We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for five nights and loved it. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is just blocks from the Space Needle and lots of restaurants and museums. The monorail stop is also located right next to the Space Needle so getting downtown is really quick and easy. Not that you need the monorail to take you there-you can easily walk from the hotel. It obviously takes longer but if the weather is nice it's a great way to see more of the city.

The hotel also has an espresso bar with light snacks and a pizza restaurant attached. There are complimentary cupcakes in the afternoon as well as popcorn in the rooms. You can even rent bikes for free and ride around the city!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank katrina1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your room, the location, and the complimentary bikes! We aim to please. Come back soon!
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Overall, this was a very nice hotel -- rooms were clean, with a microwave, fridge, and coffee-maker. There was also free wi-fi, a free business center with two computers, delicious cupcakes and coffee in the lobby from 3-7 p.m., a (small) exercise room (though no free weights), a very small indoor pool, free parking, and a van that will take you on demand to various locations around town. It was conveniently located within walking distance of the Space Needle, science museum, and other attractions, and around the corner from a decent "24-hour" grocery store (which oddly appeared to be closed when we went by around 12:30 a.m. Sunday). Downsides: our view was pretty awful -- the parking lot and some boarded-up apartment buildings. Also, one morning that courtesy van mentioned above seemed to be doing some kind of parking exercise and kept endlessly backing up and beeping. The desk clerks were very friendly but not very helpful if you wanted advice about going anywhere outside of the city (when I asked about going to Mount Rainier, the clerk started looking it up on Google), or advice on traffic detours. And finally, while I'm all in favor of a "green" hotel, this place went a little bit far -- there were no shower curtains on the shower (although this didn't actually cause a flood on the floor because of the shower design), and no written list of amenities ("if you want to know the pool hours or anything else, just call and ask -- we don't do paper"). But despite those minor irritations, I would definitely recommend this hotel -- it had a lot to offer!

Room Tip: Ask for one *without* a view of the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OccasionalAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the great review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed all of the great amenities and the free parking. We definitely try to be green friendly and the front desk is available at any time 24 hours a day for questions.
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in an Ensemble Suite. The room was just what we needed for our family of 5. My husband and older boys enjoyed the bikes for getting around. Hotel staff were always friendly and happy to help. Pool is small, but there. This hotel is in a great location, just outside of the noise of the city but close enough to enjoy all of Seattle's best spots. It's an easy walk to the Seattle center, monorail terminal, and Space Needle. While there is a view of the Space Needle, you just have to look through some street wires and over a parking garage! Not a big deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you and your family in the Ensemble Suite. It really has a great layout for a room. We hope to see you again soon!
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Would recommend for visitors to Seattle. Service is good and with a smile. Rooms clean, Parking free. WIFI free. Attached restaurant is great for a family dinner. Its location is good, right next to the Seattle Centre / Space Needle etc. Plenty of pubs and bars in the locale. I would give 4.5 but there were a couple of niggles (1) Rooms can take until 5pm to be serviced if your on a multi day stay. Wasn't told this until I enquired at reception and was promptly told if I wanted my room prioritised I should have spoken with reception! How could I if I didn't know? (2) Free shuttle bus is a great idea but I tried twice to book my family on it the night before travelling and couldn't get on it to mid-morning when half the day was gone. (3) Pretty limited breakfast service. That's no big deal , but, its not obvious from the website or literature. Some may assume that the adjoining restaurant will be open for breakfast? (4) Asked for our sofa bed to be made up for my daughter on the first night, housekeeping turned up and handed me the bedding. DIY!!

I don't want to focus on the negatives, just offering some thoughts to get that final half star.

Its a great hotel..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigJeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for the detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I'm sorry for the late housekeeping service. The team works a normal 8am to 5pm day so we just meant that if you wanted the service to be at a specific time then please let us know and we would take care of it right away. We just wanted to make it easier for you!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights. Both of our large rooms included two very comfortable beds! The front desk staff (Lakeisha?) was extremely helpful as we checked in after our cruise. Hotel is only a few blocks from the Space Needle and other attractions. Rooms were very nice and included a coffee maker and other nice items. We took the free shuttle to Pikes Market! Would definitely go back to the Maxwell!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stevey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! I will personally thank Latesha for her hard work and for taking such great care of you. We love taking care of our pre and post cruisers!
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great hotel, great location. The hotel itself is great, clean, good service. Free wifi that actually works. But to find a hotel in the city that actually includes free parking? That is almost extinct. Nice to stay in a place that isn't trying to double your room rate one amenity at a time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for the review! We try to offer as many amenities on a complimentary basis and I'm glad that you enjoyed them. We hope to have you back with us soon!
Warm regards, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Lovely and clean accommodations in a convenient location for sightseeing although those with a car will have to endure some major traffic construction/congestion. We especially appreciated the free wi-fi (no connection issues for us) and free on-site parking as we were there 9 nights. Noise was only an issue one night when teenagers were running up and down the hall after midnight; otherwise it was very quiet and we slept soundly. Our bathroom was huge and the room spacious (2 queen size beds). We didn't use the pool or exercise room so I can't comment on those. My only suggestion would be to add space for a simple breakfast. There is a coffee stand in the lobby that sells a few assorted pastries and bagels, but the poor barista is completely overwhelmed when the pre-cruise folks try to use it as a full-service breakfast spot, particularly if it's grandparents traveling with several young grandchildren. The line was long and the wait for a simple cup of coffee was 15-20 minutes several days of my stay. There is a wonderful cafe a short 2 blocks away that I wish I would have discovered sooner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rs37064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed the lovely accommodations and the large room. We aim to please!
I'm so sorry to hear about the wait for the Pineapple Espresso stand. We have Keurig coffee makers in each room with complimentary regular and decaf coffee and real cream in the refrigerators so that our guests can enjoy a fresh cup of coffee on us anytime.
All my best, Woody Braden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 105 in Seattle
2,356 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 105 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 105 in Seattle
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 105 in Seattle
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £116 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing