We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you don't need to be in City Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #69 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grass Valley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place if you don't need to be in City Center”
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I was pleasantly surprised when I got to my room. It was a large room with all the amenities, and very clean. It had both firm and soft pillows (nice size ones), sitting area with couch and table, as well as microwave and coffeemaker. Wi-fi was wireless or Ethernet. Facilities include a nice workout room, indoor pool and jacuzzi. The breakfast buffet was outstanding; it had a full range of hot dishes (bacon, sausage, egg, gravy and biscuits) as well as a good vairety of cereals, rolls, juices. I had a great rate from Priceline, but the distance from downtown was not accurate. The hotel was about 20 north of City Center on 99.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    117
    51
    21
    7
See reviews for
103
80
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We were looking for a hotel in North Seattle for just one night, we didn't have reservations. We stopped by and they were happy to accomodate us and gave us a terrific rate for the night. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The front desk service was very good and there was good parking.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel while visiting Seattle for some shopping and sightseeing. The location is great for driving to Seattle (and zoo), Northgate and Alderwood malls, but not a great location for walking anywhere. But this wasn't a problem for us. All of the hotel employees we encountered we extremely helpful and pleasant. The pool was great for the kids to burn off some energy, and the breakfast had something for all of us. Evening cookies were a treat. The entire hotel, from the rooms to the pool to the breakfast area, seemed very clean and well maintained. The room was particularly nicely cleaned and stocked. My kids loved going next door to the Kidd Valley restaurant for burgers and shakes. As far as road noise, we left the fan on for "white noise" and didn't notice any traffic noise at all.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rocheharborhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2008

It was an okay stay. The staff was great except for the parking lot attendant that would camp out on the computer in the lobby. I would stay on the quiet side of the building as the west side is beside a freeway.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — Next to a busy freeway.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David99731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in October and were mostly pleased with the hotel. The room we chose was a king suite with couch area, mini-fridge and microwave. I liked that they had a bag of microwave popcorn in the room for you. However, they don't have mugs in the room for coffee (only styrofoam cups). I had to heat my water for tea in the coffee maker since I wasn't sure about microwaving the styrofoam.

The bathroom is nice with one of those shower curtains that bows out away from the shower to provide a little more space. The towels were nice and fluffy and there were plenty of them. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. The heater in the room worked wonderfully and was unexpectedly quiet for a hotel unit. We stayed in a non-smoking room on the 2nd floor and didn't have any problems with smoke or noise from other guests.

We ate the hot breakfast at the hotel every morning. There were cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, cinnamon rolls, hard-boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. It wasn't too fancy, but decent for an included breakfast. The breakfast room is fairly large and we didn't have a problem finding a table each morning.

This hotel does include parking, but it is not near most of the sights in Seattle. We chose the hotel for other reasons. This part of town is okay, but not an area I would go walking in around at night. Staying closer to downtown would probably be more expensive, though.

Overall, the hotel offered a good "Holiday Inn Express" experience and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — nice, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — not sure
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler-Kaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Our party of six was looking for a hotel that offered a great overnight stay at a reasonable rate. Our suite accommodated a party of six adults. In the morning we were delighted to have a complimentary hot & cold breakfast. The breakfast area was large, clean and was not overcrowded at any given time. The front desk was helpful in giving us directions to Pike's Market and also arranged shuttle surface to our cruise ship at a reasonable price. The downside and upside to the hotel is its location. Close to downtown and the most popular attractions in Seattle. Aurora Street is a busy, noisy street throughout the day and night. Would I recommend this hotel - absolutely.

  • Liked — Suites
  • Disliked — noisy street
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jcdjcdcVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We went to visit my sister who resides in Seattle and had just gotten remarried. We are from another resort area, Myrtle Beach, and so are very familiar with a little traffic like you might experience with this hotel location so it was not a problem for us.

We LOVED this hotel! The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. It is very clean... even the hallways ALWAYS smelled so fresh and pleasant! The beds were very comfortable, too. There are fresh baked cookies and WONDERFUL coffee in the lobby nightly... we enjoyed these often after a long day in the city! The breakfast room was filled with so much to choose from! Scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, cereal, oatmeal, cinnamon rolls, orange juice, milk... you name it... they probably have it!

The pool is small, but the kids didn't mind! I do wish they would put up some sort of noise absorbing materials to lower the decibels a little... it got extremely loud in this room at times.

The Northgate Mall was very easy to find from this location. A big plus for us shopaholics!

I would like to recommend to this hotel that they find a way to have guests use the parking lot more appropriately... the lot can handle the vehicles for the tenants if there were not so many of them double parked. This caused a problem on our last night there... my sister was going to park and come up to say goodbye, but had to just drop us off instead due to having absolutely nowhere to park her very small Subaru sedan.

  • Liked — The 24/7 Coffee
  • Disliked — Pool Area Noise and Parking Lot
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HairChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 101 in Seattle
740 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 101 in Seattle
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Address: 14115 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing