We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First time I've stayed at a Courtyard so a mixed review.
Not the 'poshest' hotel I've stayed at - somewhat tired and in need of a complete refurb.
View from our corner room not great but the size of the room was perfect.
Pool - too small for me to swim in but fine for children.
As with a recent review scaffolding currently covers the front of the building which we were unaware of until shortly before our departure to Seattle. It doesn't impede on your view as such and on the plus side makes the hotel easy to spot!!
The staff were very pleasant and rooms kept very clean.
We didn't bother with the bar or breakfast as it didn't look too appealing and there are plenty of places nearby.
In conclusion I'd say fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSHUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and welcome to the Courtyard brand! I’m happy to hear about your positive comments in regards to our staff and room cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    334
    87
    16
    12
See reviews for
177
229
51
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the station, so couldn't grumble that it was a fair walk from the main attractions! Staff gave 2 very good restaurant recommendations. Downside was that the hotel is currently wrapped in scaffolding. In fairness, the work did bot impinge on our sleep or comfort, but the bedroom view was not special!
The pool is OK, but not somewhere to spend much time other than taking a swim!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us again for your next visit to Seattle.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This Marriott is located at 2nd Ave & Cherry St. It is .7 miles from Seahawks Century Link Stadium & Safeco Field. Several bars in the area, including FX McRory's, Sluggers, Elysian Fields, Sean O'Donnell's, Collin's, Owl & Thistle, Jimmy's on 1st, Pyramid Brewery & Henry's Pub. Within a 5-10 minute walk is the Ferry Boats, Underground Tour & Police Museum. Westlake Mall, City Centre Mall, Duck Tour, Pike's Fish Market are also a close walk or you can take a city bus on 3rd Ave. at 3rd Ave & Pine you can catch the monorail to the Space Needle on the 3rd Floor of Westlake Mall.

The staff at the Marriott were very nice & helpful. Their maps they give when you check in are awesome. The only one we used. The rooms were very clean & we recommend getting the breakfast included with the Bistro downstairs. Great gym & pool in the basement.

We highly recommend this Courtyard Marriott & will stay here again each time we come back to Seattle.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mion6028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your informative review of your recent stay at the Pioneer Square Courtyard! As you mentioned we are in a great location for restaurant/bars and popular Seattle attractions. Thank you for recommending the hotel to others and look forward to seeing you soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night before getting on our cruise to Alaska. We have stayed in many Courtyards over the years, but this one is in a great historic building, and is very comfortable as well. We enjoyed our stay very much. They also offered a shuttle for us to get to the pier, which was appreciated. Good service, friendly staff. Not as centrally located as it could be, but not in a bad area either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a special family trip to Seattle, the first for most of us. As other reviewers noted, it's in a beautiful historic building that is being restored and is covered in scaffolding. The restoration didn't appear to cause any disruption in service at all.

The hotel location could be good depending on what you want to see. It's close to the sports complex, public transportation, the ferry landing and some lovely neighborhoods worth exploring. It's also close to some sketchy parts you don't want to linger in, although walking through posed no problems.

The rooms were appointed typical Marriott Courtyard. The dining area was much better than any other Courtyards I've stayed in. The staff was super friendly and helpful. One of our party had a steak dinner that she thought was great, although pricey.

Pros:
- Rooms were quiet. Bed and linens were comfortable.
- Free internet.
- Dining staff and bell persons were all really friendly and helpful.
- Walking distance to the ferry, train stations and other public transportation.
- A bit of a walk to the Public Market but doable.
- Okay TV channel line up.
- Rooms were very clean, as was the whole hotel.
- Room had coffee makers.

Cons:
- No in-room safe.
- Amenities were the tiniest I have ever seen.
- Mixed experience at the front desk. Some were very helpful. Others were not and needed a refresher in customer service like helping us arrange for transportation the next morning to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for choosing us for your first trip to Seattle! I’m glad that you all enjoyed your meals in the Bistro. I would like to apologize for the inconsistency in service at the Front Desk; that is not something common to our property. I hope you stay with us again.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife, children and I needed a convenient and comfortable location for a long weekend of family reunion activities in the downtown Seattle area. This Marriott property was excellent for our needs. It's close to everything we wanted to see and do (i.e., sailing, Mariners baseball, Pike Market, Space Needle, Seattle Underground). Access to restaurants, highway and airport couldn't be better. The young front desk staff processed us to our rooms courteously and promptly. Did I say our rooms had great views? Everything was clean and comfortable. I was able to use the exercise facility on two occasions during our stay, too. It had plenty of elbow room, clean towels and water -- almost more than my home gym. This hotel helped make our first trip to Seattle a great memory.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Pioneer Square Courtyard. I’m glad to hear that we were able to provide you with everything needed for your stay. We hope to see you on your next family reunion!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in the Courtyard for all of the 12 hours between our incoming flight and outgoing cruise. Seeing as we paid over $200 for the night I wasn't expecting a postage stamp sized room. Now to be fair we were upgraded to a high floor with a view of the harbor. Still the room was barely large enough to fit the king size bed, chair and standard Courtyard desk/tv/closet cabinet. The bed was positioned so that the head is against the bathroom wall, which is something I've come to love (no noise from snoring neighbors).

A couple of years ago we had stayed at the Hilton a few blocks up and I somewhat wish we had stayed there again. It's not that the hotel is bad it just seems overpriced given the room size and ongoing construction project on the outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
griffy72 ~ thank you for taking time to share your experience while at our hotel. Our hotel is in a historic building (from 1904) and each floor has 21 unique floor plans with rooms between 290 - 650 square feet...I am sorry you did not feel the value for the room you were in and hope that on a future stay in Seattle you will contact me directly so I can ensure your next experience will exceed your expectations...our construction project will be completed in July so please give us another shot...our service team is here to "please". Again, thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

Sincerely,

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Property: Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing