We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Zoo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodland Park Zoo

Woodland Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Seattle CityPass
Ranked #23 of 435 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nationally award-winning Woodland Park Zoo is a 92-acre zoological garden featuring more than 1,000 animals representing nearly 300 species from around the world. New exhibits include Zoomazium, an indoor, nature-themed play space for kids, and our award-winning Humboldt penguin exhibit, replicating the desert coasts of their native Peru.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The woodland Park Zoo is a nice zoo it is up to date and the Habitats ace great for the Animals there was a good variety of animals and the place was clean the Animals were Active. It seems like the Zoo really cares for the Animals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    502
    151
    45
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Meerkats,Gorillas and Cheetahs, Oh, my!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our merry band of travelers really enjoyed our time at the zoo. The meerkats were a big hit as were the orangutans and gorillas. There are plenty of places to sit and relax and many of the paths are shaded. The wolves were beautiful, and we were lucky to spot a cheetah in her habitat. Gift shops and food were available throughout the park and all of the restrooms were clean and well-stocked.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an afternoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not a huge zoo, but a wonderful place to spend an afternoon. Really great bear exhibit and the new penguin and otter exhibits are definitely worth a look. Great place for kids. In addition to the animals there are a few play areas where they can run and play. Food is pricey, so pack a picnic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Didn't Quite Measure Up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having already visited the San Diego Zoo last year, and hearing so many wonderful reviews about the Woodland Park Zoo, we were quite excited about our visit. While we did enjoy the park and the exhibits, it didn't quite meet our expectations. The park isn't kept as neat as San Diego. In fairness, the northwestern climate supports different types of foliage, but a lot of the planted areas weren't tended too and there were as many weeds as there were plant varieties. The walkways weren't as smooth, thus making it difficult in some areas to push a wheelchair. The spaces seemed a lot more confined. Overall, we did enjoy the visit and the number of animals we saw (none of the cats - all were in hiding), but we'd just been spoiled by our previous experience in California. The admission price isn't too bad; parking is very limited. The Food Pavilion was a pig sty! None of the tables were cleaned, and the carpeted floor was disgusting - food and garbage everywhere! It looked like nothing had been cleaned in there all day - not the healthiest environment for young kids.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very Good Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've gone to this zoo 3 times over the last 15 years. I love the grizzly exhibit and the new play area for kids. It's one of the better zoos that I've been to and I've been to a lot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylewag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodland Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Woodland Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing