We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talaris Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not worth the price.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

When we went to check in we were told our room wasn't ready and they'd call my cell in about 10 minutes. Thirty minutes later we went back to see if it was ready, they switched desk people and failed to call us. The room was not what we expected, especially since I thought I had upgraded the room. The "pillows" if you can call them that were thin and hard. The bathroom was really small and the room was in need of a makeover/remodel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBeez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    58
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
80
41
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Country, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel. The first time was impressive with the location the price and the staff! However the upkeep of this location is really bad.-the suite we had had a very strong smell of mold ( Seattle is a very rainy city but my house does not smell like mold...) The suites had poor housekeeping. The couch that turned to an additional bed had pee on the comforter( the staff quickly righted that!- as I said the staff is amazing! The kitchen and the washer and dryer had no soap -either for clothes washing or for dishwashing or the dishwasher. - not even a small sample(which is normally provided free of charge in other hotels). The place is very dated and I would say to the point of not worthy of the price ( we paid $1400.00 for 3 nights) . The outside has planter boxes that have fallen apart and moss all over the concrete( a safety hazard) .
There is no gym, or pool at this location.
We will not be staying here again unless the price comes down CONSIDERABLY, or updates finally happen. The staff are friendly,accomodating and parking is free( however be careful where you park as the large trees have not been manicured in many years and branches will fall down on your car( happened both this visit and last visit- not to our car!).

Room Tip: find a different hotel till updates and/or price comes down. Beautiful location , great staff, OLD a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerthebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, General Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Tinkerthebell,

Welcome back!

We value your input and appreciate that you took the time to review our property.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your first visit and you’ve seen how great our property can be.

I apologize that your suite was not appointed in our standard manner, and that it looks like we neglected to point out Seattle Gym on the edge of our property available to all our guests for a nominal fee.

Seattle is known for its rain but never an excuse for a guest room to smell mildew , sorry that was your experience with us.

I appreciate your repeat business and would love the opportunity to discuss your visit further.

Best, Barbara Rush
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Talaris Conference Center. It was very pleasant, and such a lovely setting. It is truly an oasis in the Seattle area. It is incredibly quiet.

We were made most welcome. We were given a map showing the hotel grounds and local neighborhood area, clearly marking restaurants within walking distance.

Our dog enjoyed the trip, too. The Burke Gilman Trail is about 2 blocks away, and there is a wonderful off leash dog park not too far away.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The have a resident eagle who has a nest on the campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have stayed at Talaris twice now while my daughter has appointments at Children's hospital. They have been so welcoming, kind, and helpful. They gave my kids teddy bears and had easter eggs on the grounds for the kids staying at the hotel. The rooms are clean and they are quick to help out with anything you need. My ONLY issue is they don't have a top lock on the door that can only be locked/unlocked from the inside. Other hotels I have stayed at always have the chain or metal bar you can slide across. Makes it hard with a little one to keep them from opening the door, and I like them at night for my own comfort. Will be staying there again when we have to go back for repeat appointments.

Room Tip: If you need to visit the Children's Hospital call to reserve a room so you get the hospital rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnn0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Found Talaris and booked it on a whim on a personal trip. The staff was very hospitable – even when arriving late at night the night manager walked me across the property to my building. The property was beautiful and it was great waking up, stepping outside and seeing the lake. Breakfast was delicious as well!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

3.5 stars, actually. The pros do outweigh the cons. The setting is just beautiful; if you have a car and your purpose in Seattle doesn't revolve around being downtown it will feel more homey than a hotel. It is super-close to U Village, Seattle's best shopping. Also, I arrived late at night and was welcomed by the friendliest desk clerk ever.
But I did have trouble finding the entrance in pitch black and the website didn't help (fyi: SE corner of the property, on 41st St!). I also wished for better walkway lighting. The room was really clean but apart from new linens, it did feel dated and a little rustic. Smelled stale, too. If I was on a group retreat I would be thrilled with these accommodations, but it felt strange staying here by myself. Despite a down comforter and full carpeting, I just could not feel cozy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srs-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a really beautiful property - and I would really like to give it a higher score - it is older but really very nice -EXCEPT for the mattress! I think this was the original mattress from when the place was constructed - perhaps it was their way of making sure my wife and I were intimate - yes we kept rolling together all night - nice the first time - but at some point you want to get some sleep. Really how much does it cost to purchase a new mattress? Other than that - grounds are great - staff friendly - very cool to have a pair of eagles nesting above the pond - breakfast was great - but for god sake - buy some new mattresses - especially in B-2

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlawrence53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#63 of 101 in Seattle
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
University Motel Suites
#73 of 101 in Seattle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talaris Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talaris Conference Center

Property: Talaris Conference Center
Address: 4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105-5428
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Talaris Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talaris Conference Center is a retreat, event and meeting destination that combines a distinctively Northwest environment with metropolitan technology and amenities, is located on 18-acres in a natural, park-like setting near the University of Washington in Seattle. Talaris is just four blocks from University Village and within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants, cafes and jogging trails. With 33 guestrooms, two large conference rooms, multiple breakout rooms for meetings and events. This wooded oasis is an ideal destination for intimate training workshops, meetings, retreats and other events for up to 150 people. And if business or personal travel brings you to the University District, we are the perfect alternative to a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Talaris Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talaris Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing