We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The best feature of this hotel was its location, right downtown. We gave the car to the valet upon arrival and didn't see it again until checkout. We were able to walk to everything from the hotel and used the monorail to get over to the Space Needle and Chihuly Glass Display. We booked through Expedia and it was made known to us on check-in that we would be getting an undesirable room. Our room was very small but had everything we needed for our stay. Very happy that you needed to use your room key to activate the elevator, one more security feature.

Room Tip: Higher floor would get you further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. You are right that we are in a great location in the city. It seems like you were able to fully enjoy your trip! We hope to see you again soon.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    331
    86
    15
    12
See reviews for
172
226
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj/usa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We are 2 adults, ages 45&55 traveling for business and site seeing.

Background--we are walkers and explorers.

Arrival- we came on train up from Portland and stepped out and grabbed a taxi for $8 i think to hotel, about a 5min ride. The hotel is being restored, its a historical bld, so there was scaffolding everyplace. Lobby was big and sharp looking with easy quick efficient check- in and the gals had maps for me and knew their information. 3 nice quick elevators. We were on the 10th floor with a view of city and water (see photos) Older bld which added wonderful character and the room didn't disappoint. Sink/vanity outside the toilet/tub area which we like. Nice clean tub. All the normal amenities of a courtyard like mini fridge and coffee station. Very comphy bed, couch and chair and good work station with quick easy internet......couple weird things.
1. The TV is on a pull out tray and you cant see it that well from the bed because our bed was on the side. This may not be the case in other rooms. Again older hotels have odd shaped rooms sometimes. 2. Our wiring. The lights have a master switch upon entering and you had to have that on in order to put on the toilet light, so in the middle of the night a light had to go on almost over the bed so you can have a light on in the bathroom. Not a deal breaker.

But the windows...ahhhhhhh what a treat, big old windows THAT OPEN just a bit so you can have fresh air and we had views 3/4 ways around.....lovely

The bar/cafe was run by starbucks and good food, and great staff. Bar was hoppin and nice adult mellow fun crowd with drink specials and bar food/munchies. We only ate breakfast here but it was yummy and good pricing.

I walked to the space needle and pioneer square and the the shopping area all with ease, but bring good shoes cause the hills are like San Fransisco, but like NYC i think its a city best explored on foot!

For those of you into architecture please take a trip up the solid marble staircase and then into stairwell to check out the old stairs and railings...i even forced myself to climb all 10 stories after a big lunch and it was worth it...looking down through the middle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn5851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to fully enjoy the city! As you mentioned, the marble staircase in our building is a rare treat and fun to look at – a nice perk of being in a historic building!! We hope to see you again on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel could be so much better. Convenient location. Courteous and friendly staff. Unfortunately, my room with a great view was ruined by scaffolding. But curiously, it did not seem like any work was being done to this historic building which must have been more attractive in the past.

This hotel badly needs a major renovation. The large single pane windows don't fit the window frames right, and as the result, the room was drafty. These windows could not be locked either. Anyone on the scaffolding could easily walk into the room. The room itself is renovated. Functional and bland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. I’m glad to hear that our staff was a high point of your stay. Since we are located in a historic building, we do have the scaffolding up for an inspection that was done. As you mentioned, we are not having any work done at the moment, so there is no noise or construction going on but the scaffolding is there. All our windows are part of the historic building and cannot be opened all the way, so no one would be able to climb into the window from the scaffolding. I hope you consider staying with us again on your next visit to Seattle.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Positives:
Friendly service and gave several good dinner recommendation (went to Cafe Bengodi).
Close to Smith Tower and Columbia Center Observation (go to the Starbucks instead of paying for the observation deck view).
Clean room.
Firm bed.
Valet service was quick to retrieve my car.
Free WiFi in room.

Negatives (nothing major):
Room is smaller.
Ocean view - yes, but its partially through another building across the street and its of the docks.
Room lighting could be brighter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 230Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beyond expectations!
This inner city "select-service" hotel provided me with full-service! * Exceptional valet parking service complete with readily-volunteered driving instructions around the complex one-way system; luggage service provided by front-desk staff; delightful, helpful check-in and check out. The lobby is not large, but there's comfortable spaces to wait for whatever causes you to wait …. It was unexpectedly excellent. There's a bar and restaurant which I didn't use.

Only small niggle is the US-compact size of the room, but if you're used to European hotels you'll think it's fine! The double-sash windows don't fit perfectly, and certainly some double-glazing would help; but traffic noise is lessened the higher the floor.

The hotel is located in an historic building a couple of blocks from Pioneer Square, half a dozen blocks from Pike Street Market. There's a number of interesting restaurants at Pioneer Square, and lots of day-time-only cafe's around the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! I will be passing on your great comments about the Valet and Front Desk staff to them. As you mentioned, we are located in the Alaskan Building, which was built in 1904. As well, we are very close to many of Seattle’s attractions. Your review is very appreciated and we hope to see you again!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

On the positive side: friendly staff, spacious and clean room, very convenient location.
On the negative noisy ventilation, doors not insulating so that I could hear my neighbours going in and out, very basic bistro, not open for lunch.
OK for a short stay, for a longer one not fully adequate.

Room Tip: Better to ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaband_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m glad to hear that our staff was so friendly and that you enjoyed your room. I am sorry that you were not able to fully enjoy our Bistro. Although not open for Lunch, it is open every day for Breakfast, Happy Hour, and Dinner. We also have plenty of great restaurants in the area for Lunch that any staff member can recommend. We hope to see you again in your next Seattle visit.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I was only there one night, but I had a very pleasant stay. The staff was eager to please and very friendly. The facility had the current styling. The exercise facility was larger than expected as was the pool. Didn't eat in the bistro, but it also looked larger and nicer than normal. If you want a great deli sandwich, try Tat's just down the street.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Property: Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing