We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Unique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great, Unique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I only stayed one night at Hotel Five, but found the overall experience worthwhile. I knew I'd be tired by day's end and specifically asked for a high floor room in a quiet part of the hotel which I was glad they were able to accommodate. For lighter sleepers, some may still find some noise issues with being close to street level, doors that slam loudly and somewhat thin walls, but I didn't find any of it particularly troublesome. What's really great is that this hotel provides free wifi, and it isn't even of bad quality. Lots of hotels seem to be hit or miss when it comes to providing this small convenience, but this hotel covers it great. The room itself was spacious with a comfortable, clean bed, and the bathroom was also well-equipped with a fantastic rainhead shower. They could use a little bit more counter space and overall space for storage though. Even as a solo traveler with one check-in sized luggage, I found some difficulty finding a place for some of my things, particularly toiletries. Overall though, Hotel Five is a great, unique property that shouldn't be overlooked if you're looking for an affordable, quality stay.

Room Tip: The hotel itself isn't much of a high-rise, so you can expect some street noise. If you're e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Brad C,

Thank you for your review of Hotel FIVE. It is always great to hear when a guest enjoyed their stay here. We appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    443
    116
    33
    20
See reviews for
229
514
73
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Unfortunately the rooms fell short of my expectations however the staff and location made up for it. This hotel has a funky feel and goes out of it's way to make you feel welcome. My biggest complaint about the room was the noisy air conditioner which kept us awake for two nights and when we tried turning it off, the room became very warm. As mentioned, the location could not be better, a 10-15 min. walk to all the highlights. Do yourself a favour and eat at the Palace a few doors down, the best burger and Appies of the whole trip. Overall I would return only if I had a reasonable rate, $555.00 for two nights was a lot for the quality of room.

Room Tip: Even though we were overlooking the monorail we could hardly hear it go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stokolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello stokolas,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations but we are glad that you still enjoyed your stay in Seattle. We do our best to go above and beyond for our guest to assist them any way we can. We appreciate your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Hotel was ok, but not as superb as described. Just a standard hotel. Hospitality? Yes, the "Concierge" in the yellow T-Shirt was friendly and gave us some good hints, but not at all the staff at the front desk. The lady was unfriendly and harsh already when we checked in. Unfortunately I forgot my rain coat in our room the day we left to travel further. When I went back a few hours later to fetch it I was told to come back the next (!!!) day, because only the Management had the key to the store for forgotten objects and would not be back at the hotel until the next day. I was insisting and got my coat back, but in such a rude manner, I would never return to this hotel.
Caroline

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Caroline O,

We appreciate your review of Hotel FIVE. It is unfortunate that your stay was not as expected but we do appreciate your feedback so we can address any issues and make our hotel better. If I can be of any other service please do not hesitate to email me directly at llee@hotelfiveseattle.com.

Kind Regards,
Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

First off, I'm not young (54). Not hip (rarely wear black. or is it orange now?). Don't usually go out of my way for "boutiquey". Nevertheless, my , wife, 16 yr. old daughter and I enjoyed this hotel immensely. I read with interest the recent negative posting, and our experience couldn't have been more different. I found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful. The front desk folks were not the best people to ask for detailed suggestions- that's why they have these guys dressed in yellow who spent lots of time with us to make sure we found what we needed. They were friendly, patient and informed- and led us to some very good choices.
The hotel itself was very upbeat. A good vibe throughout. We liked the decor, the beds were extremely comfortable and the location was perfect. Much better than many of the same old, same old hotels.
Check out their website to see if the feel of the place fits your interest.
But I wouldn't hesitate to book if it does- even if you are an old fart like me.

Room Tip: we stayed in a one room suite with a separate living room with fold out couch. Perfect for our 16 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickyskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello chickyskids,

We appreciate your wonderful review of Hotel FIVE. We do our best to go above and beyond to ensure our guest are comfortable and informed about the city. We are glad you had a good stay and we hope you were able to enjoy everything that Seattle has to offer. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back in the future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me & my son recently stayed at the Hotel 5 before our cruise to Alaska. We flew in a day early so we could checkout Seattle. Our flight got in early, we were met by our driver that Hotel 5 had arranged for us. We were met with warm welcoming smile and was able to check in our room at 10:00 AM. The room was very nice and clean, the bed were comfortable! The front desk staff were always ready to help you with any questions and I forget the guys name that help us ( he worked in the lobby) with recommendations but he was the best!! It is in a good location right in the middle of downtown with easy walking to Pike's Market or the Space Needle. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone and if we're ever back in Seattle again we will definitely stay with Hotel 5 again! Oh and can't forget the pineapple cupcakes served in the lobby daily :)

Room Tip: safe location & in the middle to be able to walk to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gagenie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
gagenie2014,

What a great review. It is always good to hear when one of our guest had a good stay at Hotel FIVE. We do our best to make our hotel feel like a home away from home. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you like small hotels with a unique or hip vibe this place is the perfect choice. In a sea of traditional hotels Hotel Five is Easy, comfortable, convenient, small, clean, unique, not "fancy", not "trendy," updated, good for young people, not hipster just hip, safe location and affordable.

Room Tip: It's in the city and most rooms face the street so.....welcome to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly_6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Shelly_6012,

We appreciate your review of Hotel FIVE. We take pride in being a little different than most hotels. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked Hotel Five through Hotwire on either end of my trip to the San Juan Islands. The first two days I got a corner room on the fifth floor and then a corner room on the second floor. Both rooms were small, but the amenities were nice: bottled water, coffee, free internet, hair dryer, and vending machine on each floor. The decorations were funky cool. I found the people at the front desk welcoming and helpful. They called a cab for me and a town car to the airport when I needed it. I especially liked the pineapple infused water and the daily mini cupcakes in the lobby. The free bike check out was a nice touch. I wouldn’t say it was located in the center of the city, but you could walk to the waterfront in 10-15 minutes. I actually took the light rail from the airport to the Westlake stop and walked the 3 blocks to the hotel lugging my 45 lbs. luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas L, Manager at Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello leo28,

Thank you for your review of Hotel FIVE. It is always great to hear when guest enjoy their stay with us as well as some of the great perks our hotel offers. We hope you enjoyed the San Juan Islands and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Lucas Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#30 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 2200 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Seattle
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#32 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in. Then check out The Emerald City.The sights. The sounds. The scenery. Seattle is known for a lot of things and there's no better home base than Hotel Five. Located in the heart of downtown on the corner of 5th Avenue and Blanchard, you're mere steps from the city's most famous attractions. Just five blocks away you'll find the Seattle Center, home of the Space Needle, Experience Music Project and Pacific Science Center. And only six blocks from the hotel is the bustling Seattle Waterfront, World Famous Pike Place Market, and the city's best shopping areas-Pacific Place, Westlake Center and the Nordstrom flagship store. Even better, the hotel is conveniently located on the Free Transit Bus Line so it's just a quick ride to Qwest Field, home of the Seattle Seahawks and Seattle Sounders, as well as Safeco Field, the Seattle Mariners' home turf. And after a long day of exploration, come home to a world of creature comforts while you Staypineapple at Hotel Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 5
Ramada Inn Seattle
Ramada Downtown Seattle
Ramada Seattle
Ramada Inn Downtown Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing