We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed everything about Talaris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talaris Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed everything about Talaris”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were at Talaris for 6 days for a family wedding. The folks could not have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfast buffet was just what we needed for a full day of sightseeing and other activities, and some excellent restaurants were just around the corner (eg. Varlamos and Jak's). The grounds are beautiful - excellent photo-ops at different parts of the day. The rooms are not palatial, but they're extremely adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear guest-

Wow! What can I say??? You enjoyed everything and we enjoyed having you!

So glad your family event went well, thank you for the kind review and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    58
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
79
41
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was happy to find this center had availability. Great value considering where you are staying..includes parking and breakfast.

Not sure what people want with a free breakfast..if you want a full breakfast go and pay for one. The person on duty at breakfast was very friendly and helpful. You have a selection of juices, cereals, different hot item (quiche, omelettes, etc), toast, hard boiled eggs, granola, toast, pastries and fruits. That is more than enough selection to get my morning started.

The rooms are spacious and I didn't feel they were outdated in anyway. Rooms were clean and the bathroom was also very clean.

It is nice to be able to walk around the grounds also.

I would recommend this place and would stay there again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest-

Thank you very much for staying with us! I'm so glad you enjoyed the breakfast setting and the goodies we have to offer!

Thanks for mentioning the free parking--what a bonus!

We are so pleased you'll come see us again.

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed one night. The man at the front desk was great, very friendly and offered suggestions on dinner locations. The room was dark and kind of outdated. I book a queen but got two doubles. The bed wasn't very comfortable.

The breakfast was terrible. The coffee was undrinkable, the hardboiled eggs were like rubber, and the "omelets" had cheese WIZ inside. Disgusting.

The hotel was about 15 minutes from downtown Seattle if you took the freeway.

This place was clean, just don't expect much else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest-

I am very sorry for the challenges you experienced. It really sounds as though you got caught us on an off day.

I'm glad to hear that your arrival experience was great-and I apologize that we weren't able to get you in the bedding type you reserved due to the property being so full.

We continually try to improve our guest experience, including our breakfast--and your feedback is so very helpful, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed three nights. Rooming was arranged for out-of-towners attending a wedding at the nearby horticultural center. We were pleased to walk into a spacious room (high ceilings) that overlooked green lawn and a seldom traveled road. (Other rooms overlooked the driveway but again, very green and secluded). We were delighted with the comfortable beds and chairs. The complex area was quiet and beautifully landscaped. Would be awesome for a conference. A short walk took you to the dining area, which overlooked a peaceful zen pond. Beautiful. We noted umbrellas hung outside each building (a nice touch for the rainy season if visitors forgot their umbrellas. Talaris has an agreement with a nearby fitness center and my husband was impressed with the choice of equipment. The "Cons" are minor: 1) In the middle of the night our air conditioner began loudly squealing. We called the front desk and had someone over in a few minutes to pull off the cover and disconnect it. No problem as we could open windows and temps outside were perfect (in fact we preferred the outside air). We were told it would be fixed the next day or we would be moved to another room. All fine. We returned the next day and asked about the situation (we were content to stay with open windows), only to find out there had never been a followup. Again, this was not a problem in our situation but it did raise our eyebrows. At check-out we were given an adjustment on our bill. 2) we had no hot water the second morning. We were told there had been a temporary power outage but I never really got more than a mildly warm shower the whole three days. 3) Breakfast was average for hotels. The usual bagels, muffins, cereals. One choice of hot entree (such as omelet or burrito). No bacon, ham, or sausage. Hard-boiled eggs. Fruit. It would work for most people but I wouldn't call it impressive. Just average. I have gluten and corn problems, which knocked out most of what was offered (such as the burrito and flavored oatmeal packs). I could get by fine and would definitely recommend the conference center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear guest-

Thank you so much for enjoying our 'pleasant oasis'!

We are so glad you were able to enjoy yourselves and take in the grounds and relaxing atmosphere that Talaris provides.

I apologize for the few challenges you had during your visit. I'm glad to hear that all worked out and the team followed up in the end.

We are currently making revisions to our guest breakfast experience based upon guest feedback-so come back and try it out!

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here while on a trip to take our son to Children's Hospital. This place will be my go to anytime we go to Seattle from now on. The grounds are beautiful. You almost forget you are in Seattle. There's no traffic noise, you are tucked away in this serene escape away from the hustle & bustle of the city. The staff was amazing. Bob, the concierge was extremely helpful in letting us know what there was to do around the area. The complimentary breakfast was perfect & you have a view of the ponds while eating. Norma in the dining room had a sparkling personality and she was very attentive. The rooms were comfortable, the parking is free. The University Village is within walking distance and there are several shops and restaurants there. It can't get any better than that. This place is amazing!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear guest-

Thank you for spreading the news about the serenity that is Talaris!

We are so pleased you enjoyed pond side breakfast and really appreciate the kinds words about 2 of our greatest assets, Bob and Norma!

See you again soon!

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Beautiful park like setting, really quiet. Really pleased that we happend across this place to stay for a night while our son attended a seminar at the university. Breakfast was good. Place was clean. Staff was nice. Sure would stay again:)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderLustBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, B.C.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Talaris was a lovely place to stay. Professional staff who enjoy their work, great location, tasty breakfast! We hope to return on our next visit to Seattle. Staff went out of their way to accomadate us and even prepared one or our rooms early for our 10 month old grand daughter. The beds were comfy, check in and out was very slick.

Room Tip: It appears that all the rooms are good. The bottom floor has a wheelchair accessible entrance which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat and Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest-

Thank you for your kind remarks on the team, the surroundings and our yummy breakfast!

I am so glad you joined us and I hope your granddaughter comes back when she's older to play with the ducks!

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 100 in Seattle
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talaris Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talaris Conference Center

Property: Talaris Conference Center
Address: 4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105-5428
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Talaris Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talaris Conference Center is a retreat, event and meeting destination that combines a distinctively Northwest environment with metropolitan technology and amenities, is located on 18-acres in a natural, park-like setting near the University of Washington in Seattle. Talaris is just four blocks from University Village and within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants, cafes and jogging trails. With 33 guestrooms, two large conference rooms, multiple breakout rooms for meetings and events. This wooded oasis is an ideal destination for intimate training workshops, meetings, retreats and other events for up to 150 people. And if business or personal travel brings you to the University District, we are the perfect alternative to a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Talaris Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talaris Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing