We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for non-car visitors.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Coming in from the east coast to run the RnR marathon, we were able to save on rental car by taking the light rail from the airport which took us to just half a block from the hotel. Good thing too because parking is valet only and costs 28 dollars a day. Getting around was easy as we could either walk or take public transportation which was either free or very inexpensive. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the resturaunt which served up some delicious meals, the pool which was very relaxing after the marathon, and the comfortable plush king size bed. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We were given specific directions that even I could follow on how to get to our destinations. When we asked for a good breakfast place, of course we were told about their in house resturaunt but in addition, we were also given a few other staff favorite options in the area. (The Fire House Grill serves up some tasty french toast.) I like the fact that they made us marathoners feel welcomed by posting information on how to get to the expo, start line and how to get back as well as offering up a carb-load dinner. Many hotels I've stayed at for other marathoners have made us feel like intruders. So thanks Marriott for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o311mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about our hotel. We are one of the host hotels that support the Rock "n" Roll Marathon in Seattle. It's been our 3rd year of being a host hotel.I'm glad to hear that our staff was friendly and that we welcomed the marathon runners with open arms.We are a great location with easy access to most of downtown Seattle. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed our pool and your guest room.It's great that we were able to recommend a local breakfast option. Hope to see you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Good news: Walking distance to airport tram as well as Amtrak and the market. As a Marriott member, booked a room with a queen bed and a pullout couch for three adults as well as requesting an early arrival. Bad news: The room was for three adults but meeting us for the afternoon was an individual with a small baby so we thought the couch could give us some comfortable seating to visit for a couple of hours. Upon arrival no room was available but they said they had a similar room with a kitchen available with only about a 20 minute wait. Little did I know that the room was miniscule with no couch and they brought a roll away bed for the third adult. The rollaway had to be butted up to the kitchenette leaving very little room for any of us to get by to reach the bathroom.
Luckily the three of us were only in this hotel for one night. Left early for a few blocks walk to the Amtrak Station.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

I'm glad to hear that you liked our location. Please accept my apologies for us not having the room type your reserved upon your arrival.We normally are able to fulfill our guest requests more efficiently. I hope you will give us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed June 8-10th. Great location to attend Ballgame, see the market etc. Friendly staff. Nice and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmdawg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We are very close to Safeco Field and Century Link Field.I'm glad our staff was friendly and that you thought our guest rooms were clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of many of the things that we wanted to see and weren't disappointed. We arrived a little early, but our room was ready. The staff here is the best, very friendly and helpful. They gave us information on many things as well as directions on how to get there. Parking is valet only but is quick and efficient. My only complaint was the parking charge of $34.00 a day with tax included. Seems ridiculously high, but there really was nowhere else to park that was better.

The room was nice with very comfortable beds. Down comforters are a nice touch. No safe in the room which would be a plus. Key card must be used to access the elevator and provides some level of safety, but I would still like the safe to be there. Coffee pot and coffee in the room as well as free wifi.

There is a Bistro downstairs that serves meals if you want to eat in. For a very quick breakfast, go across the street to Seattle's Best for a toasted bagel and coffee. Lobby also has free coffee and snacks for purchase as well as complimentary computer use.

The location of this hotel makes it the perfect home base for sightseeing. We could walk to the waterfront and all of the restaurants there, Pikes Place market, light rail, bus system (free all day), the ferries, and then take the monorail out to the Space Needle. We rarely used our car in the 4 days we were here. Located just on the edge of Pioneer Square, we did see a lot of homeless people when we went into the square. The majority of the time, we went in the other direction, and it was not a problem.

Very happy with this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us some excellent feedback about our hotel.I'm happy to hear that you liked our location. I appreciate the positive comments about our staff. I apologize that we have valet parking only. We don't have any parking stalls at our hotel and have to purchase stalls across the street to park our guests cars.It seems like you were happy with the rooms amenities, our Bistro and the complimentary services we provide.We are an excellent location to almost all of the Seattle attractions. We would very much love to see you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We arrived early and accepted that we couldn't check in just then. Our luggage was tagged and taken along with our phone number so that we could be called once our rooms were ready. We had reserved a room with two beds and a room with a king size bed. We are Marriott Silver members and used points for two nights and two rooms at this hotel. When checking in, I asked for the highest room if possible with bay view. We had an easy walk to Pike's Public Market, ate lunch, walked the shops and the park and then headed back to the hotel. It was 2:30 (check in is 3:00) and we still couldn't check in so we had coffee across the street (at Seattle's Best Coffee--didn't think to just go into The Bistro that is onsite). After three pm we headed back across the street to check in and the rooms still weren't ready. They called upstairs and were told about fifteen minutes. We took seats in the lounge. Fifteen mins later we were called up to check in, they brought two out of eight pieces of luggage out of the back room (minor snafu--sent them back to search for the rest!) and sent us up to our rooms. Both rooms had king size beds. Wrong. They then put us in the right rooms (one was handicap) but on the tenth floor. One room had many windows (three), so well lit. My room had a kitchenette. Not needed, but by then we just decided to take what we were given. Not a great view and not high enough up.
But the rooms were very clean, and the staff was very friendly. Computer access and free coffee/tea in the lobby. I would recommend that a mirror be added to the wall when coming out of the bathroom so that the person out of the bathroom has another mirror to look into when getting ready and perhaps maybe use this mirror to dry hair, etc. Other than this, the room was sufficient. The hotel was within walking distance of Pioneer Square (do the Underground Tour!), and the Public Market. To avoid a steep hill when taking the free bus, turn left out of the hotel and walk up Yesler Way (second left) to the underground bus/link station. We took the bus to the link for the space needle (but you can also walk to the link about ten mins away). Free for the bus and $2.75 for the link. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and didn't feel like the location was in a "shady" area. (It is close to the shadier parts of Pioneer Square but we walked Pioneer Square during the day and headed in the other directions at night). And since we were headed to Terminal 91 for our cruise, we paid $15 for a shuttle to take us there with four others in the van. Very easy to reserve this the night before. We also enjoyed playing cards at the tables in the lounge and ate at the restaurant for breakfast. Quick and easy.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor so not looking at a building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlliTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us a very detailed description of your recent stay with us. I apologize that you had to wait so long to get into your rooms.I'm glad to hear that your rooms were clean and that our staff was friendly.We will look into adding a mirror into our studio rooms.Our location is close to many of the Seattle attractions and there are great transportation options.I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed our public space and Bistro.We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location, far enough away from Pioneer Square that you're in your own little area of the city, but really close to the international center and train station, and only a free bus ride or long walk to Pike's Place market and the shopping center (where you can pick up the monorail to the Space Needle and Seattle Center.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. We get many guests that like our location. The Link light rail from the airport drops you off 1 block from our hotel. Once you get here, you have easy access to most of the Seattle attractions that you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at this property with a group for three days pre cruise. The rooms were a notch above your typical Courtyard. The staff was excellent and very friendly. Especially Bryan, the evening hotel manager. Pioneer Square, with restaurants and shops are within walking distance, however, if you need to go out of this area you will need to probably take a taxi, bus or light rail which is about a block and a half away.. As with any typical inner city area, with the exception of Pioneer Square venues, it pretty much closes down after dark and on Saturdays and Sundays. Complimentary coffee and computer access in the lobby is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reli452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry L, General Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thanks for your feedback about our hotel.I'm glad to hear that you liked our guest rooms and that our staff was friendly. I will share your comments with Bryan.We are close to many restaurant and shops in downtown Seattle as well as the Link light rail.We are happy to provide complimentary coffee and free internet service.
Sincerely, Gerry Lamontagne/General Manager/Seattle Pioneer Square Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Pioneer Square
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £115 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing