We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I found this lovely hotel online, had not stayed there before but was pleasantly surprised with what I found, Nice bright lobby, friendly & efficient staff, very clean, beds were so comfy, room was very clean and i loved the fact that they did not charge for wi-fi, offered complimentary bikes, have pool and fitness area and were in a good location away from the downtown busy area. Have recommended this to friends and will look to stay again.

Room Tip: The "view" room that I originally booked was on the front of the hotel which is where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curioustraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed the bright lobby, friendly staff, and comfy beds. We aim to please! Please come see us again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,584
    651
    100
    18
    18
See reviews for
732
915
101
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
832 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

DON'T use your GPS to find this great hotel or you'll end up as we did in the Eternal Circle of Doom. There is all kinds of construction going on around here which means that your GPS couldn't possibly know that the direct route it is mapping is actually impossible given that there are road closures, barricades, etc. We had to stop at another hotel and go Old School with a paper map and felt pen to end up here. But we are glad we persevered. Great funky decor, really good Wi-Fi, free parking, and even a nice touch of cupcakes in the lobby at 3:00 p.m. all make for a wonderful stay. Great eateries near by: try Bahn Thai a couple blocks away, and a terrific restaurant / pub accessible from the lobby called The Rock that serves up memorable thin crust pizzas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for the review Codiak! We truly appreciate the review and we are sorry for the inconvenience while they try to make the area streets more accessible. Great recommendation for Bahn Thai and the Rock. We enjoy them too! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Very best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel was extremely clean, and the restaurant and bar were excellent places to eat and have a drink with friends. The hotel was also very quiet, even on Friday night. The location makes this a good hotel for exploring Seattle, especially the downtown and the waterfront. The benefit from having free onsite parking and shuttles to the two locations mentioned, allowed me to park the car and not have to worry about getting around. It would have been nice if the shuttle ran a little later in the day. The room was well appointed, and I had a great view of the Space Needle. I had such a good time, and the staff were helpful and pleasant, that I plan on making the Maxwell my preferred place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We definitely encourage our travelers to park and then let us do the driving while you are here. We are glad to hear that you plan to come back and we will continue to go above and beyond for you.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We picked this hotel based on overheight parking (we drive a large truck) and have been pleasantly surprised. The parking is fabulous, the rooms are very clean (even the glasses!!) The beds are very comfortable, the front desk staff very accommodating and helpful. The only thing that would have made it a bit better for us, as we came for the boatshow, would to have had the shuttle be able to take us to the indoor location and then again to the Lake Union location. We followed the shuttle (in a taxi) and watched it go right past. Was rather frustrating. There are tons of restaurants within walking distance, for pretty much any food you want to eat (pub, sushi, thai, indian, mexican, greek, etc) All in all, its a very clean, well maintained and we could definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivergirl1pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for the terrific review! We are glad that you enjoyed the free parking and all the amenities the hotel has to offer. The shuttle is set up to go to five stops in the downtown area and for consistencies sake and to take care of the greatest number of guests possible we don't stray too much from this design. We truly are sorry that we weren't able to take you there. The shuttle has a twin that services two hotels near the University of Washington so you may have seen that one drive through the South Lake Union area on the way back to those hotels but if it was our hotel's shuttle then it was going that way for a hotel to hotel trip or a one-off trip. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The frontage, lobby and public areas are very attractive, and just the kind of place to stay when visiting Seattle. However, the rooms are very hit and miss. A group of us visited on business, all paying the same rate, some got stunning rooms, with front vista’s, some got little rooms, of well below average standing. Overall it was great though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosHerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello CarlosHerni, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We truly appreciate the feedback. I'm truly sorry that you feel like we didn't treat the whole group equally but we certainly think that our "standard" rooms have every luxury that our suites have. They all have beautiful, spacious bathrooms, either King or two Queen beds, Keurig coffee makers, a fridge and microwave, and are very well appointed. We certainly don't feel that we have "well below average" rooms as 90% of the rooms are set up with the same layout and size. Once again, we are sorry that you came away with that impression. We would be happy to have you back in the future!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The room was large though the absence of a cupboard was felt. The iron was a big plus. The front office staff was nice and helpful and even provided a car for dropping to the airport (flat charge).
The internet was fast and the lobby had a comfortable ambiance.
Unfortunately, no provision for having breakfast...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPStays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for making the trip all the way from Switzerland. We love having international travelers! Unfortunately, we don't include a breakfast in the room rate but we do have a wonderful little cafe that has breakfast items as well as a few top-notch breakfast spots within three or four blocks.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel based on the positive reviews and it did not disappoint. The staff was nice, the shuttle was really accessible, and the rooms were decent for the price paid. The tiny drawback was the thin walls (I had a hard time sleeping due to some people next door that were up at 6am) and the gym (not a place where you can really get a work out in). The pros really outweigh those cons though since there were free bottles of water every day, free coffee in the room, and it's clear that the hotel is managed very well.

Room Tip: I got a room facing the parking lot. I would ask for a room with a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainview29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed all of the free amenities and found the shuttle accessible. We really try to make it work for everyone. Sorry about the loud, early neighbors. We definitely want everyone to have a nice night's sleep. See you soon!
Very best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing