We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you're broke or desperate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I'm shocked by all the positive reviews for this property! I wish I hadn't listed to them when I booked a reservation here in July 2013.

It was obvious to me and my husband that all of the recent renovations money was put into the lobby and computer stations (which rarely had a working internet connection). The room and hallways were shabby with dirty carpets and a door that had to be yanked hard many times to lock. The fixtures on the sink were loose and seemed like they might fall off. There was a powdery white substance that looked like it had been dumped into the air conditioner vent. Despite the a/c, the room was terribly damp and humid. Thankfully, we were able to open one screenless window a crack.

Parking in the tiny garage was a nightmare. Everyone seemed to struggle to get their cars in and out because of the poor layout of spaces and close quarters. No wonder it was free.

Worst of all, the entire hotel -- including the lobby and elevators -- reeked of cleaning products. I immediately got a headache, congestion, and sore throat from the smell, which lasted the entire trip.

Basically, the only positives about our experience were price (though not value; I would pay more elsewhere next time for better accommodations) and proximity to Seattle Center and Whole Foods.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassafras7164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank colleeny508
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Rooms were nice, staff were friendly. Downtown location was very convenient. We stayed 3 nights prior to our Holland America Cruise Tour. We enjoyed a variety of ethnic restaurants which were close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixie21228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The reason my friends and I booked here for two days was the price, free parking and free wifi as well as breakfast being included. We had booked the cheapest room possible that had two beds and we were pleasantly surprised by how big it was. It had two queens and also came with a mini fridge and microwave. Although we did not have use for the two appliances, it would have been handy had we stayed for a few more days. The breakfast was pretty good for continental, it came with make your own waffle iron. Which turned out pretty good, it had boiled eggs, hot porridge, fruit, cereal and (strange but good) taquitos. The only thing is that the breakfast hours were a little short (6:30-9:30). They had this lemonade stand next to the elevators that was always full and free! So nice after walking about and coming back to that. And even though they had no restaurant, the coffee and hot water with tea and hot chocolate were self-served 24/7 which was really nice. The best part however was when I went to check out and go to the quick shuttle. I came down and requested a taxi, I went and waited outside and then a gentleman came outside and told me he could drive me. The hotel has a car service that will take you the airport/quick shuttle/cruise ship dock. It was really awesome! When the driver dropped me off and helped me with my bags, I tried to tip him and he refused. As I too work in the hospitality industry this is a huge thing for me! Someone that actually does his job because he cares! Bravo La Quinta! Bravo!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hospitality_girl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Bellingham, Washington, USA
11
Reviewed 9 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2013

While it's not the newest hotel, this La Quinta is well located near the Space Needle and museums, clean, reasonably priced and has a free hot breakfast. Parking is a bit dicey due to street restrictions and a tiny lot on hotel property. Staff were efficient. It would be better if the free breakfast options included more protein, like eggs, but that's a quibble as the waffles and fruit were fine.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is an excellent location for travelers visiting the downtown Seattle area. You are close to many of the "go to" locations in Seattle. This includes the Space Needle and Pike Place Market. It is well kept and the staff is very forthcoming and friendly. We stayed there prior to leaving on a cruise and they were very helpful in arranging transportation to the port on the day of the cruise. Try to get a room on the street side of the hotel. The back side looks directly into an open office building.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RParks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#59 of 104 in Seattle
812 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Address: 2224 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#49 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £79 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay with us, you will learn why TripAdvisor recently acknowledged us with their Certificate of Excellence award. Each morning is met with our free Bright Side Breakfast(R), an abundant spread with waffles, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, and additional items. For the caffeine-friendly, this is also a great opportunity to get going with all-you-can-drink coffee and juice. You can relax in your spacious guest room to enjoy free Wi-Fi and 40 cable channels in high-quality HD. For the business-minded, we have a business center, free parking, and free local calls. We provide more modern amenities to meet the needs of every traveler on a trip to Washington at our pet-friendly hotel. From our hotel, you can reach the most premier, popular area destinations, all withing walking distance, including Pikes Place Market, Space Needle, Pioneer Square, Seattle Aquarim, and more. We also welcome a variety of sports fans visiting the area, as the Seattle Mariners' Safeco Field, and Seahawks' and Sounders Century Link Field are all less than a two-mile drive from our front door. The business guests get to stay within walking distance of Amazon, Facebook, the new Federal Building, REI, and the Washington State Convention Center. Since the University of Washington is only five miles away, it's better to book your well-appointed guest room in advance of major events such as graduation commencement ceremonies. Get easy access to public transportation to take in all the sights and sounds of this booming area for arts, music, museums, parks, dining, and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
La Quinta Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
La Quinta Seattle
Seattle La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing