We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, but view was not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, but view was not good”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here beginning of this year for a night. Room and bathrooom was spectacular. Even though the standard room was a bit crampy, it was exceptionally clean. Bed was very comfortable and fits a 4 star hotel. They have a pretty decent bar in the hotel itself.
Only thing I did not like with the stay was the view from the room was not good. We could only see the roof and chimney of the next building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy_sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,068
    774
    165
    44
    35
See reviews for
508
1,067
195
993
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the hotel July 7 - July 11th. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel is Ruth Chris Steakhouse. Fantastic! And there is a Starbucks in the building. We had a standard room with a great view. The room was clean and the bed was heavenly.
GREAT fitness center there too. Probably the best I've ever seen in a hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed an extra day in Seattle after an Alaska cruise and chose this hotel for proximity to everything. The service at the hotel was fantastic, our room was immaculate and had a very welcome deep tub for a soak. Loved it. The Ruth Chris restaurant in the lobby served breakfast and it was delicious with perfect service. There are also a Starbucks in the lobby, a deli and a great sushi restaurant. We were walking distance to Pikes Market, Nordstrom, and the metro for the Space needle. I would definitely stay here again when in Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is the hotel to stay even if you want to just get away for a weekend!! Great views, service, and accomodations. I love the corner rooms! The beds are so comfy and if you get a chance add the Grand Club Access!!! My next treat to myself is to get a suite! Stay tune! I've stayed here over 8 times!!! Thank You Grand Hyatt Seattle!!

Room Tip: Online reservation then you can add the upgrades!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzierose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband was in Seattle for a meeting, I got to go for fun and shopping. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Walking distance to major shopping and Pike Place Market. Also close to the monorail to Seattle Center. The bathrooms are huge - with a separate soaking tub and glass shower. The rooms are a nice size and have blackout screens. Check-in was fast and the people are very friendly and helpful. We will be back on our next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpatton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

grand hyatt is grand, good location, spotless, and has friendly efficient staff. We must say thank you to rowda at check in desk she sent up a bottle of wine & chocolates to us as it was a combined 50th birthday & 31st wedding anniversary. We were very suprised and grateful. The luggage porter Mike was also very friendly he gave us plenty of information and tips on the best tours eateries ect. Conceirge was efficient and friendly helped with our requests. We had a nice room on the 21st floor with a view of the lake and city we had no trouble sleeping in Seattle if we ever come here again we would definately stay at this hotel. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American living in The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were disappointed with our stay at this Hyatt. It is in a nice location in downtown Seattle. I also have to say that I was impressed with the room. We did have a nice corner room with a view of the Space Needle. However, the furnishings in the room are outdated and need to be replaced.

My other complaint is that the hotel is in need of a bar. Maybe in the lobby? There is a Ruth's Chris with a passable bar that offers happy hour food and drinks. However, I would have expected a roof top bar or at least an upscale lobby bar for a hotel of this "quality".

Finally, what really did it for me was housekeeping ringing the bell just before 9:00 a.m. I cannot imagine what they wanted but they did go away when they discovered the deadbolt. Keep in mind that we were only there for one night and had not checked out. Unfortunately, after waking us up, she came back about twenty minutes later to see how long we would be. Friendly, but still....

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,418 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Property: Grand Hyatt Seattle
Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing