We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff but patchy wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff but patchy wifi”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Mostly excellent and very well located. The main negative was that the wifi was very unreliable, which is hopeless if you're travelling on business. My room was at the back and a little dark (and even at night the lighting in the room was poor). But the staff were very helpful and friendly and the room otherwise great- a good size, nicely decorated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for joining us here at the Maxwell! I'm sorry to hear that the WiFi was unreliable. Our terrific IT team has worked hard to make sure that the hotel is completely covered and working properly. If you have a moment, please email me the room that you stayed in and I will work on the lighting and the WiFi issues. wbraden@staypineapple.com. Thank you for the review!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,707
    689
    111
    18
    20
See reviews for
793
973
110
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I made reservations based on other reviews of the Maxwell and so glad I did. This little gem is not only beautiful inside, it is close great places to eat and just minutes away from the office building where we had a meeting scheduled.
The bed is THE MOST COMFORTABLE bed I've ever slept in. Typically, I struggle through the night with a mattress that is either too hard or too soft. Not so here. Coffee in the room was awesome and single brew.
The desk service was friendly too. Just loved the place and would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliev1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We truly appreciate you staying with us and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed all of the room amenities including the soft bed, the location, and the friendly staff. Come back soon!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay while visiting Seattle. They offer a shuttle service that will take you just about anyplace you want to go. And, we had no trouble booking it. The only thing I will say is the last pickup is a little early if you want to try to go and have dinner and see the sunset. The last pickup is at 5:30. But, the staff working there and the accomodations make up for that! The only other negative is you don't have a view from your room - so don't book it if you are expecting to view sights from your room. The pineapple cupcakes are a real treat!

Room Tip: You can hear some noise from rooms above, so would try to get a top floor. Also, don't get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Calypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you 1Calypso! It sounds like you enjoyed the hotel staff and the complimentary shuttle. We work hard to keep all of our wonderful guests happy. Thank you for staying!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at the Maxwell Hotel in Seattle, WA on a recent trip to visit my brother. I absent mindedly forgot some personal items in a drawer. I called and got in touch with Lucas and Maria in Housekeeping and they found my items and sent them off to me immediately. I figured they would be lost. But the Housekeeping department there saved the day! What a wonderful feeling knowing that not you but your possessions are SAFE. Simply the best!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for the review! Traveling often includes one or two misplaced items and we definitely try to get everything found back to the guests. Lucas and Maria are truly great employees and I'm not surprised that they took great care of you!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is so much cooler than your average chain. First of all the staff are super-friendly. We were able to check in a little early and the staff didn't even blink, welcomed us, and then told us we had been upgraded to a nicer room! --We now had a view of the Space Needle and a private balcony. My kids were in heaven.
The decor is funky and fun and also just nicely done without trying to be too "edgy". Colors are fresh and fun and and the rooms were clean. Lots of great details, even down to the bright yellow mugs which we nabbed a couple of (bought in the coffee shop in the lobby) and are now my favorite tea mugs at home, and my best souvenirs from our trip to Seattle. .
You cannot get a better location, especially at this price, (and believe me, I am a bargain shopper and do my research) for a family looking to walk around and get all touristy.
Sweet, helpful, and fun staff. Also yummy cupcakes which make everything better.

Room Tip: I don't know how we got so lucky, but the upper, corner "Diva" room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! The staff and I are here to welcome you warmly and take care of your every need so I'm thrilled that we succeeded. I'm glad that we got you in early and gave you a complimentary upgrade! Thank you for staying!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Hotel Maxwell is a gem of a hotel in Seattle! The decor is very interesting and a little funky. The room is really well-designed and has a mini fridge and a microwave. The cleaning staff do an amazing job. I saw what they were doing to other rooms as I walked by and they clearly do a top-notch job to get the rooms clean. There is a small indoor pool which I did not use. The location is great for Seattle Center (Space Needle, EMP Museum, Chihuly Museum, etc.) However, to get to other parts of Seattle (Pike's Place Market, ferries, etc.) you need another form of transportation unless you like walking for miles. The hotel does offer free bikes but the city is so hilly that it would be challenging to bike around. However, the hotel does offer a free shuttle for many hours during the day but I believe you need to make a reservation. I rented a car at the airport which I was happy to have. There is free garage parking but the spaces are so tight that I could barely get out of my car. I have never seen such narrow and tight parking spaces. If you have anything other than a compact car it's tough to maneuver around the garage. There are some great restaurants near the hotel (Toulouse Petit for breakfast) and Kerry Park is a short walk and gives you amazing views of the city. I heard that they offer cupcakes in the late afternoon but I was never around to sample them. I had some trouble with my key working in my room door and that was a bit of a pain. And be forewarned that you cannot enter the parking garage without a room key. The sign for where to park when checking in was incredibly confusing because it directed you to the garage (which you can't get into until you check in). I found the room to be very comfortable and relatively quiet. I would definitely stay here again if I went back to Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtsb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving such a fine review! I'm glad that you really explored the city and came back to a well-cleaned room. The housekeeping team does such a great job every day and we are happy when we get to give them praise. I'm sorry that the parking situation wasn't ideal. We try to accommodate as many cars as possible and keep the parking free. You can always pull down the ramp and push the button and we will open the door for you so that you can first park and then come up to the desk to check in. You can also simply park in the open upper area and come in the front doors. We certainly don't want it to be confusing. Come back and see us soon!
Very best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great location, interesting decor, pet friendly, attentive staff, complimentary bikes, yummy cupcakes, free covered parking, many restaurants nearby. Did I leave anything out?

There is an excellent pizza joint in the same building, but a short walk up the street will take you to several interesting eateries, including vegetarian, Middle Eastern and other types of cusine. Teatro ZinZanni right is right across the street. It feels like a safe area to walk in. Easy access to I-5.

My kids really enjoyed the bikes. The staff showed them the best places to ride on the complimentary maps. All staff very friendly and helpful. It is a very easy walk to the Space Needle and EMP. Shuttle takes you to Public Market. There is bottled water, coffee, and microwave popcorn in room that is all free. Has a keurig coffee machine and fridge. Nice big walk-in tiled shower. Parking gets a little tight on weekends. Lobby is spacious and welcoming. The in-house coffee shop had decent coffee, but pastries were not that great (except of course the free cupcakes they put out at night, which were awesome!).

The fitness room is pretty small and basic; this is one area that could use improvement. The "swimmng pool" is not much bigger than a large hot-tub and really only for kiddies. They would be better off making the fitness area bigger and putting in a hot-tub instead of that mini-pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarshalltownMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a tremendous review and thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time and we are happy that you were able to try out everything that the hotel has to offer. Come back and see our friendly staff anytime!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing