We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, Awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Maxwell for 3 nights in March. It's a great hotel! We stayed in a duet queen hill room. The room was very nice - wood floors, comfy pillows, big TV, DVD player (there's a RedBox to rent movies at the QFC store close to the hotel), mini Keurig, and complementary water and popcorn. They also have mini pineapple cupcakes for happy hour each afternoon and they were yummy! There's a cafe where you can get drinks/breakfast and a pizza bar at the hotel (can't review food because we didn't eat there).

The reception desk staff were very helpful providing us with maps/directions and restaurant recommendations around the area. There are a lot of Asian restaurants around the hotel particularly (Thai, Vietnamese; We ate at Bahn Thai and it was really good). We also walked to Dick's Drive-In for lunch one day, which was yummy. The hotel is in close proximity (5-10 minute walk) to the Space Needle, EMP Museum, Monorail, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Key Arena, and Chihuly Garden and Glass. We were glad to stay in this area rather than downtown. We felt the area was nicer and were more comfortable being out after dark. Plus, it was really easy to get to downtown. You can make reservations to ride the Pineapple Express van to the sites that are further away (Pike Place Market particularly), but we enjoyed taking the Monorail downtown and exploring from there.

Overall, we had a great stay! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

It truly sounds like you had an amazing stay in Seattle and here at the Maxwell. We are thrilled to be a part of it! We definitely enjoy taking people on the complimentary shuttle but the monorail is also a really easy and fun way to get around. Thank you for staying with us!
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

How lucky we were to find this hotel only steps from Key Arena, free parking, no nasty carpet just beautiful hard wood floor, large walk in shower, docking station for recharging electronics (no crawling around on the floor looking for a free outlet), very quiet heat/cool, beautiful foyer that gives privacy from hallway, extremely comfortable bed, and they beat the price we found on line when we called them direct. Oh, and we could walk to one of our favorite restaurants, Crow. What's not to love. No more trolling for downtown hotels that we really can't afford. This is a jewel.

Room Tip: I think we were facing the street but on a higher floor. We didn't hear any street noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janemccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

What a great review! We love hearing from our stay-cation guests from local areas like Olympia. I'm glad that you enjoyed the well-appointed and designed rooms and the great area. We truly appreciate you.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here after a concert in Key Arena (a 5-minute walk from the hotel). Great not having to fight traffic after a big event. Our room was crisp and clean. The hardwood floors threw me, but makes for a unique touch (area rugs under the beds). Nice, large shower and bathroom for a room at this price level (~$130). Very friendly and helpful staff. Loaner bikes are available if you want to pedal somewhere. Be advised, though, that most places are 'downhill' from here and you'll need to ride 'up' to get back to the hotel. But it's Seattle, so you knew that.

We'll definitely stay here again. Though not quite downtown, this hotel is a great value relative to other downtown hotels.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a bad room; the room-to-room sound-proofing seems good. The hotel fronts Roy St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakimaClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for the great review with a neat title! "Central, funky, fresh, and fairly priced" describes us well. We are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary bicycles and Seattle hills can certainly be a workout for sure. We hope to see you soon!
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were in town for the Hot Chocolate Run. We were able to check in earlier than expected and get a parking space for our car (I had been concerned about parking, so I was very pleased when we could take care of that issue right away). The room was really nice and larger than expected. Surprisingly, there was no carpet on the floor, but I rather liked the hard flooring. Nice wall coverings, comfortable beds, cool shower. Oh, one great thing - the shower head was up high enough that we didn't have to bend over to wash/rinse our hair. Sweet!

The hotels location was perfect for us. The Hot Chocolate run was held at the Seattle Center, which was just a quick walk from the hotel. Lots of eateries nearby, along with two grocery stores. The lobby was large, and actually used by hotel guests. Comfortable seating groups, a fire place, and a restaurant (which we didn't go to, but it looked good). The swimming pool was small and there was no hot tub (which would have felt great after the run). The fitness room was small, yet it had plenty of machines to get a good work out.

Staff was very friendly, whether if was the front desk people, or housekeeping ladies we met in the elevator. Everything was clean and orderly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for choosing the Maxwell Hotel for your recent stay. I hope that the Hot Chocolate Run was a great event and it's so great to support the Ronald McDonald House Charities. We are glad to have taken such great care of you!
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very good location, big rooms, excellent service specially at the front desk, parking service included, good options to eat inside and in walking distance (excellent Thai food just 2 blocks down), they offer free bicycle to have a good time around, if the weather is good you can have a lovely time cycling by the sea. Walking distance to the space needle, and offer free shuttle service to down town main atractions like underground tour, public market, shoping district.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

It's great to hear from you! Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad that we provided excellent service. It sounds like we fit your needs well and I promise that we will continue to strive for excellence. Have a great Spring!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Booked 2 nights here through BA avoid points. Excellent hotel, great rooms, great staff, best position for Space needle, EMP museum and monorail. Complimentary shuttle to and from various parts of the city including Pike Place Market and Pioneer Square (underground tour). Complimentary bicycles if you are feelng energetic.
The Rock pizza served a great pizza at a great price on site. Free parking underground and free coffee and cupcakes every afternoon/evening.
Small slightly cold small pool was the only minor downer in an otherwise excellent experience

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visitorwithsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We truly appreciate you leaving such a wonderful review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We definitely enjoy giving amenities away for free and we will continue to do so. Nice work using the points for the stay! See you soon I hope.
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second time back at this hotel. With the free parking (small stalls), Wifi, and excellent staff, this hotel is a good place to stay. Its close to the light rail system that takes you to downtown and its a 15 minute walk to Pike's market. Its about 1 hour drive from Snoqualmie ski resort. They also have a good pizza place located in the hotel call the rock. However, there beds need to updated. It tends to sag in the middle of the bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sher808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for coming back to see us and leaving a wonderful review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am so sorry to hear that the bed wasn't completely perfect for you. It might have been a frame issue which we can correct. Please email me directly at wbraden@themaxwellhotel.com with more details if you have a moment. I appreciate your time!
Very best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,716 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,167 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 103 in Seattle
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £125 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing