We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst service ever.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

So, my friend is getting married so me and the guys book 3 rooms months in advance at this hotel. We arrive just before 4 pm which is the checkin time. I take my luggage and give the key to the valet to park for the night.

When checking in only 1 of our 3 rooms were ready. So we piled into that one room while waiting for the other 2 rooms to be ready. We were a little pressed for time as we still needed to get some food and beverages before hitting the Mariners game. The other 2 rooms were ready by just before 5 pm.

The rooms were very beautiful and the bathrooms were as large as the bedroom area was so that was nice.

We go out drinking and enjoy our evening of giving our friend a good fairwell to being single.

I get back to the room around 1am to find a voice mail on the machine saying theyare having a hardtime "securing" my vehicle and to please come to the front desk. So I put some clothing back on and stumble down to the front desk where the car lot guy meets to take me to the car.

At the car he shows me that the car won't lock. I open the door to find non of the interior light to be working. I look around and see that when the valet parked the car he left the headlights on and drained the battery completely on my 2012 vw. The guard says he will get this looked after and it will be running by the time I leave.

So I go back up to finally passout. Come checking out time they deliver me my car running... upon receiving my car, I get in and notice there is a light flashing on the desk and my car says there is a problem with my steering column. I read the manual that says it should turn off after a few miles of driving as it comes on after a dead battery.

I tell the manager of the hotel about it as I'm driving home and he says they will have to do a claim for it to be fixed.

It's been 2 weeks and I just got my car back today after the shop needed to order a part in. The mechanic told me whoever jumped my car did something wrong and fried my steering column modulator. I now have to front a $1000 bill while the hotel figures their stuff out.

This was not a cheap hotel as it was over 350 a night per room. I would expect a motel to provide this level of service but not a 5* hotel. The only compensation I have received was my valet fee being covered and that's all. The staff did seam to care to much about the situation. This was a very disappointing experience which really makes me question ever staying at any of the other Hyatt hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. We always want to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome and aim to exceed your expectations. One of our Rooms Department managers should have or will be in touch with you, but please feel free to reach out to us by calling the hotel directly at 206-774-1234. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we always appreciate any feedback that will help us grow and improve. We hope this will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Hotels and Resorts in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,947
    733
    154
    42
    31
See reviews for
462
992
184
963
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent hotel. The staff and rooms are top notch. Our view of the Space Needle was obstructed, but we didn't ask to have a view either so no problem. Great location. Close to Pike Place and the Space Needle, as well as the Westlake station commuter rail stop to the Airport. We did notice a lot of undesirable people along Pine Street in route to Pike Place, but it seemed to be confined to just that one street. Our walk to the Space Needle was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Space Needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Heide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. It's wonderful that you got to explore so many of the great things our city has to offer. We love that we are within walking distance of Pike Place Market, the Space Needle, and the Link Lightrail station. We hope to have you back with us during your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Its Hyatt . Great room . Very fast customer service.Very big advantage its location.Walk on distance to most down town attraction and Market where its possible to buy fresh fish / its not cheap but Alaska same day catch. 7 min taxi drive to CRUISE PORT. I will stronglly recommend this hotel before Alaska cruise. This hotel its about 25 min drive from airport. /no trrafic/

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrugalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I spent two nights at the Grand Hyatt. The location is good, in walking distance of everything downtown. It was also very handy for the Light Link from Sea-Tac. The soundproofing of the rooms isn't great, but this wasn't a big issue for me (but may be for some).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

All great apart from the lobby which is pretty dated. I had two corner rooms with views of the Space Needle. Fantastic location for shopping. In room Facilities just wonderful. Bathroom/shower perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGIOS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino,Ca.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great experience. hotel was nice and clean, inside and out. Good location in downtown. Close to pike market. Lots of police present downtown. I guess because on my walk to open market,i passed up a lot of undesirable people alone the way. My overall experience in Seattle was nice.I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room I had on south side had a of another tall building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samszcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love that our central downtown location allows our guests easy access to great shopping, entertainment, and food. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,
Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel service was excellent, however apparently paying with points gets you a room with a concrete view. Having been our first time in Seattle this was a bit disappointing.

I used my accumulated credit cards points to pay for the room. This got us nothing but a corner room on the 10th floor with a view of concrete outside. If not for that we may have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When you know better you do better! Next time I would definitely just pay for the room or use additional points.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Property: Grand Hyatt Seattle
Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing