We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

If you are a tourist and looking for a nice, clean hotel to stay in Seattle and if it is within your budget then stop your search an just book it. It has an awesome location 10 mins walk to the space needle and the EMP museum and 3 mins walk to the PNB (we watched the nutcracker). It has a unique and stylish decoration. They serve free fresh brewed starbucks pike place coffee in the lobby. They also have a mini espresso shop. They dont offer breakfast but happy to help you to find one. They lend free bikes. Parking is free and free high speed internet present. The room was clean. The staff was nice and attentive. They have courtesy shuttle to downtown but you can also take the monorail from EMP. There is a bar on the ground level that you can get late night food and drinks. Overall we were very pleased and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are thrilled that you were pleased with the hotel and the surrounding area. We love offering freebies and it looks like you enjoyed all of the amenities. The Pacific Northwest Ballet does a tremendous job and is only a block away from the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Very best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,612
    656
    102
    18
    18
See reviews for
747
924
104
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I just stayed at this hotel the past two days. I chose it through Hotwire.com where I got a great deal. One of the criteria I used to choose the hotel was the on-site parking. Once I was at the hotel, I learned that the parking is very limited with an underground garage available on a first-come first serve basis. I was not able to park there the first night. I felt disappointed. I let the manager know about my experience and he immediately responded and helped me find a parking. I was impressed at the level of service from both the management and from the front desk personnel. The hotel is magnificent and the room is simply one of the best rooms I have stayed lately. It is classy, with elegant touches all over. The room had wooden floors, colourful walls, a huge bathroom, all the amenities, it is just an amazing hotel. Despite the parking situation during the weekends, I was told it is rare to find a hotel in Seattle (almost across the street from the Space Needle) which offers some kind of parking. I would highly recommend this hotel both for its beautiful rooms and its high level of service. I would certainly stay here the next time I am in Seattle.

Room Tip: Plan carefully for parking if the onsite parking is unavailable. There is parking around the area fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carloskipr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
I'm so happy that I was able to take good care of you and get you all set up in regards to parking. We definitely don't like running out of parking so we provide it to our customer for free! It only fills up on busy weekends and concert nights as we have eighty or so spots. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience and it was our pleasure taking care of you. We hope to see you back with us again soon!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a very comfortable Hotel. Very friendly staff all the way around. Spacious, inviting lobby. coffee and cupcakes in the afternoon. Lobby decorated beautifully for Christmas! Indoor pool room off the lobby in one corner near the elevators.The pool is not heated but the room was warm. No jacuzzi! We had a room on the top floor facing the Space Needle which allowed for some nice photos with the lighted tree on top for Christmas.There is a hotel shuttle that runs until 5pm and you need to reserve a time appointment for it as well.On Saturday, however, the shuttle stopped at 3 because their driver said he had to go to his other job! Ok. The room was nice and cozy, not huge but this is a Boutique Hotel. Large shower with no door, without a tub.Nice place to sit in different areas of the lobby.One area by the gas fireplace where we would land after our days activities in town while re-grouping.There is a popular wood fired pizza joint right off the lobby. Walking distance to the Needle and several good cafes and restaurants.For a quaint spot with great breakfast I would reccomend both the Mecca Cafe and The Citizen. An easy several block walk in either direction from the hotel. Overall, I would stay here again when returning to Seattle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the Space Needle and a view of Downtown Skyline.Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chext57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are glad that we could be your home away from home! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay, the hotel, and the surrounding area and restaurants. Please come back and see us again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We visited Seattle for a "weekend away in the big city". A coworker had suggested the Maxwell, and so I tried it. I was VERY satisfied with the recommendation. It was everything a major city hotel could be. It is located just across the street from the Seattle Center, within walking distance of many interesting sights. Our room had a view of the Space Needle disappearing up into the low clouds over Seattle. Getting to the hotel by car was easy. Parking was ample. The desk staff were friendly and welcoming. Complimentary coffee and mini-cupcakes were available in the lobby. The rooms were nicely designed (we LOVED the shower), clean and spacious. Room, hallway, elevator, lobby style was elegant but not overbearing. The housekeeping staff were polite and efficient. The beds and pillows were comfortable, WIFI was free and fast. The hotel had a restaurant on the main floor (The Rock) that had excellent food and great service. We were pampered.

So, what's not to like? My only issues were that the street noise was a bit loud even up on the 4th floor (late night revelers and motorcycles on the street), something that a set of comfortable earplugs fixed. The hotel really has no great views. The view we had of the Space Needle also included the parking garage for the Seattle Center. Breakfasts are not included. There is however a small espresso are in the lobby that sells coffee and pastries in the morning.

Still, it is a reasonably priced hotel that I would certainly stay at again on my next trip into Seattle.

As a tip: If you will be attending a show at Teatro Zinzani just across the street, look on the Zinzani website for a 15% off Hotel Maxwell discount code. This is something I saw only after I'd booked and paid.

Room Tip: 4th floor room has less noise. Rooms not facing Roy Street are quieter, but don't have a city vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Great review! Thank you for taking the time to provide as much detail as possible. We truly appreciate it as do fellow travelers I'm sure. We would love to have you back and please call us directly and we will look at getting you the best possible rate.
Warm regards, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel itself is wonderful (on-site parking, large rooms, clean, appealing decor), but the employees are the shining star. They seem genuinely happy to help, and most importantly, they are polite/respectful/professional without being pretentious or condescending. Truly the best hotel stay we've had in years!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phier61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the shining staff.
Please come back and see us again soon.
All my best,
Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I were looking forward to visit Seattle and attend the Gonzaga basketball game. We selected the Maxwell based on reviews on Tripadvisor. We asked the woman (unfriendly) at the front desk if it was possible to have a very quiet top floor room. She snapped back that she has not made a selection yet. In the room (506), we experienced extremely load noises next door, in the morning and in the afternoon. We realized the first evening that our room was adjacent to the housekeeping room! The banging was probably the carts moving in and out. and the banging of a laundry chute door. The front desk clerk could not have given us a worse room. Why would she deliberately do that? We were friendly and nice to her. We were too tired to consider complaining the first time this happened. We should have because the next day we were woken by load noises, singing, and talking in the problem room and hallway. It was incredible; our bedside lamp would shake on the nightstand as they repeatedly smashed the chute door closed. We went to the front desk to complain, but the same clerk was there. We decided to tolerate it and wear earplugs. Otherwise, it was a very good stay. I may try this hotel next time we are in Seattle. I would be more careful inspecting the room. I would probably revise my rating to five stars given a satisfactory experience with the front desk.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TimandCami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hello TimandCami,
I so sorry to hear that you weren't treated with the proper respect and care. We certainly would never deliberately put you in a room that is noisy. I will definitely speak to the housekeeping team about the noise levels up on the floors. The fifth floor is the highest floor so the agent was just trying to honor your request for a high floor room. I have spoken with her and she definitely did not try to be rude at all. I'm sorry that this impression was given and we certainly want every guest to enjoy their stay with us! We would love to have you back and please call the hotel and ask for Woody and I will take great care of you.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Maxwell Hotel. The staff were all friendly, the rooms were huge with super comfy beds and the free shuttle was so useful. The location is also a major pro - we were able to walk most places (and when we couldnt we just jumped on the shuttle). The little extras like the coffee machines and popcorn in the rooms, and the afternoon coffee and cake in the lobby made our stay a great one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad that the friendly staff took such great care of you. The extras are designed to make your life easy while you are with us and I'm glad that you took advantage of them. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing