We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confort in a Heritage Building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Confort in a Heritage Building”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Even though the restoration of this fine heritage property is still underway, the work created no difficulties. The staff were helpful with information and advice and quickly understood our rush to store luggage on arrival. The room had been refurbished and was very comfortable. Despite first appearances the cafe had lots of choices for breakfast and the staff were very obliging and attentive. I would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellowTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your positive comments! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    332
    87
    16
    12
See reviews for
176
227
51
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I have never done this before however considering how bad traffic was forecast to be this last weekend in Seattle we decide to try a staycation. WOW! We will absolutely do this again. From the moment we pulled up in front of the Marriott we were treated like royalty which we clearly aren't. The check-in was smooth and done by the nicest folks who answered EVERY question directly and efficiently.
Our room was simply outstanding and I think clearly represents one of the best values in the City of Seattle. The room was totally spotless, nicely laid out and had all the important amenities. Another great feature was, while we don't ever hardly need it, the air conditioning which was silent and easily and uniformly cooled our suite. Our view overlooked a gorgeous Elliott Bay, so as far as room selection goes try to get a room above the sixth floor that overlooks Second Avenue.
This hotel is centrally located in the south part of downtown, easy walking distance to both stadiums and the train station. There are so many great restaurants nearby it is not easy to make a decision however just ask one of the great guys at the valet station out front and they'll get you on your way. What I really liked was that they asked you what kind of food you'd like and then they gave you a series of choices. That reflects the excellent training which is found no matter where you go in this Marriott.
We loved this place and will absolutely return for another romantic and fun weekend in Seattle. One warning, we tried to make a reservation in August and found that the entire place was already booked. So the sooner you make your reservations, the better.

Room Tip: get a room on the sixth floor or higher and directly above Second Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorBruceSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I’m glad you decided to choose us for your “staycation”! As you mention, we are in a great location to explore the city. We hope to see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

In two separate stays, the Courtyard in Pioneer Square excelled in every way. Great views, comfortable, spacious and well appointed rooms, exceedingly polite and helpful staff and just a short walk to sports venues, funky bars, eating establishments and even the tourist spots and downtown. The hotel's location at the base of Seattle's hills presented an opportunity to get some exercise when a drive of taxi ride weren't necessary. Highly recommended

Room Tip: ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your comments on the hotel! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Seattle!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've spent the most part of the last six weeks here. Everything is great - cleanliness, staff, rooms, etc. The lobby is beautiful - the building is a historic structure from a time when craftsmanship and attention to detail mattered. The rooms are spacious, and are freshly refurbished to the 'new' Courtyard look. The restaurant has a better atmosphere than most Courtyards, but the menu is the same.

The only minor complaint - the windows do not block much sound. Light sleepers should request to be away from the alley side of the building - the dumpsters there are emptied at about 430 am, and you WILL wake up.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisInSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Pioneer Square Courtyard. Your compliments are much appreciated. I am sorry that you were woken up so early. We will be more than happy to place you in a room away from the alley for your next stay.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel , housed in the 100 year old Alaska Building, is located within a short walking distance of the Pioneer Square light rail station and many restaurants, office buildings downtown as well as Pikes Market and other pier facilities. The staff is friendly and accomadating and apologetic for the construction occuring on the outside facade. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Corner rooms on higher facing Puget Sound are larger and provide the best view. The Bistro in the lobby serves food throughout the day and cocktails in the evening.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors facing Puget Sound are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, the hotel is located in a great location for those who do want to explore the city! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Against my normal practice I stayed in a second floor room in this downtown Seattle hotel. Turns out, I shouldn't have worried. The second floor rooms have extra soundproofing, and I never heard a thing outside. When I stayed, portions of the hotel were still surrounded by scaffolding, but that didn't affect the stay. The hotel was quiet and comfortable, the rooms large and the staff very helpful. The normal Courtyard Bistro is in a separate restaurant attached to the lobby, and it has an expanded menu. The bar is frequented by people who live in the area, which gives is a nice local feel.

This hotel is in the historic Alaska Building, and touches of the Art Deco elegance are easy to spot in the lobby and other public areas. Downtown restaurants are within an easy walk, light rail is nearby. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Lower floors are apparently larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the Pioneer Square Courtyard! I’m glad you enjoyed your second floor room! As you mentioned we are located in the Alaskan Building, built in 1904. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A very nice hotel in a prime location within walking distance to many nice restaurants, Pike's Place market, clubs, etc. A beautiful old building with antique style elevators (modernized), and the west side upper level rooms have a great view of Puget Sound.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the West side of the building for beautiful views of Puget Sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel’s location! We hope you stay with us again.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Property: Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing