We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small servings but excellent”
Review of Spinasse

Spinasse
Reserve with OpenTable
Spinasse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 4,098 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Broadway / Capitol Hill
Cross street: 14th Avenue between Pine and Pike
Transit: The Metro buses 10, 11, and 12 stop a half block away on Pine between 14th and 15th Avenue.
Description: Opened in August of 2008, Cascina Spinasse captivated local and national attention for its authentic incorporation of Piedmontese dishes, including handmade pastas and use of local and Italian ingredients. Spinasse, is open for dinner from 5:00 pm- 10:00 pm Sunday -Thursday and until 11 pm on Friday and Saturday. We take reservations via phone or on our website.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“small servings but excellent”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

went with a friend while in seattle for dinner and he ordered essentially everything on the menu..each dish was unique, each dish was tasty, each dish was a small serving, each dish was well prepared, each dish was obviously fresh home made ingredients...each dish was a delight...the drawback was the serving sizes and the costs...but it was excellent..our host brought wine for the table. the service was excellent, the waiter informative and explained everything on the menu...in all, a good experience

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animaleyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    55
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bc, canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A complete surprise (in a good way)”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Was looking for an Italian restaurant late on a Monday night and a stranger suggested this a block away. Walked in, and to be frank. really struggled with the menu in understanding what I would be getting from the descriptions. However after ordering rather randomly I and my companion were really blown away by all the 4 different choices. Also the wine was great and the service was polite and unobtrusive..Great to eat a meal where the sum of the parts exceeds expectation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thunderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
646 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Authentically Italian”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Our group of four were able to get a reservation with a day's notice. Menu is typical Italian with Antipasti, Primi, Seconding and Contorni courses. Our waitor was helpful in guiding us through food and wine choices. I imagine anything on the menu is good but our house antipasti was superb, followed by delicious Tajarin with butter and sage, and then followed by Salmone con bietola (chard wrapped salmon with roasted carrots). Desserts were lovely. Highly recommended especially if you want to reminisce about your food in Italy. A problem with sitting outside is that the fire house is around the corner and we were interrupted three times by ear shattering sirens.

Helpful?
Thank Feenixwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good, but not for everyone”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

You will have to ask yourself this question....
Am I happy paying $25 for a bowl of pasta and butter with a sage leaf?
Even if it really good pasta and butter and sage!

The quality of the food and preparation is excellent.

The restaurant has some quirks. I asked for an iced tea. No tea of any kind in the house. They want to "focus" on their wine list. Maybe a little pretentious on that count. Menu also lists only espresso, but they did brew up a regular coffee when asked.

Service is fine, atmosphere is storefront - nothing special. It is an expensive meal, no matter how you look at it.

If you are willing to go out for a unique meal, you will enjoy it here. Deserves the accolades that it gets, but not everyone will "get it!".

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed_Kal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had an outstanding dinner. The service was impeccable. The Resturant runs with understated efficiency AND the food was superb. We ate delicious pasta then shared the special of the day a fabulous pork belly slow roasted and then not that we needed it dessert. I highly recommend this Resturant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinasse also viewed

 

Been to Spinasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing