We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for business...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for business...”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was my first visit to Seattle and I was pleasantly surprised at just how good this Hyatt was. Arrived late (around 9.45pm), check in was a breeze, was upgraded to a suite at no charge and nothing was too much trouble. Interacted with the staff several times for directions, to borrow an umbrella :-) and to even ask where I could get a haircut. Perfect responses every time. It was also good having Ruths Chris Steakhouse as a part of the hotel as well as a great deli and Japanese restaurant. Great location.

Loved the size of the bedroom, the lounge area was comfortable and the bathroom was enormous. Wifi worked brilliantly and it didnt matter how many devices I connected.

This is one Hyatt who treat Diamonds exceptionally well and I am going to make a point of going back to Seattle and staying there longer next time. The Exec lounge is also good - but I'm still getting used to the charging for the alcohol, as in Asia, drinks are complimentary

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eightblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    754
    163
    43
    33
See reviews for
494
1,042
191
978
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed at this property in early December using a great prepaid weekend rate. My room on the 18th floor had a fantastic view down Pine St. with the Roosevelt Hotel sign, Macy's, and a glimpse of Pike's Market. Even though it was primarily rainy during my stay, the clear morning skies provided a great view. Pike's Market is only a short 5-9 minute walk away from the hotel. Pacific Place, Nordstrom, Macy's, Westlake Center (where the Seattle Monorail station is located) are just with 2-4 blocks away.

Some reviewers have correctly pointed out that self-parking is quite expensive at $30/night, but this is downtown Seattle after all. There is also a convenient and economically Downtown Airporter Shuttle bus/van ($19 one way or $33 round trip) that stops in front of the hotel, so there is no need for a rental car. The SkyNeedle can be reached via the Monorail that is only 2 blocks away. The only major attraction that you can not reach from the Grand Hyatt without a rental car is the Boeing Flight Museum.

The rooms were well appointed and the motorized "blackout" window curtains were a nice, convenient touch. The decor is very modern and calming. This was among the best US Grand Hyatt properties that I have stayed at. Although this is not the largest Grand Hyatt property in the world, the same world-class standards apply. Special thanks to Sonja Stropas (assistant front office manager) and Laura Adamson (Executive Housekeeper) for their attention to detail in promptly fixing a problem that I had during my stay in Seattle. I appreciate their professionalism, follow-through, and commitment to making things right.

I definitely recommend staying at the Grand Hyatt Seattle.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much here at the Grand Hyatt Seattle. We love that we are so close to all the downtown attractions like Pike's Place Market, Nordstrom, and the Monorail. We're glad that you were able to access and explore so much of the city easily from our property. We'll make sure Laura and Sonja get the compliments and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Seattle!

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Overall nice hotel. We stayed in a corner suite on the 22nd floor and had a great view of the water and Pike's Market. Room had lots of amenities but you shouldn't have to pay for wi-fi at these prices. That was a real turn off for my wife and I. Also, we had to call the front desk to have them turn on the pay per view so we could watch a movie. That was also a big turn off. Felt like we were staying at a cheap motel six and not a $300 a night hotel at that point regardless of how the room looked. The rooms also need some serious touch ups. There were so many black marks on the walls that I lost track. On the plus side, the hotel room service was extremely prompt and friendly. Also, the hotel is in a great location to everything you would want to see or do downtown. Overall, not a bad hotel, but not set up for families since it is mainly geared towards business guests. It just needs some attention by management to fix some things that are definitely starting to slip.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tekeforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 28th floor with a view of the Space Needle. We had chosen this hotel for its convenient location to the Monorail and local attractions. Fantastic bathrooms, clean rooms and a great night's sleep. This hotel definitely caters to the business traveler...there is virtually nothing for kids to do. No pool and even the TV channels are mainly sports and news. Maybe hardly any kids stay there. Info on family friendly restaurants (ie those that serve chicken fingers or fish and chips) would be appreciated. It would also be nice to see one of the many, many meeting rooms turned into a kid activity room, ie foosball, big screen movies, crafts, whatever. That might attact more families. Oh yes, NO free WiFi. When you are paying a rather hefty price for the room, that should be included!!! The lobby is attractive and spacious....but there was no one there and felt very empty. I found the staff to be quite friendly and helpful.

I would recommend staying here, but not if traveling with children.

Room Tip: High floor have a view and probably less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddie4bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in a club room on the 25th floor. Very spacious room, but starting to show its age. The excellent service of the staff in the club lounge does however not make up for the impersonal non-existing service of front desk staff. They don't really care about guests. The most impersonal and unfriendly hotel lobby I have ever seen. It lacks some warmth and personality. Can't believe there are still no free WiFi. Avoid the room service, the quality is substandard. Also take not that the hotel does not have its own breakfast and dining facility. This is contracted out to Ruth Chris Steakhouse. The food here is good but ridiculously over priced. Maybe Hyatt staff should get service tips from the Starbucks next to the lobby. Super friendly staff and free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review; your comfort and happiness is our number one priority here at the Grand Hyatt Seattle. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay was anything less than perfect. We want to provide a welcoming and warm environment for all of our guests and we aim to exceed your expectations in all areas, specifically showing you that we care. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as we always appreciate any feedback that will help us grow and improve. We hope this will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Hotels and Resorts in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt twice so far and will definitely return. Well kept property, conveniently located with very reasonable rates. Stayed September 2012 with a friend for one night prior to a girl's weekend trip to Victoria. We had a Respire hypoallergenic room with two queen beds on an upper floor. The view was over a covered walkway to the convention center and looked into nearby high rise buildings. Not great but after dark with the city lights it was still pleasant. Room was quiet and clean with comfortable beds - bathroom was attractive and roomy with huge tub and separate enclosed shower. Second stay in November 2012 was for my husband's birthday weekend in Seattle. Booked similar Respire room but with a king bed. At check-in we asked for an upper floor with best available view for the room type. We were told that the Respire rooms were all located on an upper floor (good) but none have a great view. The very helpful young man at the desk suggested a change to a room with a water view for a modest up charge. Also hearing that it was my husband's birthday he offered complimentary fruit bowl, chocolates and sparkling cider. Due to allergies, we decided to stay with the Respire room but after checking out the view we changed our mind. A call down to the front desk and they quickly had us switched to a water view room then a few minutes later a friendly employee arrived with the new room keys and helped us move our luggage. The complementaries arrived shortly thereafter (loved the Frans chocolates). Although the new room had the same layout and was still clean and comfortable the furnishing looked a bit worn, however the water view with the passing ferries was definitely worth the upgrade and the bathroom was still great! Having a Starbucks in the lobby was a convenient way to satisfy my latte addiction. Really appreciated the friendly, helpful service provided by all of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAASCHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and were very pleased. Spacious room, floor to ceiling windows with views of the city, the Olympic mtns, and Puget Sound - attractive room darkening window covering electronically controlled.....large marble bathroom with a separate spacious walk in glass shower, a deep comfortable bathtub and wonderful ginger blossom scented soaps and shampoo. Staff is attentive and cordial. Location is superb - close to the monorail. Comfy bed and especially nice pillows.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to avoid street noise and get a good view - low floors will look out at adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXPrincess49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hyatt At Olive 8
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,381 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Property: Grand Hyatt Seattle
Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing