seattle. We appreciate your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    455
    119
    33
    22
See reviews for
239
529
76
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, walking distance from the Westlake station (end of the Link Train line from SeaTac) and an interesting neighborhood around it that seems to be in transition from a bit dodgy to trendy. The 1962 World Fair monorail runs right by -- I looked directly out at it from my 4th floor window -- but it's very quiet, definitely less noisy than the street traffic below. A cool view for transportation nerds. There are a few restaurants and cafes in the area, and a small deli/grocery about a block away. The restaurant and room service in the hotel are not open for dinner or the evening, but you can walk out to a number of places locally.

Fast, efficient and friendly check-in by Brandy, I was on my way in about 1 minute with all the information that I needed.

Funky decorative touches in the public spaces as well as the rooms, and well-appointed rooms. I like the dispensers for soap/shampoo/lotion in the bathroom, since there is so much less waste than individual bars and containers that are discarded after one use. Keurig coffee maker with coffee and tea K-cups provided, plus coffee in the lobby if you want it. Free bottled water in the room. Instead of an ice machine in the hall, there was a small freezer with pre-packaged bags of ice. The air conditioner was noisy, I turned it off since the night was fairly cool and I didn't need it, but that means little air circulation. In general, I find the HVAC units in hotel rooms to be the biggest bother and noise-maker, and I often end up turning them off overnight.

My room was across from the soda machine and near the elevator, and I could hear both of them -- the doors are not very good at sound insulation. The windows are not great for noise insulation either, but the street was quite quiet at night.

I was only here for one night, but will definitely try it again when I visit Seattle. I see in other reviews that the back side of the hotel is quieter, I would request that as well as asking for a room away from the elevator and soda machine.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Sandy K,

Thank you for such a great review. We appreciate your feedback so we can make our hotel the best that it can be. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I arrived in Seattle for five days and did not discover this gem of a hotel till day two. Oh, but how fortunate I was because this is the most hip hotel I have ever stayed in. Service is exceptionally good with a highly professional Staff. Rooms are 'chique' and modern. Views are spectacular with the elevated railway zipping right by your window in absolute silence. Very stylish hotel. I am a connoisseur and highly recommend this one. I will definitely be staying at Hotel Five once again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the elevated railway.-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardMuller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello EdwardMuller2014,

What a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at Hotel FIVE and we hope that you will come back in the near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days while in town for a wedding and the hotel was great. The location was near all the key Seattle icons and provided a great home base while out exploring. The hotel staff was great and the hotel was clean and quiet. After staying in many other Seattle hotels this was a great value for the room, location and service received. I would recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FLARoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
FLARoadWarrior,

We appreciate your wonderful review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our property and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in May 2013
Funky updated hotel with good hospitality. The updated style hotel reminded me very much of the vibe chain in Australia just “funkier”. Free pineapple cupcakes and Pike Place roast in the afternoons had me sold on check in!
2 queen beds and a relatively large bathroom with shower/tub combo. Monorail runs out front but almost easier to walk as the hotel is right in the middle of the two stops. Easy walk through downtown to Pike Place or the other direction to Space Needle.
Great in house café with Max’s next to the lobby. Had breakfast both mornings there, and wasn’t a wallet breaker! Top Pot Doughnuts just down street
Easy check in and check out. Friendly Staff

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Drewsnaps,

Thank you for your review of Hotel FIVE. We are glad you took advantage of our complimentary coffee and cupcakes. It sounds like you were able to get out and enjoy Seattle. We appreciate your review and hope to see you back soon.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was a guest at this hotel as a leisure traveler while my boyfriend attended some business meetings. I wasn't aware of where we were staying until we literally pulled up to the door.
Our checkin at the hotel was fantastic (they are going through some construction but had adequate signage to point us in the right direction) Despite our very late arrival, the gentleman who checked us in was very attentive and welcoming. He gave me some great advice on things to do since it was my first stay in Seattle and got us into our room quickly.
Walking into our room was glorious! It was a large suite with a beautiful sitting room and very comfortable bed (it didn't have a refrigerator which surprised me but wasn't a deal breaker since we planned on eating out). The room did have a few housekeeping issues that seemed pretty obvious to me which I communicated to the front desk upon leaving the hotel. Each and every housekeeping employee that I came in to contact with was extremely friendly! It was great to see them all smiling as they went through their day.

The next morning, I left my room for a day of exploring and encountered some pretty lackluster customer service from pretty much every employee I encountered (with the exception of housekeeping as well as one bellstaff(?) employee in a yellow shirt the day I checked out. He greeted me without me having to say hello first and seemed genuinely interested in my questions and gave great recommendations) Every front desk agent I encountered made me feel a little bit awkward about asking questions or even saying hello. I strolled my way through the lobby the morning after checkin and said hello to the front desk agents and each and every one of them actually paused and looked at me like I lost my mind. Only one of them returned my hello and it seemed like a forced attempt at being professional.
One employee in particular did not impress me at all, every time I would walk through the lobby she would stare at her computer and barely glance at me, let alone acknowledge me. The only time I actually saw her interacting with someone who was not actively checking in was when she was speaking with her coworkers. At no point during my stay did an employee behind the front desk make eye contact with me, say hello/how was your day without me having to say it first or even crack a smile. Not to be brought down by negativity I did make it a point to interact with a young man in a yellow shirt who tried his best to help me find a few touristy things I was looking for.

Once I left the hotel to explore Seattle my mood lifted. I actually encountered the nicest person working at the hotel....it happened to be one of the construction people!! He said good morning and asked how my day was going which of course prompted a lengthy conversation about Seattle and what to do! Anyway... the hotel is very close to the science museum, great restaurants and just a quick jaunt to Pike's Place.
There is an Indian restaurant called Kastoori I stumbled into on the way to Pikes which was an amazing find!!! Even the locals my boyfriend works with didn't know of it and were blown away!

All in all my experience at this hotel left me with mixed feelings....hence the title of this review. The accommodations were beautiful but the customer service was beyond disappointing. I am currently a front office manager at a resort with 10 years of hotel management under my belt (6 years of that managing front office) and would not in any way, shape or form take pride in a staff that performed consistently the way I witnessed. It is one thing to hire employees who can do the job but another entirely to hire people who take pride in a job they do well and portray that in the service that they give. It costs nothing to acknowledge your guests and show that you appreciate their business. It costs nothing to look up from your pile of paperwork and ask someone how their day is going. Very disappointing.

I strongly recommend from a professional standpoint that the hotel management take a good look at the service their employees are providing. I truly hope others did not experience what I did and it was a one time fluke during my 2 day stay. It was this customer service I encountered that was the deciding factor in my not returning to this hotel as well as the rating (which was teetering between 2 stars and 3 stars) I cannot say that I would recommend this hotel outright to anyone who asked but I would not deter them from staying either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duggiesmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello duggiesmom2014,

Thank you for your review of Hotel FIVE. Here are Hotel FIVE we take our guest service very seriously and I appreciate your critique of or Staff. We do our best to make sure our guest have a good stay and feel welcome at our property. It is reviews like yours that help us grow as a team and also make our hotel the best that it can be. We appreciate your review and we hope you will come back soon.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was amazing! The staff was very friendly, location was awesome, and the rooms were very modern yet comfortable. Everything from the space needle to the market is within walking distance. There is also an amazing donut place right next door as well. We were so happy with our choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandCB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello JandCB2013,

Thank you for your kind review of Hotel FIVE. We are always pleased to hear when a guest enjoyed their stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#31 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#53 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 2200 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Seattle
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#32 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in. Then check out The Emerald City.The sights. The sounds. The scenery. Seattle is known for a lot of things and there's no better home base than Hotel Five. Located in the heart of downtown on the corner of 5th Avenue and Blanchard, you're mere steps from the city's most famous attractions. Just five blocks away you'll find the Seattle Center, home of the Space Needle, Experience Music Project and Pacific Science Center. And only six blocks from the hotel is the bustling Seattle Waterfront, World Famous Pike Place Market, and the city's best shopping areas-Pacific Place, Westlake Center and the Nordstrom flagship store. Even better, the hotel is conveniently located on the Free Transit Bus Line so it's just a quick ride to Qwest Field, home of the Seattle Seahawks and Seattle Sounders, as well as Safeco Field, the Seattle Mariners' home turf. And after a long day of exploration, come home to a world of creature comforts while you Staypineapple at Hotel Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 5
Ramada Inn Seattle
Ramada Downtown Seattle
Ramada Seattle
Ramada Inn Downtown Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing