We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Traditional Food and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaka Estiatorio

Plaka Estiatorio
Ranked #521 of 4,059 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Small plates are very good. Really enjoyed the grilled octopus. Spring Lamb was nicely seasoned. After dinner, my battery died in my car and our waiter helped jump start us in the POURING rain. Great food and even better service. Thanks!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnASeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“greek home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

family run, very friendly staff, delicious lamb stew and moussaka, perfect dinner after a movie place

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank slits007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Too expensive, tiny portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very disappointing...$6 for 1 tbs of hummus and pita bread, $2 for additional tzatziki (tiny amount)...the three of us enjoyed the taste, but had to continue to a frozen yogurt place to be full. And we are normal size, not obese...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 17suzan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When in Ballard...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just returning from a visit to Vancouver, BC where we dined at a wonderful Greek restaurant there, we were in the mood to try a Greek spot in Seattle we had never been to, Plaka Estiatorio in Ballard. Wow, were we ever impressed! The menu is quite creative and has numerous dishes we had never seen before. We started out with a succulent warm vegetable dish that included beets and beet tops, never had anything like it before and it was absolutely delicious! Next we shared a "Marouli" salad that had the normal greens in it but was complemented with mint,and dried figs. I would certainly order that again. For a main dish we split the lamb chops. Easy to split as it included six chops, a generous portion, and served with the traditional lemon roasted potatoes and an unexpected bonus of fabulous green beans sauteed in a rich tomato sauce. The lamb was grilled to perfection and the lemon/olive oil/Greek oregano marinade brought out the flavors and married perfectly to the Greek red wines we had with dinner. I rarely have dessert after a meal but had to give their baklava a whirl and as I walked to our car afterwards, I confessed to my wife I wished I had ordered another piece of it! Best baklava I have ever had in a restaurant! Service? Excellent! We had a very competent waiter but a waitress stopped by a couple times too to be sure we had everything we needed and the owner checked in with us twice too. Will definitely be back to Plaka!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BryonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What's all the todo?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Decent (not great) food, mediocre at best service, expensive
Drinks weren't brought until we asked 3 times and well into meal.
Had lamb and chicken souvlaki - almost tasteless
Octopus was very good
Okra was really soggy
Three dips were ok
Don't need to return

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DM1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plaka Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Plaka Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing