We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
richland, wa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great in Seattle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Loved this hotel! Parking at night was limited but staff let us use space across the street Grimm the lobby. Fabulous location! Walking distance to Pike Pl Market, waterfront, Belltown, downtown, Seattle Center & Space Needle, Queen Anne,etc. Loved the lobby and our room. Have recommended it many times and will personally stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljlsparkle5197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for the review! We greatly appreciate your feedback. I'm glad that we were able to take care of the parking situation for you. Come back soon!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    657
    102
    18
    18
See reviews for
748
926
104
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great find! We were able to walk the entire city from this hotel. We had a 3 year old in tow and he had no problems walking. Space needle, Chihuly museum, monorail were literally just a few blocks. It was also great to be in a neighborhood where we could eat locally and shop at markets without feeling like we were part of the tourist rat race. It should be noted that walking up Queen Anne Hill Road should be part of the experience. The hotel staff were so sweet and helpful. The shuttle driver was a wealth of knowledge of the city and we could tell he really took pride in his job and his love for Seattle and its people. Thanks Maxwell staff for making us fall in love with your city.

Room Tip: We had the Maxwell suite and it was great for a family. Spacious with a view of the space needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoronadoSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for sending this review. It's was so nice to read. We truly appreciate you staying with us and will look forward to taking great care of you in the future.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This has been my first visit to Seattle and I am so happy that I have stayed here at the maxwell. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is great. The bartender, Sam, was seriously the most amazing individual. We would stay and drink at the hotel just to have him make our drinks and visit with him. He has the best customer service I have experienced in awhile. And he makes an amazing margarita!! I highly recommend visiting Sam and order margarita.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordancaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Such a great review! We truly appreciate you staying with us and we will make sure that Sam gets rewarded for being amazing!
Thank you, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Several months ago, we celebrated a girl's weekend for a birthday at The Maxwell and it was so fantastic! I didn't have a chance to review right away, so I apologize that this isn't as recent as it should be, but I wanted to make sure to note the highlights.
Fun décor and a great location makes this hotel perfect for running around the Seattle Center. The Rock Wood Fired Pizza is right next door and delivers to the hotel rooms until midnight. Also nearby is McMenamins, which has great vegetarian options and craft brews. Other nearby restaurants include Kleftikos, a fabulous Greek taverna with very tasty fare, and a great Sushi place next to Silver Platters (a few blocks walk from the hotel).
The best part of our stay was the superb staff! I had arrived early and asked to gain entry to the room to decorate, but the staff offered to put up the decorations for us. They did a great job and it was so fun to see the birthday girl's face when she saw their handiwork.
As others have noted, the pineapple cupcakes are lovely! Definitely a nice touch. The only thing that could be improved upon is the espresso sold in the lobby; I think their offerings may be limited because of the Keurig in the room. I personally prefer lattes, though, and the nearest Starbucks or stand is a drive. There isn't a restaurant nearby that offers a good breakfast, either, so plan ahead to go out for breakfast/coffee.
Overall, lovely place to stay and we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you prefer, or top floor for more quiet. Elevators are a little loud, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for joining us for your fun girl's weekend! I'm glad that the amazing staff took great care of you! I'm sorry that we didn't get you all the cafe and restaurant information. We have a cafe in the hotel that makes all varieties of lattes in the morning and also Caffe Zingaro, Caffe Ladro, and Caffe Vita within four blocks of the hotel. I'm also sorry that we didn't offer great choices for breakfast. Citizen's Cafe makes a great cup of coffee and has fantastic crepes and breakfast sandwiches and Toulouse Petit is simply amazing. Both of these are within five blocks as well. Come back and we will point you in the right walking direction.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spacious room, funky decor, complimentary wi-fi and parking... The Maxwell is in a nice area on the edge of Seattle, just a short walk to the Space Needle and the monorail that will drop you right downtown. They have a complimentary shuttle that will take you downtown as well, but you need to book in advance as they do tend to fill up. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The best part though are the beds - they are so comfortable. It was like sleeping on a cloud - after a long day of driving and site-seeing, it was such a delight! The cupcakes and coffee in the afternoon were a nice touch as well. The only reason I'm not giving a five rating is that it can be quite loud in the rooms - if you are a light sleeper, I recommend asking for a room on the top floor. Maybe it's because of the wood floors, but the noise from people walking around in the room above ours was extreme. Overall a great hotel - lovely staff, great location, and beautiful rooms!

Room Tip: Top floor - noise from people walking in rooms above you can be quite extreme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed the spacious room, helpful staff, and terrific beds. Come back soon!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spacious room with trendy furnishing. Comes with a Keurig coffee maker, what a nice touch. Complimentary parking, complimentary wifi & complimentary local shuttle service. What else can you ask for. People at the reception are friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_s0l0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I'm glad that you joined us all the way from Singapore and that the friendly staff took care of you. All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here two nights recently, and it was the best of our 12 days in Washington. It's located on the edge of the city near the Queen Anne neighborhood, a short walk to the Space Needle, EMP, Chihuly Glass, and Pacific Science Center; use their free shuttle for heading to Pike Place, Pioneer Square or further afield. Lobby was bright and clean, staff was welcoming and very helpful with anything we needed (including very specific driving directions to finding the Fremont Troll), and the free coffee and cupcakes in the afternoon were a really nice touch. My son especially liked the cupcakes! Our room was on the back side of the hotel, so our view was not nice but we had requested a quiet room and it was indeed really quiet - no street noise, no guest noise either and the hotel was full to capacity both nights we were there. We all slept great - the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The room was clean and we loved the fresh, trendy decor and no carpeting as well as the in-room Keurig coffee with little creamers in the mini fridge. Bathroom was huge, clean, with walk-in shower and Tommy Bahama soaps and lotions. Free shuttle, parking and wifi were huge perks as well - both cabs and parking in Seattle are insanely expensive and traffic is awful. You do need to make an appointment at the front desk for the shuttle to take you somewhere, you can't just walk on, but the driver was great and offered us the hotel's yellow umbrellas as we got off bc it had begun raining. We had one minor issue with the AC unit in our room not working (it was 98° in Seattle that day!) and after the maintenance guy worked on it, it started to make a very loud rattling noise about two hours later. He came back and worked on it again, got the noise fixed, and the staff took a percentage off our bill - we did not ask them to do so, they just did it because they felt we had been inconvenienced, which we thought was really quite thoughtful. Pizza in the adjoining restaurant was pretty good. If we come back to Seattle, we will be staying at The Maxwell!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RileyB196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel the best out of your whole trip to Washington! It truly sounds like you felt well taken care of and I will thank the whole team for this. Come back again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing