We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

My family of 4 (13 & 15 year old) stayed 3 nights, the beginning of August. Our stay didn't start out very well....major construction was going on in the area, the only "on street" parking was occupied by the Hyatt Place shuttle and the parking garage required a room key to enter so my husband had to drop me off and circle around while I checked in. Very inconvenient. Once in the hotel we were very pleased with our larger than normal room. The hotel is within walking distance to the Seattle Center (home of the Space Needle, EMP, etc) and a monorail that will take you down to the Pike's Market area. The hotel shuttle was a nice amenity and gave us a ride to the Aquarium. A nice breakfast is included and offered a good variety but it was so crowded the staff couldn't keep it stocked. After spending time in the San Juan Islands, we returned to Seattle for a couple of days and we ended up staying at the Mawell Seattle because the Hyatt Place was booked. In comparison, while the Hyatt Place was nice, we enjoyed everything about The Maxwell much, much better and would recommend that over the Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbhouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    453
    135
    36
    23
See reviews for
538
401
61
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Appeareances can be confusing. Behind a bland building facade you'll find an unexpectedly good hotel conveniently placed near downtown and touristic areas. Rooms are much larger than the average 3*, comfy beds plus a sofa. Included breakfast was ok, typical Hyatt. Staff was friendly and accomodating.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aspinei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed for 1 night in August, and we were very pleased with the location, service and price we paid. The hotel is extremely modern, clean and well furnished. The self-check out facilities are useful, and parking is reasonable at $10 for the night.

The only fly in the ointment was the free breakfast, which was chaotic. The breakfast area is just off the lobby, and there simply isn't enough seating. People were taking food to their rooms, dirty dishes were accumulating all over the lobby/breakfast buffet, and some foods seemed to be running out very quickly. That said, the quality of the food was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alrington, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My family of 4 (son of 9 and daughter of 11) staid at the Hyatt Place for our visit to tour Seattle in August. First off, the location is excellent. It is 3 blocks from the Space Needle and the park and museums that surround it, which is a great place to be. There is a 1 mile monorail that runs from the Space Needle downtown and is a great way to get to the downtown shopping, Pikes Place and other downtown sites. The facility itself is pretty nice -- good breakfast and the room was clean and roomy (although had almost no storage for clothes or our stuff -- we were definitely living out of our suitcase for our 3 days there). The continental breakfast is nice and the indoor pool and exercise facility are all good as well. The one negative was that while we are there, the city of Seattle turned off all water to that block (including the hotel) from 8pm until 2am one night. The hotel gave us good and adequate notice of this shut off BUT really made no effort to ease the inconvenience. When we asked the staff about providing water to brush our teeth that night, they said "well you can buy bottled water from us." That really seemed the wrong response -- we understood this was not our fault, but the complete lack of any attempt to ease the burden caused by it was our overriding impression of our stay there. A little customer service would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjsbgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here August 2012 for two nights, Traveling with my husband and teenage son had originally booked a one night stay and decided to stay a second night. This was our first time visiting Seattle we were pleased to find that the hotel was within walking distance of the Seattle Space needle, Seattle music experience and the Chuhily glass gardens. Hotel also provides a Free shuttle available to guests 24/7 for travel within a one mile radius of the hotel. This was a big bonus as you are pretty much able to navigate to the sights of Seattle (The Pike place market , the waterfront ,restaurants shops and tourist attractions ) using the shuttle.
Hotel also provides a free continental breakfast which has a decent assortment of both hot and cold breakfast foods . They also varied the hot entrees, it was not just the old tired waffle iron.
Staff was helpful with recommendations for dinner , room was nice had a king size bed with a partition that separates you from a seating area with a pull out couch, desk . Bathrooms are small no tub only a shower and towels could be upgraded. Parking was around $ 20 a night which seemed reasonable for the area, it is in an underground garage very tight space if you have a large car, There is some construction going on in the area, we stayed on a weekend so we were not bothered by it not sure about mid week .
Two suggestions - Bottled water ** Many hotels offer complimentary water bottles, this hotel did not and it is very pricey to buy in the lobby we bought ours across the street in Walgreens, ***Shuttle drivers, could use a bit more training . Although we were told we would be picked up where we were dropped off (by a restaurant), driver did not show up, so we called and were told to walk to a second location for pick up- which he decided should be in front of the local peep show, not a great choice when traveling with children.

Room Tip: We had room 805 the first night had a great view of the Space needle , second time we stayed we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
766 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

In the heart of Belltown this turned out to be a more central location than I imagined. We had tried to stay at different Hyatt's in downtown but they were booked so we stayed here and in the end we were pleased. This was close to all of the big tourist attractions and the many great restaurants in the Belltown neighborhood. Pike's Market was a little bit of a walk but not too bad. We really like the room layouts of the Hyatt Place chain - it is a welcome change from the standard hotel room as is their breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

You don't need a car - avoid the $20/night parking surcharge. Easy walking distance to major attractions and neighboring restaurants @ around 5 or 6 blocks. Duck tour (across from Space Needle) was a hoot! Nice hotel with very comfortable and well-equipped room. 42" LG HDTV with some HD channels, good free wireless internet, micro/fridge in room. VERY comfortable king bed and large (enough to sleep on) corner couch! Small bathroom and tiny closet.

Took free hotel shuttle to Pike Place Mkt on a Friday evening and had trouble getting back. They said they had been there to pick us up but that we weren't there. That did not happen. Took 2 calls from a well-known location and more than hour waiting there on the street after we were done with dinner and ready to return to the hotel. Each time we were assured of a pick up time that long passed before the driver arrived with no explanation or apology other than "I just started my 11PM shift" and that he wasn't aware there was a problem. Docked them a star for this, probably should have deducted more but it was an overall good stay.

If departing Sea-Tac airport, take the free hotel shuttle to the train station downtown to get to the airport ($2.50 one way). It's 17 miles away and through Seattle traffic by car or taxi. Give yourself plenty of time. It took nearly an hour from hotel to airport by shuttle and train. And we were shocked at the security lines on an otherwise quiet Sunday AM. We nearly missed our flight! Arrive EARLY!

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor north side room had a view of the Space Needle over the Walgreen's across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Seattle/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hyatt At Olive 8
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Address: 110 6th Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#25 Family Hotel in Seattle
#35 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing