We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute but not really noteworthy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute but not really noteworthy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. I had informed the front desk that we had a late arrival, requesting a view, thought my boys would like it. No go... as I guess they did not communicate that to the staff that checked us in. Nice clean rooms, friendly bellman but the view was really ugly. I would not return.

Room Tip: Good luck in their busy season, I hear they do have rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetO345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I'm so sorry to hear that we weren't able to accommodate your request for a view. Fortunately, we do have a good number of view rooms but a lot of our guests choose to book the view room type so we run out as they are popular. Please do book directly with us and ask for a view room. The rate is not much more for a spectacular Space Needle view!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,584
    651
    100
    18
    18
See reviews for
732
915
101
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
richland, wa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Loved this hotel! Parking at night was limited but staff let us use space across the street Grimm the lobby. Fabulous location! Walking distance to Pike Pl Market, waterfront, Belltown, downtown, Seattle Center & Space Needle, Queen Anne,etc. Loved the lobby and our room. Have recommended it many times and will personally stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljlsparkle5197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for the review! We greatly appreciate your feedback. I'm glad that we were able to take care of the parking situation for you. Come back soon!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great find! We were able to walk the entire city from this hotel. We had a 3 year old in tow and he had no problems walking. Space needle, Chihuly museum, monorail were literally just a few blocks. It was also great to be in a neighborhood where we could eat locally and shop at markets without feeling like we were part of the tourist rat race. It should be noted that walking up Queen Anne Hill Road should be part of the experience. The hotel staff were so sweet and helpful. The shuttle driver was a wealth of knowledge of the city and we could tell he really took pride in his job and his love for Seattle and its people. Thanks Maxwell staff for making us fall in love with your city.

Room Tip: We had the Maxwell suite and it was great for a family. Spacious with a view of the space needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoronadoSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for sending this review. It's was so nice to read. We truly appreciate you staying with us and will look forward to taking great care of you in the future.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This has been my first visit to Seattle and I am so happy that I have stayed here at the maxwell. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is great. The bartender, Sam, was seriously the most amazing individual. We would stay and drink at the hotel just to have him make our drinks and visit with him. He has the best customer service I have experienced in awhile. And he makes an amazing margarita!! I highly recommend visiting Sam and order margarita.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordancaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Such a great review! We truly appreciate you staying with us and we will make sure that Sam gets rewarded for being amazing!
Thank you, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Several months ago, we celebrated a girl's weekend for a birthday at The Maxwell and it was so fantastic! I didn't have a chance to review right away, so I apologize that this isn't as recent as it should be, but I wanted to make sure to note the highlights.
Fun décor and a great location makes this hotel perfect for running around the Seattle Center. The Rock Wood Fired Pizza is right next door and delivers to the hotel rooms until midnight. Also nearby is McMenamins, which has great vegetarian options and craft brews. Other nearby restaurants include Kleftikos, a fabulous Greek taverna with very tasty fare, and a great Sushi place next to Silver Platters (a few blocks walk from the hotel).
The best part of our stay was the superb staff! I had arrived early and asked to gain entry to the room to decorate, but the staff offered to put up the decorations for us. They did a great job and it was so fun to see the birthday girl's face when she saw their handiwork.
As others have noted, the pineapple cupcakes are lovely! Definitely a nice touch. The only thing that could be improved upon is the espresso sold in the lobby; I think their offerings may be limited because of the Keurig in the room. I personally prefer lattes, though, and the nearest Starbucks or stand is a drive. There isn't a restaurant nearby that offers a good breakfast, either, so plan ahead to go out for breakfast/coffee.
Overall, lovely place to stay and we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you prefer, or top floor for more quiet. Elevators are a little loud, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for joining us for your fun girl's weekend! I'm glad that the amazing staff took great care of you! I'm sorry that we didn't get you all the cafe and restaurant information. We have a cafe in the hotel that makes all varieties of lattes in the morning and also Caffe Zingaro, Caffe Ladro, and Caffe Vita within four blocks of the hotel. I'm also sorry that we didn't offer great choices for breakfast. Citizen's Cafe makes a great cup of coffee and has fantastic crepes and breakfast sandwiches and Toulouse Petit is simply amazing. Both of these are within five blocks as well. Come back and we will point you in the right walking direction.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spacious room, funky decor, complimentary wi-fi and parking... The Maxwell is in a nice area on the edge of Seattle, just a short walk to the Space Needle and the monorail that will drop you right downtown. They have a complimentary shuttle that will take you downtown as well, but you need to book in advance as they do tend to fill up. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The best part though are the beds - they are so comfortable. It was like sleeping on a cloud - after a long day of driving and site-seeing, it was such a delight! The cupcakes and coffee in the afternoon were a nice touch as well. The only reason I'm not giving a five rating is that it can be quite loud in the rooms - if you are a light sleeper, I recommend asking for a room on the top floor. Maybe it's because of the wood floors, but the noise from people walking around in the room above ours was extreme. Overall a great hotel - lovely staff, great location, and beautiful rooms!

Room Tip: Top floor - noise from people walking in rooms above you can be quite extreme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed the spacious room, helpful staff, and terrific beds. Come back soon!
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spacious room with trendy furnishing. Comes with a Keurig coffee maker, what a nice touch. Complimentary parking, complimentary wifi & complimentary local shuttle service. What else can you ask for. People at the reception are friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_s0l0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I'm glad that you joined us all the way from Singapore and that the friendly staff took care of you. All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing