We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Modern and noisy”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A nice 3 stars hotel located in a quiet and safe area of the city few steps away from the Seattle center. My room was impressive, modern and clean with a small "coffee station" as a free extra that compensates a breakfast that could be improved. Great wifi signal and a professional and nice staff complete the pros of this hotel. What about the cons? I found the hotel quite noisy and my sleep was disturbed several times by some other guests having a chat in the corridor or by the housekeepers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for joining us all the way from Ireland. We appreciate the kind comments and are glad that you enjoyed the hotel. I'm so sorry that you didn't get very good sleep. We definitely want each of our guests to experience our comfortable beds and certainly get a some rest. We hope that we can have you back and put you up in a nice quiet room.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,632
    667
    103
    18
    19
See reviews for
754
936
106
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A little pricey, but well worth it especially considering parking was free. I've stayed in other comparable hotels in Seattle and always had to pay about $30 a night to park. It was free here, they offered shuttle service, and complimentary bike rentals. The room was clean and attractive. comfortable beds, nice tv, microwave, mini fridge, and even a Keurig. Can't go wrong! Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnmccurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Cnmccurry! Thank you for taking the drive up I-5 to see us from Oregon. I hope that your time in Seattle was terrific and we truly appreciate the review and kind words. We know that Seattle can get a little pricey in the late Spring and Summer but we try to have plenty of complimentary offerings to add some real value. Thank you for staying with us!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

When booking our hotel in Seattle we chose the Maxwell based on location and images of the bedrooms. On arrival we were incredibly impressed by the reception area and fantastic service received. Our room was perfect and certainly rose above our expectations. Our bedrooms was large to say the least with a view of the iconic space needle. The bathroom was perfect including he fabulous shower along with the complementary toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for joining us all the way from London! We truly appreciate you staying with us and are happy to have taken such great care of you. We hope to keep pampering our guests with complimentary amenities and great service for many years to come.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Right in the heart of Seattle Center. Clean, modern, comfortable and surprisingly affordable. Staff are helpful and there's a free shuttle to the infamous Pikes Place. The area has some nice cafés and restaurant
S.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for joining us all the way from Chicago! We love the review and we truly appreciate you staying with us. We will continue to do our best to take great care of you.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I hate to be a sourpuss, but last night at the Maxwell was a nightmare. I have stayed here before, and it is a nice, kind of quirky place that is all about "pineapple power".

But last night SUCKED. The fire alarm woke me up in my 4rth floor room at 11:15 p.m. - excruciatingly loud. After a half hour I learned it was a false alarm affecting both the 4rth and 5th floors. But I learned this only because another customer told me. I went into the hall and the firemen were there, saying not to worry. I went back to the room, and the fire alarm continued!

At 12:45 I called downstairs to learn that they had no way to turn the fire alarm off. They told me to come down and change rooms. I packed, went downstairs, waited in line for another 20 minutes, only to be told that there were no more rooms.

Finally I took a taxi over to a sister hotel, the Five, and collapsed to sleep at 2:00. The hotel staff never contacted those of us who were on the affected floors, and were completely overwhelmed. They said that their fire alarm system had been sabotaged, and that was why they could not just turn it off. I felt bad for them, but this was a nightmare hotel experience for me. It makes me wonder how prepared this hotel would be for an actual emergency.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshhoytchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello Mr. Hoyt,
We are terribly sorry for all of the trouble that night! Our emergency plan and systems functioned properly and the Fire Department responded right away to our system. The issue wasn't hotel safety but was a malfunctioning system as the Fire Department's approved silencing of the alarms did not work as planned. The issue is now corrected and this was a one time error. Once again, we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience and we can understand how upsetting it was to you. We certainly only want our guests to have an enjoyable stay and we are extremely disappointed when this does not occur. Please contact me directly so that we can talk more about the issue and so that I can put your mind to ease about the Maxwell Hotel's safety protocols. wbraden@staypineapple.com.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is close to everything. 24 hour QFC and half a mile to the Space Needle. The rooms are spacious and I was a fan of the Keurig inside the room! Wonderful place to stay and the staff was awesome, also can't beat the underground garage. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleSal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay and I'm glad that the team took such great care of you. We definitely enjoy giving away free parking and Keurig coffee among other things. Next time come back and partake in our complimentary shuttle around town as well.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Maxwell was a great stay, staff were very friendly, room was in excellent condition, clean felt fresh, bed very comfortable, location is close to Space needle, and getting into Downtown is easy, neighbourhood is clean and we felt very safe walking around the area. Personally I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Seattle.

Room Tip: Trust the staff, they will not let you down!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the review and we appreciate the recommendation. We hear from our guests that they love our comfortable beds and I'm glad that you also enjoyed the lower Queen Anne area. The friendly staff will still be here next time you come and see us.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing