We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Aurora Ave for 7 days in July 2013 while visiting a relative in Seattle and touring the Seattle area and the attractions in the area. For some reason some people picked on this hotel for little stuff, and that is unfair. If you have ever stayed in a Holiday Inn Express, then you know what you are in for - a very nice, clean hotel with nice rooms, comfortable beds, and a decent breakfast every day. Our room (Room 212) was very nice with updated furnishings and it was very clean. The housekeepers did a great job maintaining the rooms and we always had everything we needed. The beds are very comfortable and the room had a small refrigerator in it to keep some drinks and basic food. Everything functioned well. We did have a problem with a slow drain in the bathroom sink, but the staff had someone come up and fix it for us - it was even on the 4th of July holiday and they were still able to resolve the problem!

The breakfast was nice and as expected. We always has fresh eggs every day - either scrambled or cheese omelets on alternate days and they had hard boiled eggs available every day. They also have plenty of cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast, etc ..... They did a nice job maintaining it and keeping it fresh. We ate there every morning. Some people on this site complained about the breakfast, but I don't know what they were expecting. It is a nice basic breakfast. If you need something bigger or fancy, go out for breakfast!

My only complaint is for the gym in the hotel. It is basically useless. Both treadmills have problems and many of the buttons on them do not work. In order to reset the one closest to the window so it could be used I had to pull the red "panic" cord to shut it down, then plug it back in to set a new program. Also they have a FEW dumbells in there, but no pairs of anything with decent weight - really? Only a SINGLE 20# dumbbell in there to use? I did my best with what they had there, but it was very frustrating. Spend the money people and at least replace one of the treadmills in there!

Outside of the Gym, this is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it. It is definitely the nicest place around and still close enough to get to downtown Seattle in 10 minutes or so.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our first stop on a two-week whirlwind tour of the Pacific Northwest. We flew into Seattle, picked up our car and headed to this hotel. Easy to find, check-in was smooth, and the Priority Club package they provided for check-in was just the snack needed to tide us over from a plane flight until we could head to dinner. They provided wonderful directions to get us downtown for dinner. Great price for a location that is not too far; not too close to downtown from a traffic perspective. Our room was large, comfortable, and clean. Breakfast the next morning was perfect to start us off for a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjpalmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We found this to be a very good choice. The rooms are quite large, quiet and the hotel is well located. The beds are quite comfortable. A very good alternative to the high priced hotels in the down town area. Breakfast is quite good and the area is well attended so the food is kept in good supply. Handy to both Sam's Club and Costco if that matters to you.

Room Tip: High up and to the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomWall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday88888, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Tomwall60,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It means a lot to our employees and staff when we hear we are doing things right. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Truly,
Ron Oh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Booked a Priority Club Rewards stay at this Holiday Inn Express as this location looked like it would be convenient to Northgate Mall along with being relatively close to downtown Seattle (~20 minutes on Aurora or I-5) as I had a day off and wanted to check-out the new MOHAI museum on Lake Union and the Mariners MLB Home Opener. Found this hotel to be quiet, clean and staffed by generally friendly and very helpful staff, particularly the night clerk and clerk when I checked out. Still find it puzzling though as to why I couldn't check-in just a bit early at 12:40pm(and I've done so at other hotels in the past) as this hotel didn't seem full, however, the checkin process later evening and the stay there went smoothly.Hotel was modern, very quiet and ideally situated for BC-Canadians travelling down to Seattle area on I-5. Will stay here again and recommended to others!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLivesInPacificNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday88888, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Good Afternoon Jim D-

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay; we love to hear from our guests as to how we can improve, and provide a better experience. I am glad you found our Front Desk staff to be friendly, and our facilities to be modern; we completed a full remodel of our hotel last fall!

I do apologize you were unable to check in early; our check in time is at 3pm, however we do offer Priority Check In for our Priority Club members, if the room is available.

We look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Danielle
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel is staffed by well trained professionals who take customer service to a higher level. Joe and Gavin at the front desk are top notch, giving a warm welcome at check in and helpful advice on local dining and shopping options. The hotel is very clean, comfortable, recently remodeled, and includes a plentiful breakfast buffet, 24 hour access to the pool, hot tub, and small fitness center. Fresh, hot, chocolate chip cookies, apple cider and coffee were offered every evening. While walking in the area is unpleasant due to the discontinuous sidewalks, busy traffic, and seedy neighborhood, there are many dining options close by. This location would be a lengthy commute into downtown Seattle, due to the hours long traffic jams on the freeways. If you want to stay in the North Seattle area, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from Aurora Avenue side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbird907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday88888, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Snowbird907,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel, and for taking the time to mention Joe and Gavin; I will be passing your comments along to them! If you're looking for a quicker way to Downtown Seattle the next time you're in town, please feel free to swing by the Front Desk for alternate routes to avoid I-5 traffic! We hope to see you again soon!

Danielle
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Given the prices of down town hotels in Seattle, this property is a real gem of a find. We experienced extremely friendly service, a very spacious semi-suite style room with separate sitting and sleeping areas (called a king suite) and found the morning buffet, while not particularly fancy, to be one of the best we have had. The buffet selections included: eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit to name a few. While located on a major thoroughfare, the property is remarkably quite, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

Although we didn’t have the opportunity to try any, there are several restaurants within walking distance, and the neighborhood appears safe. Provided you don’t mind the twenty minute or so drive into Seattle, this is a great place to stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: 3rd floor king suite at end of the wing farthest from the hotel entry was very spacious and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday88888, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Good Morning Dale_Jackson,

Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear from our guests about their experience staying with us; I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and found our staff to be friendly!

Our Express Start Breakfast begins at 5:30am every day, and the menu changes daily to add a little more variety for our guest staying longer than a few nights; make sure you try our biscuits and gravy and our delicious cheese omelettes!

We are very close to many local dining options, from local fast food restaurants, to Mexican dining, to Korean BBQ; we have it all! Stop by the front desk next time you're in town to get suggestions from our staff, as well as directions!

-Danielle
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Friendly service, check-in & check-out were quick & easy. Enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies! Breakfast items & selections were good; eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, cereal, etc. Bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday88888, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear 1travelingDad:

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure the staff has an opportunity to hear your feedback.

I am thrilled that both your check in and check out were quick and easy, as that's the kind of excellence we always strive for. I'm also happy you were able to sample our fresh baked chocolate chip cookies; the Front Desk makes them nightly for our guests to enjoy!

Next time you are in Seattle, we do hope you stay with us, we'll have one of our comfy beds waiting for you and your family!

Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 103 in Seattle
782 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 103 in Seattle
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Address: 14115 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#18 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £87 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing