We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night prior our departure from port picked for cheaper price but was pleasantly surprised good location, clean and comfortable an older hotel and little outdated but would stay again was very clean! Close walking to restaurants and a beautiful park!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    441
    125
    31
    23
See reviews for
412
311
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights, prior to catching the train to Vancouver. We arrived at the hotel quite late as our flight had been delayed. We were met with a warm welcome at the small reception area. We were told about 4 restaurants all within 1 block of the hotel for us to catch a late meal.
We took the lift to our floor (2) and went into our King suite. It was huge. There was a separate bedroom which was quite small but adequate. Had bedside tables; set of drawers; large tv; separate closet with iron and ironing board in. Outside the bedroom was a jack and jill vanity unit with toiletries; plus a kettle and tea and coffee. To the right of that was the bathroom with plenty of clean towels; a lovely shower; wc. Then there was the living area which had a sofa (possibly a sofa bed) a comfy chair; coffee table; large unit with storage space, TV, safe, Microwave.
Our living room area had about 4 large windows and overlooked the street. Our bedroom had a small window and overlooked the side of the hotel and some rooms with a balcony. There was an individual controlled air conditioning unit.
Each room had heavy curtains (possibly blackout curtains, I can't remember)
We ate at an italian around the corner which was lovely. There was also a Japanese restaurant and an American diner. Can't remember what the fourth one was.
Our free breakfast on the ground floor was adequate. Yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast, waffles, juice, tea and coffee.
We walked from there to the Space Needle, which took about 15 minutes (it was quite safe). We also visited Chihuly Glass. Well worth the visit. We caught the monorail from the tower to downtown and walked from there to Pike Place Market. We had a wander round and then walked back to the hotel. Don't book a ho ho bus as it's not worth it!
All in all a great location; great room and great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front (not noisy) We had the king suite at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetochill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our base pre and post Alaskan cruise. We booked here without having been to a La Quinta before and to be honest, we were most pleasantly surprised!!

We're from NYC so we're used to walking and this hotel is in a nice location. Short walk to Westlake Center (shopping galore + light link rail + monorail), the Space Needle, REI (awesome!) and a longer walk to Pike Market (but still doable as long as you dont mind a couple steep hills). Plus it's literally around the corner from Whole Foods which is great if you need to pick up anything and going the other way right off of Denny Way a few blocks up is Walgreens as well. Super convenient! If you do rent a car, they have free parking on-site which is a plus.

The staff here is friendly, knowledgeable, professional and efficient. Check-in and check-out was really smooth and very quick. Everything is straightforward. The only thing is if you arrive early (before lunchtime really) and want to check-in, then they may not have rooms ready especially on weekends as it's a popular hotel for cruisers. Once they all start leaving though, rooms open up by about 2pm. So beware on Saturdays and Sundays.

Awesome extras here like lemonade and lemon water all day in the lobby, free wifi, fresh baked cookies everyday at 7pm and their free breakfast in the AM. They have 2 waffle machines (sweet!!), coffee, juice, teas, yogurt, different breads for toast, mini muffins, hard boilied eggs (protein!), hot oatmeal with toppings, some sort of other hot breakfast item of the day and fresh fruit (bananas and apples). Everything is self serve but there's plenty of cups, plates and silverware. There's lots of seating but it fills up fast, if anything you can make your food and take it back to your room on a tray!

The rooms are a nice size (we booked 2 double beds) and the beds are comfy. Nice TVs with hbo and showtime. I like the bathroom setup in that the sink is separate outside and they have awesome double-headed showerheads. The only thing that would be nice is if they offered slippers or something, otherwise really...You get a lot for what you pay for here and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised with our first stay at a La Quinta Inn. They're in a good location within an easy walk to the Space Needle, somewhat further to Pike Market but doable. The outside looks like any other "Inn" type hotel but the lobby was nicely decorated, had comfy seating and nice fireplace type frames and a pretty aquarium. Lemonade and lemon water all day long was refreshing, hot fresh waffles, toast, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, etc in the morning is a nice touch altho seating gets quite busy. The front desk staff is awesome. Very friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and remember who you are. This was the fastest checkout process I've ever had at a hotel AND with no issues. We were very impressed. Another plus were the double shower heads in the bathrooms, not sure how green that is but definitely great after a day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg,VA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had been on a week long cruise and found this hotel in downtown Seattle to end our west coast vacation. The rooms were nice , clean and comfortable. Free WiFi was much appreciated. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful.

The brown and gold décor was a bit depressing, and there was no pool. The limited breakfast was mediocre. The rate was pricey for the accommodations. It would have been nice to have a restaurant on site or close by.

I would stay here again in a pinch, but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Another time that online reviews aren't always the only way to go. My wife and I and two other couples were leaving from Seattle on an Alaskan cruise. The hotel is very close to the cruise terminal. We decided to fly in the day before our cruise and leave the day after our cruise. The front desk was extremely helpful in giving us directions for various needs. Our rooms were very nice even though the neighborhood didn't really offer much of a view. Our room did have a view of the Needle which was nice. Breakfast was a nice perk as usual. Typical waffles, pastries, cereal, etc. Given the same situation we would certainly make the same stop again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrylatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'll readily admit it, this hotel was our choice mainly due to cost- it's one of the few full-up hotels in the heart of Seattle that (a) don't cost a fortune and (b) have free parking. Finding a hotel in Seattle that meets these requirements is no different from finding one in San Francisco- they're definitely few and far between.

The price shows in the property itself though- this place is in dire need of renovation. I wouldn't call it dirty or a dive, but the hallways look like something you'd expect out of some film noir drama and the interiors are definitely showing their age. It's pretty well maintained considering how evidently old the property is, but no matter how good a job the owners do at maintenance it can only go so far. I kind of hesitate to say the place needs a total renovation, as that would probably drive up the room cost to the ridiculous levels of most of the other hotels in the city. However, it certainly could do with a refresh.

Strangely, one of the things that does seem current is the wifi. It really is pretty high speed, and it comes at no extra charge too. That aside, the location is undoubtedly the best thing about this hotel- it's pretty much right in Seattle downtown and a short walk from quite a few useful stores (Subway, Whole Foods, etc.). The Space Needle is a short drive away. The neighborhood is decent enough, though at first glance you might think otherwise.

About that free parking- it's in a underground garage and the spaces are tight and very limited. I could barely fit our rental van in a spot, and I can say for sure that if the hotel was anywhere near capacity, there wouldn't be nearly enough space for everyone park. However, I suspect this is rarely the case and there's also a paid parking lot next door that is reasonably convenient for visitors.

Overall I would say this hotel was 'okay.' The staff did a good job and were polite, and the price was lower than pretty much every other hotel in the city. The rooms were quite spacious and suited our needs. It's definitely not what you'd call a romantic or even attractive lodging though- next time we're in the area I'll probably either trade up to a nicer hotel (if I have more budget) or down to a motel (if I don't).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yu-Jin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#62 of 101 in Seattle
785 reviews
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Address: 2224 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#49 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay with us, you will learn why TripAdvisor recently acknowledged us with their Certificate of Excellence award. Each morning is met with our free Bright Side Breakfast(R), an abundant spread with waffles, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, and additional items. For the caffeine-friendly, this is also a great opportunity to get going with all-you-can-drink coffee and juice. You can relax in your spacious guest room to enjoy free Wi-Fi and 40 cable channels in high-quality HD. For the business-minded, we have a business center, free parking, and free local calls. We provide more modern amenities to meet the needs of every traveler on a trip to Washington at our pet-friendly hotel. From our hotel, you can reach the most premier, popular area destinations, all withing walking distance, including Pikes Place Market, Space Needle, Pioneer Square, Seattle Aquarim, and more. We also welcome a variety of sports fans visiting the area, as the Seattle Mariners' Safeco Field, and Seahawks' and Sounders Century Link Field are all less than a two-mile drive from our front door. The business guests get to stay within walking distance of Amazon, Facebook, the new Federal Building, REI, and the Washington State Convention Center. Since the University of Washington is only five miles away, it's better to book your well-appointed guest room in advance of major events such as graduation commencement ceremonies. Get easy access to public transportation to take in all the sights and sounds of this booming area for arts, music, museums, parks, dining, and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
La Quinta Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
La Quinta Seattle
Seattle La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing