We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Maxwell and enjoyed everything about our week there. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated in a hip Seattle sort of style, the bathroom was plenty big also and had a great vanity - no need to pile your stuff on the floor. The beds were very comfortable and the in-room coffee was better than most I've had at "continental breakfast" elsewhere. During the time we were there, the hotel offered a "stay 2 nights and get the third free" promotion which saved us quite a bit (I called the hotel directly to book that). In all, we wouldn't hesitate to book there again; we've stayed in plenty of hotels with amenities not nearly as nice as this one at a higher rack rate. if you haven't been to Seattle before, the location is great also.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

LupnerAV,

Thank you for this fantastic review of The Maxwell Hotel. We were very happy to have you in house for such a long stay. The Third Night Free promotion you booked through the hotel is slated to run through the end of March. Should your travel plans bring you back to Seattle, we’d love to have you back as our guest.

Cheers!
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Really nice modern boutique hotel within easy walking distance of the Space Needle, the sky train into Downtown and the trendy Queen Ann Avenue. The guy on the front desk when we arrived could not be more helpful and the room was huge and comfortable. We thought this place was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

BigT_11

Thank you for taking a few moments to provide your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We’re happy that you found our hotel to be well staffed, a value for your money and convenient for your needs while on vacation.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Nice, modern & clean boutique property in a terrific location in the Queen Anne neighborhood, within walking distance of everything the Seattle Center has to offer! (Space Needle, numerous museums including EMP, Key Arena for concerts, the Chihuly Garden & Glass - a must see!) You can catch the monorail from there to the city center downtown in just minutes, or its a healthy walk for the adventuresome. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, most particularly don't miss Toulouse Petit - delish! The staff was super friendly & accommodating, when we checked in to our "city" view room on the 3rd floor to discover we had to peer thru numerous power lines & over the parking garage, upon our request they promptly delivered a set of keys to a new room for us on the 5th floor with a less obstructed view! Both rooms are ideally set up, immaculate & the decor inviting! Bed, pillows & linens were comfortable, & parking was easy & free!! We will most certainly stay again!

Room Tip: If booking a "city view" room, request the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbabeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

What a wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We appreciate that you highlighted such detailed information about our neighborhood for potential future guests to review. We agree that the Chihuly Garden and Glass is a MUST SEE! In fact, we are actually partnered with them on a hotel package. Please see our website for more information about that.

Thank you for leaving the tip about our 5th floor rooms for future guests as well. I would just like to point out that our 5th floor is our SMALLEST floor with only 7 rooms actually being “City View” rooms. Due to this, we do not always have the availability for guests to upgrade to the 5th floor. We were happy to upgrade you that evening as we did have the availability at that time.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!


Happy Travels,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

After several disappointing stays with name brand hotels, we found the Maxwell by their customer ratings online. They are very accommodating, and the Hotel is set up to make everything easy, from check-in to parking. There are several 24 hour premium grocery stores nearby and tons of things to do around the area. The bed and the sheets were very well done and comfortable. I will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Tim,

As a traveler myself, I understand your desire to keep us a secret. As a hotel manager, I LOVE that you shared your review with all of the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We look forward to your return.

Cheers,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My boyfriend and I came to visit his family in Lynnwood and they took us to Seattle one night and we ended up asking them to just leave us in the city. I found a fantastic deal on Hotel Tonight for your hotel and I couldn't believe how amazing your hotel was!! I chose your hotel because I am a huge fan of boutique hotels and you had great reviews! There was another hotel that I was interested but you came before them on the top hotels in Seattle. :) It is also really close to the monorail.Your entire hotel was so spacious and so clean! The rooms and entire hotel were practically gleaming. My favorite thing about your room was that the soaps were in dispensers. Way to stay green!

When I checked out I mentioned to the front desk that I drank a bottle of water and the lady told me it was complimentary. That's fantastic but I wish the front desk gentleman who checked us in would have told us that. In fact, we weren't informed about anything about the hotel. :( And since it was a last minute stay we were bummed you didn't provide toothbrushes.

Great stay all throughout though. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

StephanieAN,

Thank you for leaving us such a great review of our hotel. We’re happy that you found us on such short notice and enjoyed your stay. We’re glad to see that you enjoyed our “Green” efforts as well. We work hard to be as green as possible in this industry. It’s nice when these efforts are noticed.

Our apologies for not informing you that the water in your room is complimentary. We place complimentary water and popcorn in each of our guestrooms. Please feel free to indulge on your next visit and if need be, we’d be happy to bring you extras!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is a fun and funky hotel in a great neighborhood. Walk to the Space Needle or hop on the Monorail to the Westlake Center. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel provides a free shuttle to many local attractions and David, our driver, was amazing and helpful! We reserved the Maxwell Ensemble suite and it was clean and spacious. We were on the third floor and while we had a view of the space needle, I think the best views are on the fifth floor. The free Wi-Fi is a nice benefit but it was very slow with constant dropped connections. This was not a huge issue for us as we were visiting for a weekend and we had our smartphones. The room service provided by "The Rock" restaurant was reasonably priced and very good. Be sure to have David drive you to upper Queen Anne to enjoy all the wonderful shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for the great review of The Maxwell Hotel you’ve posted on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle to get around and see the unique shops, restaurants and all the beauty Seattle has to offer. David appreciates the kind words you shared about him for the rest of our potential guests to see!

Our apologies for the WiFi issue. This is a known issue that our IT Department is working on right now. We hope to have it solved very soon.

We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed in The Maxwell Hotel Seattle for 4 nights last November from 3rd-7th with my husband. It was a great experience in Seattle and a pleasant stay at The Maxwell .
First of all the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The check in time was one hour earlier which I didn't expected at that moment. Secondly, the hotel is Earth friendly, which provides fair quality shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and lotion. It also provided an umbrella, one bag of popcorn, and two bottle of water each day. The best thing is FREE Parking and FREE bike rent. Walking distance to Space Needle, EMP Museum, and Pecific Science Center.
The only thing need to improve is the night table that is too small between 2 beds for share. Another thing is I would recommend a shower curtain between the shower and the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenLuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

HelenLuan,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Maxwell Hotel back in November. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our Earth friendly amenities, bike rental and complimentary parking!

We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,576 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,824 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#36 of 104 in Seattle
2,387 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#18 of 104 in Seattle
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £105 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing