We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not typical Holiday Inn experience - very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked this room for our family vacation 3 months in advance and requested a non-smoking room, with two queen sized beds. We received the two queens but the "non-smoking room" given to us was on the 4th floor...the smoking floor. As soon as we opened the door, the room stank of smoke. We didn't even unpack, and went straight to the front desk, where they informed us that indeed our room was a non-smoking room, but it was on a smoking floor?!?! On top of that the garbage cans had chewed gum in them, there was no fridge in the room, and the pool had sand at the bottom of it.

Front desk's solution to the smoky room was to open a window and run the bathroom fan, or they could give us some air freshners. We booked 3 months in advance specifically to ensure a non-smoking room, and it seems that the staff could care less. Not very professional at all. Thankfully this is not my first Holiday Inn experience so I know this is not typical of their other locations, however I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iMike_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday in Seattle, with out-of-town and out-of-state relatives all converging here. This location was convenient to Northgate, where we were having family portraits taken, and the Woodland Park Zoo, which we planned to visit (but didn't because of the weather). There are actually 2 Holiday Inns on Aurora Ave., so some of the other reviews I've read are meant for the other one, as this is not close to the Space Needle or downtown like the other hotel.
The front staff was very nice and helpful, the rooms were clean and beds were great, plus we made use of the sitting room area with a small couch, chairs, and table, and sink and mini-fridge. We were offered the use of the breakast area off the hotel lobby for our birthday gathering of 13, but ended up in one of the rooms to have birthday cake, and that worked out fine for our group of ages 1-1/2 to 87.
The 12-yr. olds loved the small pool. My husband and I used the fitness center, which overlooked the pool area. The fitness center is very small and the equipment old and very noisy, but it worked. There is nothing to clean the equipment surfaces between users (like the standard squeeze bottle and paper towels in most gyms now). The equipment should be updated.
We appreciated the included breakfast, which was fairly standard, and checkout was a breeze with our bill slipped under our door the morning we left. The free parking was fine, and it was easy to get to the freeway (I-5).
We had some reservation issues prior to arriving (not the hotel's fault) but were helped with sorting it out by the General Manager, Mr. Oh. Thank you very much!
My only complaint is that this not an entirely non-smoking hotel, and we had booked non-smoking rooms, but you have to walk through the smoking rooms hallway to get to the non-smoking rooms. This seems backward to me. So we did notice a little smoky smell getting off the elevator, but there was none in our non-smoking hallway or rooms. The rooms also have a window you can open a little for fresh air.

Room Tip: Ice machines are on the 1st and 3rd floor. There was a pop dispenser on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvl2liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Nice room, the place was clean, but not fancy. Easy to park, good free breakfast.

We took the ferry from Edmonds to KIngston at 7 AM the following morning. No more than a 10 minute drive, very convenient.

Room Tip: Convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Visiting Seattle Woodland Zoo with the family, decided to use this as a home base for the 2 night stay. After reading some bad reviews, we were ready for the worse case scenario but I was pleasantly surprised. Hotel staff was very friendly and was greeted with a welcome gift (something to do with the priority member perk?). It is an older building but it's kept clean and I didn't see any sings of neglect. My son really enjoy the pool and plenty of restaurant choices in the area. Keep in mind, this is not down town Seattle. It's 15-25 min drive to downtown. This is not a touristy part of Seattle but if value is your priority, you'll like it. One complaint, their breakfast can step up a notch.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy72A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My room was fine, I used Priceline, got a first floor room. Everything was fine, but the bathroom had little ants in it. At one point there were about 10 in the sink, sometimes there would be a couple on the floor... didn't see any anywhere else in the room, just the bathroom, all three days. Slept in each day so didn't get to try the complimentary breakfast. :( Its about a 10 minute drive to downtown Seattle. Worked fine for me. Oh, they have one computer available for use, in the lobby, which is pretty meh, and it was giving me warnings when I used it, which doesn't seem right either. The girl at the desk was super nice though. :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Near Space Needle and seattle downtown
The server was very kindly
Breakfast was so good

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe60429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Got a Hotwire room for 3 nights. When we got to the room it had been stripped of regular amenities and they had been replaced with a mattress and box spring that was of the cheapest ad lowest quality. We travel a lot and had never run into this 2 class of rooms. The scary part is the internet connection. Both Chrome & Firefox gave us huge, never before seen, warnings about the connection. The certificate is totally bogus and could allow data mining to occur! We contacted Hotwire and got refunded for additional night and got the hell away from this place. This is owned by a franchisee and they have "known" about the "problem" with the internet connection for "a long time" but have no plans to fix it. They may be selling your personal information!

Room Tip: ^^Warning** STAY AWAY!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeWatabLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 103 in Seattle
782 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 103 in Seattle
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Address: 14115 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#18 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £86 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing