We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my friends for two nights and was pleasantly surprised by how clean the room was. The beds were very comfortable, blackout blinds let us sleep in, service was good. We even had the hot tub and the pool all to to ourselves one evening - very relaxing. Breakfast - while not as healthy as I'd have liked it - comprised the usual staples (eggs, bacon, burgers, oats, pancakes, coffee, tea, fruit juice and some fruit) and was quite tasty. The Internet connection occasionally went slow and once I couldn't browse any websites despite the fact that I was connected. Other than that, I was impressed and would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Dorina C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 4 star review. We are so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our property. We are glad you found our rooms clean and our breakfast was tasty. Our 24 hour indoor pool and jacuzzi make it easy for our guests to relax and enjoy their time during their stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your time at our property and look forward to future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    112
    45
    18
    7
See reviews for
97
72
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this Holiday Inn for two nights. It was a comfortable bed to sleep in, but the curtains don't close to black out the room. I had the outside light shine in my room all night. I was on the third floor, the room above me woke up a lot during the night to use the restroom (I know this because I could hear everything). I woke up several times to the feet of the guest landing on the floor and walking across the room. When the guest above was asleep I could hear his deep sleep snores. I just wanted to sleep, but got little of it. During the little sleep I did get I at least was comfortable. The pillows were nice too. I couldn't decide if I liked the hard or soft pillows better. When I went to take a shower the first evening after arriving, there was hair in the tub and on the shower curtain. The pool was warm and the hot tub was nice. The pool towels are way too small; perfect for an infant or a small child. The hot breakfast was nice looking though I eat gluten free and always bring my own food. It is always better to be safe than sorry. The staff was friendly. Allyson was a helpful and friendly young lady. I would stay here again, but may choose the top floor.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank MeganRae47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear MeganRae47,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your candid review and rely on guest feedback to improve our hotel. We apologize that you were unable to sleep because of noise from guests above you and light from outside. We do have black out curtains in all of the rooms, they are located behind the sheers. Our front desk staff is also trained to assist guests with any issues that might cause an unpleasant stay. Our staff are able to provide room moves, when available or issue a noise complaint to other guests. We hope that you stay with us again so that we can prove our excellent service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. The location is a bit far from the highway but it's near lots of stores and fastfood chains. Free parking, internet, and breakfast. The breakfast was standard American style. The room was spacious and clean. Amenities are standard but they have utensils and paper plates which are very convenience for us. The bed was better than at a standard Marriott. Internet wasn't great at all. I had to use my phone to check emails and check in with the airlines. Overall, nothing stand-out about this hotel but we had a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VietTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear VietTravelers,

Thank you for your candid 4 star review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you found our beds comfortable. We have recently replaced all of our mattresses and pillows with double pillow top mattresses and new soft and firm pillows. We hope the comfortable beds and our amenities bring you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed for 3 days into this hotel. Overall experience was just ok with a lot of problems. Few worth mentioning were:
1. They ran out of water in the morning. No water even for brush. They offered to go to some gym outside the hotel to take bath etc. Quite crazy...
2. There was no water in the hotel but plenty of water in the juice. Had to ask them to change multiple times
3. The room provided was also of wrong type. Instead of a kind bed they provided 2 queen beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikCeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear VikCeo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at our property. We value your feedback and use it to address issues in our hotel. We apologize that there was no water for one of the nights of your stay. There was a water main break caused from road side construction that affected our property and a few other local businesses. We do hope you stay with us again so that we can prove to you that our service and amenities are great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is an older property that has been re-furbished. They've done a good job in the rooms, and common areas are okay. We found the elevator to be dirty and the main areas. So, room was great. There was a water main break when we arrived at 1am. We weren't told that there would be no toilet use or hot water. When we complained, we were told we could get bottled water. Not sure how that helps the hot water or the toilet (maybe 10 or so bottles). Still, they couldn't help the situation. In the morning at check out, the clerk advised us that they had no idea until 4am, which was a obvious lie. I did say that the main was broken outside when we checked in at 1am. He was training a nice young fellow, so not great example of honesty.
Would stay again, as the water main issue was out of their control.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItravelTKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms and property. We apologize that the water main break affected your stay and that our front desk was not able to properly communicate the issue. The front desk and hotel staff have been spoken with about this particular incident and how to better handle issues like this in the future. We do hope that your troubles during this stay do not prevent you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for a few days for a layover. I was a bit worried that I would not find it but it was directly accessible from downtown Seattle via the E bus which stops just a few blocks from it. The hotel itself is quite new with large, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a wide-range of TV stations. One thing not to be missed is the included breakfast which is better than what you normally get in similar hotels ... it included bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh juice, pastry, cold cereal and hot coffee. The staff was also quite nice and helpful. My only gripe would be that it is a little far out from downtown Seattle. In any event, I'd gladly go again.

Green Features: The hotel gives you a choice of whether to have your towels and linen changed daily. For those concerned about the environment/water conservancy, you can choose to not have your towels or linens changed.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Sales Representative at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Marc G,

Thank you for your wonderful 4 star review. We are so pleased that you found our hotel spacious, comfortable and our breakfast was great. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next Seattle layover or visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I would like to start off with that this review would probably be 2 stars except for two things. 1) The check in clerk Alison was phenomenal and helpful. 2) The hotel recently renovated and it's furnishings and decor are in great shape.

Now for the not so great part of the trip. My Air/Heater unit made a click click click noise all night long. This coupled with the fact that my blackout drapes were missing two hooks explained why I didn't sleep for three days. I should have reported this sooner had I realized why light kept coming in my room

On two occasions the breakfast ran out of items and when they weren't being refilled, I asked the breakfast attendants who sighed and seemed really bothered that I would ask for them to refill something.
On one occasion I wanted a biscuit and gravy but they decided to replace the gravy with sausage. I wondered what you were supposed to do with a dry flavorless biscuit.

At checkout I stated all of these things but they didn't really care! This hotel has potential but this lack of detail cannot be over looked

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squareboy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear squareboy001,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room amenities and the breakfast. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 100 in Seattle
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Address: 14115 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing