We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camlin is a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WorldMark Seattle at The Camlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stay at the Worldmark Camlin at least every other month for a few nights. I really like the place. The Camlin is on old hotel that has been completely refurbished to what one finds when an ownder with Worldmark. The rooms are nice but smaller in size that a designed and built Worldmark property however, they are nicely furnished units and are very comfortable. Just a short walk to Pikes market and a bunch of great places to eat, the Camlin is my home when I come to Seattle. One you get here, pay to park you car and use public transportation to get to sporting events. Did I mention that the Camlin is just across the street from the Seattle Paramount Theatre where broadways plays and concerts are playing weekly.

Room Tip: There all pretty decent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jgmackay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

I can only assume that the glowing reviews for this property were written by guests that stayed at the Camlin during "average" Seattle weather. We found ourselves in Seattle during a heat wave and the Camlin seems to be the only hotel in Seattle without air conditioning. Our room, on the top floor, was like a sauna. The ceiling fan and open windows did little to help. It didn't take long for us to realize that we wouldn't get a wink of sleep in that room because it was so hot (my husband's allergies also started going berserk as soon as we entered the room, as well). The only response we received from the front desk staff was a shrug and a "yeah...we don't have air conditioning" when we registered our discomfort. It didn't seem like we were the first to have such a complaint at the Camlin. Needless to say, we booked a room at another hotel (after first calling a few and asking if they had AC...the answer in every case was "yes," so this is not a Seattle-wide problem).

Also, don't plan on being able to check in early. We arrived about an hour early and were unable to check in. Only after we asked, did they offer to store our bags for us while we wandered the very hot streets for an hour. Oh, and then they had some trouble finding our bags when we were finally allowed into our room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank loprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I am a Worldmark Owner. This was my first visit to this property. We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath penthouse (#1103) for a week, starting May 18. As others have mentioned, it is a great location in the city, and the staff was attentive and immediately responded to our requests for assistance (extra hangers, more coffee, help with setting up our internet connection in our room, etc.) Anything we asked, they were there to help. The staff at the front desk and door were helpful and friendly.

Pros: the suite was well furnished with a lovely living room with couch, 2 chairs, telephone vanity, fireplace and a huge wrap around outdoor balcony. The bathrooms are big with lots of towels. The kitchen area was more than adequate with a full refrig/dishwasher/dining table and chairs. The coffee they provide was outstanding. There is A/C in the penthouse although we did not use it. Apparently, the rooms don't have it. There was a murphy bed in the living room. We didn't try it as their was only 2 of us. The building is elegant and feels high end. There are several private rooms/areas to sit in throughout the property. We liked to sit in the room on the 11th floor next to the elevator when we returned to the hotel in the evening. It made for interesting viewing and conversation with other guests. Coffee, water, and snacks are complimentary in the lobby near the player piano (very nice) next to the sales rep area. These folks are willing to become your new best friend. We did not do the presentation although we were repeatedly asked to do so. I understand everyone has a job to do.

Cons: The bed in the master bedroom was lumpy and needs to be replaced. There is some type of noisy equipment on top of the roof that makes noise ALL the time. It was never quiet. I had to wear earplugs to sleep. I was told this equipment was on the roof right above my bed. The bath towels are so course, you could sand wood with them. The pressure on the shower head cuts in and out, but at least it doesn't scald you with hot water when it happens. Internet costs $15.95 for a week.

Others have mentioned the problem with parking. We took a car service from the airport ($48 for 2 people including $8 tip) so we didn't have to deal with this issue; however, we did end up renting a car twice for day trips out of the area, and had no problem parking it right outside the front door on 9th Avenue when we returned late in the evening. If you move the car by 8AM you don't have pay the meter. Don't rent at Hertz which is recommended by Nancy, the concierge because it was way more expensive then others that are also nearby. We used Dollar rent a car (2 blks away), but found Enterprise to be the best rate and the easiest because they came to pick us up at the hotel. We used a shuttle service to get back to the airport ( $38 including tip)

Seattle is a very bustling town with lots of fun things to do, but is plagued by very very aggressive panhandlers that are everywhere. We saw a tourist (woman) being chased by them in a well populated area downtown by Ivar's. She was using her umbrella to defend herself. Very scary- very sad. The hotel staff acted like they didn't know what we were talking about when we mentioned it to them- also very scary. The police told us to stay off Pine and Pike if we didn't want to be hassled. Seattle is beautiful, and I will return to the Camlin. I will probably try to get #1105 which is a 2 bedroom deluxe that is on the inside of the building and is quiet or the #1104 penthouse. The manager, Pedro Lana was kind enough to contact me after our visit about our concerns.

Room Tip: Penthouse #1104 has a huge outdoor patio. Room #1105 is a 2 bedroom deluxe that is quiet because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prissySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our first stay here. Very nice heritage property with all the amenities. Plenty of shopping and good restaurants within walking distance. As with most major cities, parking is the snag. $4/hr for street parking from 8am-8pm. Or about $10-15 for nearby daytime lots. If you are away all day, you can park free on the street starting at 8pm until 8am. If you park on the street, make sure you keep an eye on the time as parking tickets are crazy money$$$. Nearest grocery store is 10 minutes away on Broadway so you might want to pick up your provisions on the way in. The Studio worked fine for the 2 of us with a comfortable Murphy bed. Will definitely stay at the Camlin again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lotus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This will become an annual trip I am sure. Staff was great and very helpful. Hotel was clean. Shared space was great. Security of feeling safe with all the must have key entrances. Parking was not bad, just a short walk from the hotel and all things considered pretty inexpensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wishnaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went to the Camlin on Dec. 30, 2012; and Feb. 14, 15th 2013. It is an old, beautiful hotel; great for short stays in Seattle; I agree it provides 5 star service. There are excellent restaurants nearby; however you have to walk a block and a half to parking.

Room Tip: Would like to reserve far enough in advance to have a window view of downtown Seattle instead of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mary287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at this location with a couple as part of a weekend excursion for a convention. Rooms are smallish but space is maximized for the value. Easily fit 4 people even though it could have fit a 5th, although not comfortably. Staff seemed to be knowledgeable if not brisk and a bit curt at times.

Plenty of reasonably priced places nearby to eat at and the room had a microwave and mini fridge for left overs. Plenty of coffee, plates, silverware and various cups for use as well if you don't mind washing them after you are done. Seattle Convention Center is a block and a half up the street. Area seemed pretty good to walk around at night, didn't feel like I was going to be mugged at any minute. Would recommend this to anyone with a time share and looking to use the facilities as part of a getaway or convention.

Loved the old architecture of the building, detailed yet elegant interior design. Made me feel comfortable right away.

Only thing I would warn against is the electric plug in's in the rooms. One of the plug in's fried the power converter for my phone so I had to buy a new one.

On a side note, parking is at a premium and also very expensive if you can not score one of the limited parking spaces attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ericsansone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt At Olive 8
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 103 in Seattle
2,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Paramount Hotel
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 103 in Seattle
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayflower Park Hotel
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 103 in Seattle
2,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Seattle at The Camlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Seattle at The Camlin

Address: 1619 9th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1824
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Seattle
Hotel Class:1 star — WorldMark Seattle at The Camlin 1*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your WorldMark Seattle at The Camlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Seattle At The Camlin Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing