We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury isn't always friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Seattle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Luxury isn't always friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

At the Grand Hyatt Seattle if you aren't part of the elite, they'll help you feel unwelcome. This was a beautiful hotel, but as soon as I checked in they treated me like low class. They remind you many times that they charge for everything; snacks in your room, drinks, Internet and parking. I was afraid to touch anything for fear of seeing a charge on my bill. There are ice machines on 3 floors only and you have to go quite a ways to get to one. The bathroom was gorgeous, with marble counters and stone floors, glass shower doors and lots of space. The bed was roomy and soft with lots of pillows. I wish they would put a small fridge in the room to keep your own drinks in. No free breakfast here, so you'll need to walk a block or two. The room was quiet but I was surprised how well I could hear the outside traffic even though I was 12 stories up. The doors are very noisy when they slam shut, and I don't understand why they can't do something about that. Every time someone would come and go...SLAM, SLAM. The gym was great, very well maintained and lots of equipment to choose from. There are a lot of stores and restaurants nearby. Traffic is horrible and it was hard to find somewhere to park. They charge $30 per day to park at the hotel or you can pay $20 outside across the street. Overall, it was nice but I don't think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,866
    711
    146
    42
    29
See reviews for
449
953
179
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Location wise it is in the heart of the dining and shopping district of downtown Seattle. The hotel itself is average. Reception was cool and perfunctory. The rooms are on the small side but clean and understated and quiet. We had a wheelchair accessible bathroom and neither of us is disabled. You have to pay for WiFi: expensive and a rip-off. Nice that they have a Starbucks on the premises so you don't have to leave the building to get your fix. I guess some rooms have great views; we looked out over the roof and vents of the Ruths Chris restaurant (yes, whiffs of steak every now and then!) and an adjacent condo high rise (close enough that you could wave to the people living there!). Have stayed at better hotels in the area so I won't stay here again unless I'm desperate.

Room Tip: Opt for a room that does not face East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Nice hotel, room was high-quality suite-type room. seperate living room, bath, and bedroom. bathroom was luxurious and I do not use that word lightly...it was awesome. we had corner room that had windows facing city and right down to the pike market sign and elliot bay beyond. sat there a couple times and just watched the sound ferries going out and back. staff very helpful with room request, so try for whatever room you want. I'd stay there again next time I'm in seattle.

Room Tip: corner room or facing elliot bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acposu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I recently stayed here on a business trip. I got a king sized room (prepaid) which ran me about $220 per night plus tax.

Overall, no real complaints about the hotel. The room was a nice size, with a large bed. The bathroom was huge, with a big tub and stand-up shower. Housekeeping service was excellent. Other nice small amenities in the room (such as an umbrella for the rainy weather).

If you stay here, I'm sure you will have a good stay. There is nothing really distinctive about the lobby, and the restaurant is a standard steak house.

My room did not have a great view - overlooking a rooftop and some apartment buildings. I also ordered room service and the food was not great.

That said, would probably recommend this for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousjayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Traveled to Seattle again for another client. Stayed at the Hyatt with a group of others from my firm.

Arrived at the Hyatt early afternoon from the east coast. Fortunately my room was ready (up on the 21st floor with a view over the Roosevelt hotel's red neon sign next door. Guest room looked like the rooms on their website. King bed was very comfortable. Electronic black screen to block out the outside was a nice touch. Although occasionally you could hear a door slam, the room was very quiet and I had a good night sleep.

Work desk was fine but there were not enough electric plugs. Was given free wired wifi which was fine. Electronic safe and plenty of closet space. Bathroom included a shower and large deep bathtub. Strangely no cups in the bathroom but there was toothpaste.

Location is good. Starbucks in the building with a deli and Japanese restaurant attached. If you wanted to shop, plenty of shopping a few blocks away. The hotel restaurant was a Ruth Chris. Had breakfast and one lunch there. Service and food were fine.

The gym was on the 4th floor. No windows but several machines and free weights. No pool but apparently there is a sauna / whirlpool.

Was left a bill under my door the night before so check out was quick.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hyatt and would recommend it for work or pleasure. Compared to the FS which I stayed at also, this was a nice alternative and less pricey.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

After spending time at a wedding in Eastern Washington, we arrived at the hotel and was greeted at the valet station and welcomed to a magnificent lobby and reception area. Everyone was professional creating a great start to our two day stay. I asked for a great view of the city and Lily at the front desk obliged us with suite 2118. It faced due west looking out to Pugent sound with the Roosevelt hotel sign in the foreground and beautiful sunsets (not always available). The room was the right size as the bathroom had a soaking tub and marbled shower - big enough for four adults. It was a welcomed experience. The hotel is located 8 blocks from waterfront and fish market. If you walk down Pine street you pass the retail stores, the monorail - which takes you to the Space Needle and Science Center, restaurants, pubs and lots of people watching. Everything felt easy and smooth, allowing us to experience the city the way we like - at our own pace. The valet car service was pricey at $34 a day. You had unlimited in/out access and we needed a car to visit friends in another part of the city. There is a sushi restaurant, a Ruth Chris Steak house and a Starbucks on the lobby floor...which was perfect to grab a quick latte before heading out in the morning. Check out was smooth, the front desk and staff always greeted you professionally and always available for questions. We would stay here again and I highly recommend the hotel for those who like high end hotel experience and quality sleep on the pillow top beds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancoraimparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed three nights in an Executive Suite with my husband and 21 month old son. It was a perfect haven for our family. Large suite with huge master bath with double shower heads, large tub, separate toilet, ample counter space. Robes and a real bathroom rug. I appreciated the small vanity area in the walk-in closet. Automatic shades kept out the sun and room was very quiet. 1/2 bath upon entering room was a bonus, as was the sink in the bar area. Crib was set up and came with sheets, a blanket and a Johnson & Johnson baby toiletry travel set...a nice surprise! The location was perfect. Very easy to navigate the downtown from this location. Having a Starbucks, a sushi restaurant, a deli and Ruth's Chris Steak House all in the hotel, made this hotel perfect for us. All the stores you could want were within blocks from the hotel. Easy walk to Pike Place Market. Wasn't a bad walk to the Seattle Center, although we took a detour to the Whole Foods and then took the monorail back downtown after spending time at the Seattle Center. No free wi-fi and parking was expensive, but those charges are on par for most large hotels in big cities, so it wasn't a surprise. We will definitely return here if our travels bring us back to Seattle!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingRN1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#8 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Property: Grand Hyatt Seattle
Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing