We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yellow Leaf Cupcake Company

The Yellow Leaf Cupcake Company
Ranked #20 of 116 Bakeries in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Belltown
Atlanta
Level Contributor
136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I went there about 3pm. My cupcake had whipped buttercream frosting on it. The cake was dry. I was looking forward to something outstanding but it wasn't there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Need bacon?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Another stop on the Savor Seattle tour and I felt this would be one of the most important reviews to put up. My BF is definitely NOT a sweets kinda guy, but he ate the sampler pancakes and bacon cupcake that the tour offered and really liked it. I have had cupcakes that were so sickly sweet, I just scrape the frosting off, but this was an Italian creme recipe made with egg whites and although it looks over-done, these cupcakes are a perfect blend of taste and sweetness. For those of you flying in that want to take some back home, Yellow Leaf offers carriers for carrying onto the plane, which will keep them in their own little space. (see my photo)

I bought Boston Creme, Pancakes and Bacon (best seller in Seattle!), Toffee, Chocolate Carmel flavor cupcakes, plus bacon brittle and yet another bag of homemade treats for the dogs. In regards to the price? You can pay $3.50 and up, depending on how fancy the flavor (the staff says they have 270+ flavors they rotate with), but IMO... when it comes to cooking, you get what you pay for. This is definitely the case at Yellow Leaf! Oh... and one final tidbit of information: over 50% of their clientele are men. =) Don't miss this stop for breakfast or as a break as you walk through down town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blu_h2O_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ECK!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I really hate to trash a place, but we stopped by Yellowleaf to pick up a few cupcakes for our desert after dinner. We had found them based on food show that had been chosen and the fact they were on some food tours. Got variety of cupcakes. Chocolate, red velvet, lemon and something else. What made them bad was the frosting. It tasted like slightly flavored Crisco. It was just awful. They even ruined red velvet. How you do that I don't know. They were so bad I nearly took them back. Decided it wasn't worth the effort. I hope I was just there on a bad day. Threw all the cupcakes out. Really disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank raskinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good but not worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

At $3.50 per cupcake (not big cupcakes -just average) I did not find them worth the cost. Icing was very heavy. Cake was basic. I would have preferred more fluff in the icing and probably a larger serving for the cost. People were nice though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shortdirectflights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colman, SD
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maple Bacon Pancake-Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a unique place! A variety of cupcakes to tempt anyone's sweet tooth! take them to go, stay & enjoy - best of both worlds! A must stop if you love a good cupcake!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gena_veen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yellow Leaf Cupcake Company also viewed

 

Been to The Yellow Leaf Cupcake Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing