We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed one night at The Maxwell at the beginning of May 2014 and have to say that I was quite pleased with the accommodations. The rooms feel like they've been recently upgraded. We received a warm welcome from the Front Desk and the staff were very helpful in providing suggestions and directions. It is located slightly off the "beaten path" in the Queen Anne neighborhood but is still located only blocks away from the center of action. The Maxwell is very close to the Gates Foundation offices and the Chihuly Glass Gardens. There is also a restaurant on the main floor of The Maxwell that is also wonderful (sorry--I don't remember the name). It's mostly a pizza place but they serve good food at good prices; I will definitely eat there again. I look forward to my next stay at The Maxwell.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_in_oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We truly are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Come back soon and we'll take great care of you.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    673
    104
    18
    19
See reviews for
763
948
108
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotels rooms are very nice. The have the nicesd bathroom you woulld ever see in a hotel.
I would todally recomand it to anyone.
The have free cupcakes beetween 3pm and 7pm.There is also a very nice reastaurant next to it.It is very close too the spac3 needel andthe monorail.It is in a very nice place of seattel

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxisawsome31 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much! We truly appreciate having you stay with us and leaving a review.
Thank you, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel looked out of my price range until I found a good price and money off deal on a particular website which made it a better choice than the Mediteranean Inn.

It's an easy walk to the Space Needle and thus the monorail to downtown if you don't fancy the walk. There was a lot of construction work around Mercer and Aurora during my stay, so all the roads would clog up during rush hour and several streets and buses stops were closed.

The hotel looks very clean and welcoming. They have free coffee and cakes in the lobby after 3pm when the coffee shop closes. There's a bar area in the lobby too, but nobody seemed to use that and it was often unstaffed. That wasn't a problem as there is a proper bar connected to the lobby and a The Rock pizza restaurant. The bar served food from The Rock's menu too, and I can honestly say their 'Bang A Gong' pizza was the best I've ever had. The beer selection was pretty good too.

The hotel room was fine, although the view was just of the car park at the rear. They had power outlets next to the bed to charge the phone, and a desk area at which to work. The selection of TV channels was good, as was the WiFi speed. They do seem to clean the room quite late. I was concerned when I returned at 3pm and the room hadn't been serviced, but they turned up half an hour later to fix it.

There is a swimming pool, but sadly no guest laundry which is an omission. They offer a drop-off service at the front desk for laundered items, but that's no good if you're at the end of your stay and want to return home without a pile of laundry to wash.

They offer an underground car park which is secure and charged by the day. There didn't seem to be a way to get to the car park or the lobby from the rooms without using the elevator which is an annoyance when you only want to travel one floor. It does make it slightly more secure though, as a room card is required to select one of the guest room floors.

Overall then, the Maxwell is probably the best hotel for quality and price in an area not exactly overflowing with choice. I'd be happy to stay there again if there was a similar price deal.

Room Tip: North side rooms have no view but are quieter overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinball_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for the expansive review from your stay and we are thrilled that you were well taken care of. We are here to please!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were made feel so welcome as soon as we walked in the door. After disembarking from a cruise, we arrived at the Maxwell very early for check-in expecting to leave our bags and get the room key later on, but we were given access to our room right away. Loved the location - close to so many attractions (The Space Needle, Chihuly Gardens and the SMP Museum and other entertainment and concert venues) and the monorail into town. The free hotel shuttle bus in and out of town was great (thanks to our drivers who were courteous and helpful. Area was quiet at night but enough people around to feel safe. The room was HUGE, so was the bathroom, and spotless! The set out of this hotel is excellent as is the decor. Free Wifi. Loved the afternoon tea cupcakes! We utilised the happy hour bar and the pizza restaurant downstairs - both were fine; good staff, reasonably priced and good quality. Have already recommended this hotel to friends for their stay in Seattle. For the price, you couldn't go past this one - no need to spend $$$ staying downtown. Thanks.

Room Tip: The view on one side is of a carpark. The other the Space Needle. This didn't worry us as we onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for coming all the way from Australia. We hope that you enjoyed your cruise and we appreciate you staying with us upon your return. Come back again soon! All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our first visit to Seattle in early June, and we found the whole experience to be outstanding. Even as we were standing in line to check in, we were handed delicious mini pineapple cupcakes, and this small gesture really set the tone for excellent hospitality. I thought the room was huge and far exceeded my expectations in both decor and amenities. Very cute, lively style that perfectly fit the feel of the neighborhood.

The free shuttle downtown was a great perk, and we took advantage of this to get a lift down to Pike Place Market. The front desk staff arranged for a town car to take us to the airport for our flight home, and even though it was a $45 flat fee, this was worth it considering the convenience. During our stay we found a number of fantastic restaurants within walking distance, including the crepe/coffeeshop Citizen and the laid back but high class TanakaSan.

We also really enjoyed a few quiet moments at the International Fountain overlooking the Space Needle, just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank for this review! It puts a smile on my face. We truly aim to please and we are happy when we succeed. Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dachau
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel was perfect for sightseeing. Very clean, nice and big rooms. Complementary bike rentals was perfect for exploring Seattle by bike. Free Wifi and parking garage. Very friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foxmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed the friendly staff and your sightseeing stay. We truly appreciate the review and hope you return again.
Very best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough & Villas NJ
Level Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a modern styled hotel located in the Queen Ann District of Seattle up on the hill behind the Space Needle. IIRC they have 134 rooms and a small parking lot below the hotel. The rooms are nicely designed, fairly comfortable, clean, have a decent bed, are spacious and have an area rug. The location is not in the downtown area. For some reason all of the rooms have open showers with no door or curtain which can make for a cooler shower and a wet bathroom floor. Only a very few rooms in front and on the higher floors have any kind of view. The lack of wall to wall carpeting makes for a bit noisier upstairs noise. Still the hotel is nice, the staff friendly and the pizza shop/bar below makes good pies. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. We rate the Maxwell three stars.

Room Tip: The rooms that we stayed in on two visits looked out at a concrete wall.Only front rooms ( street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capemaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad that the friendly staff took good care of you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm regards, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,475 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing