We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a great hotel, but. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #69 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sturgeon Bay
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Could be a great hotel, but. . .”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This seems to be a newer property, or at least it is recently renovated. The furnishings are modern, and the rooms are large. They have many mini suites with a small refrigerator, kitchen sink, and microwave. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There's just one major problem. It was obvious that they are having trouble with people smoking in the rooms. What a shame. My colleague's room smelled horribly of cigarette smoke, but the hotel was completely full (they seem to get many tour buses with seniors), so they could not move her. They sprayed her room instead, but it didn't help much. I didn't complain about my room because it wasn't as bad as my colleague's, but as I was unpacking my clothes from the trip, I couldn't believe how stinky my clothes were with smoke smell. I realize this isn't the hotel's fault, but there must be a way to treat the rooms when this happens? One more complaint: The wifi was very poor, which is bad for those of us who are business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear vanclaners,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 3 star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our renovated hotel with new furnishings and spacious rooms. We apologize about the smell of smoke in your room. We are a non-smoking property and remind all guests at check in of this policy. When traces of smoking are detected we do our best to deep clean the room and eliminate the odor. We are sorry we were not able to offer you a room move during your stay as we were sold out and had no room availability. We hope that we can prove our commitment to exceptional service to you during your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    117
    51
    21
    7
See reviews for
103
80
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southeast, alaska
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clean, comfy, reliable. Love this place, stayed here too many time to count. only thing is parking is a little cramped. Ivars is across the street, couldn't ask for more. Maybe the pool, when we were down there (from Alaska) we were looking forward to the pool and hot tub only to find out they were closed, and it was not updated on the main website, but the desk guy was great about it, felt a little sorry for him, having to explain over and over again about it, already looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helibut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear helibut3,

Thank you for your kind 5 star review. We are so glad that our friendly and helpful staff and convenience to local attractions and eateries brings you back time and time again. We apologize that the pool and hot tub were out of order during your stay. We do our best to address any maintenance issue as soon as possible to improve our guests experience. We hope that we see you soon during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel itself is a great hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were big. The breakfast was standard HIX fare with Bacon eggs and biscuits and gravy. The parking lot was a little tight especially if you have a larger vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckie_css
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear chuckie_css,

Thank you for your 4 star review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our beds and rooms large and comfortable. We are happy that you also enjoyed our hot buffet style breakfast. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, KS
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very nice, new, clean hotel. Was traveling with a group of more that 40. They were well prepared for our arrival. Were in our rooms in a timely manner. We were there for two days. They weren't quite ready the first morning for breakfast. It's hard to be prepared for 40 people at once who are on central standard time, but they made it. The next morning they were ready for us. Nice breakfast with plenty of choices. I tried to use the hot tub the first morning only to find it was only 80 degrees. I did see someone attending to it later, but didn't try it again. Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There is nothing of interest within walking distance. Walgreen's 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We so happy to hear that we could provide a great stay to you as well as everyone in your group! All of our departments worked hard to prepare and plan ahead for your arrival. Our Breakfast Staff does their best to keep all items stocked and available for all of our guests. If any item runs out then they will always work fast to replenish it. We apologize that you encountered an issue with the hot tub and that the temperature was low. Maintenance does follow up with such issues immediately and repairs it as soon as possible. It is great that you had such a wonderful stay and we hope to have you and your group stay with us in the future should you make your way to the Seattle area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

During a long trip to Alaska, I spent a night in Seattle. The hotel is on Aurora, one of the main drags of Seattle- the road leads right downtown. This area however is a mix of industry, commercial, and apartment/condos. You are barely in the city limits- Shoreline starts only a few blocks north.

The hotel is small and compact, so is the lot. There seems to be very little parking. I had no problem finding a space, but unless there is another lot I am not aware of, it could get crowded. There is only one way in and one way out, and turning left onto Aurora can be a problem if you want to head north. Not the hotel's fault- the lots just happen to be small in this area.

There is also only one hotel entrance and exit- right at the front desk. Lobby is very nice and staff very helpful in finding attractions in the city and the beach area to the north.

Room is nice a spacious. Suite has a nice kitchenette and a large bathroom. Bed is comfy, very quiet with virtually no street noise despite being off of a busy road. Elevator is near the lobby too, very convenient.

I only had two issues with the hotel. The exhaust fan needs to be a little stronger- my bathroom window fogged up quite strongly. Since I traveled alone, I could leave the door open, but this is a problem. The TV also had very little selection- not all of the locals are carried, and no regional sports network. I was unable to catch the Mariners game on TV that night. Also of oddity is they carry the networks of the major sports except for MLB. Either carry all of them or none- it just doesn't make sense. Since I received a free room via rewards points, it wasn't too big of a deal, but may be if I had to pay.

Breakfast is very good and filling. Did not use pool or exercise room.

If I come back to Seattle in the future, I would consider staying here, depending on what other options are available at that time.

By the way, it was sunny and low 80s both days, and the night was very comfortable. Not even a drop of rain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel during your night stay here in Seattle. We are happy to hear that your overall time with us was enjoyed and that you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. We only have one parking lot and unfortunately it does get pretty full however we provide one parking space per room plus several handicap parking spaces. We apologize that you had trouble with your bathroom fan and that we did have the specific sports channel for you to watch the Mariners game available and will take a look into the channel options and if others can be added and accessible. On a brighter note, it is great that you were able to enjoy some of our warm summer sun while you were here and hope you had safe travels on the rest of your way back up to Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We were here 3 nights & had a great stay! Room was very clean, beds very comfortable, and lots of hot water for showers. Go early for breakfast to get yourself a table. Eggs, turkey sausage, cereal, yogurt & oatmeal are available. The area is a few minutes off the hwy, very quiet and only 15-20 minutes to downtown Seattle. Loved our stay!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your time with our property. Our staff works hard to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for our guests. As you discovered, breakfast does include many different items to choose from and our breakfast staff makes sure to keep everything stocked and available as it does get busy in the mornings. Being about 8miles north of the downtown area and located off of Highway 99 provides for easy access to both downtown and local attractions that aren't specifically in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel appears to be almost new. The rooms are comfortable and everything actually works. This is a rare event in the Pacific Northwest. The desk staff was very helpful, and pretty. Decent breakfast. This is a great alternative to staying downtown in Seattle. They even have parking. Seriously!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from the elevator and ice machines.
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't really care about environmentally-friendly practices but I would like to try vegetarian if there is anyplace that can serve fresh vegetarian meat.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcarnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXhotelStaff, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear hcarnaby,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property and appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Our hotel finished a full renovation in the summer of 2012 and our entire staff from (Front Desk, Breakfast team, Housekeeping and Maintenance) work hard to keep everything clean, up to date and running smoothly. Being 8 miles north of the downtown Seattle area is great for guests who don't want to stay in the busy area of the city but still want a location that can provide easy access to other various attractions in the greater Seattle area. We also provide free parking for our guests. Again, thank you for the kind words and we hope to have you stay with our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 101 in Seattle
740 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 101 in Seattle
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Address: 14115 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing