We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Grand Hyatt Seattle is located one block from Convention Center and easy walking to the market and great restaurants. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The room is nice, clean well appointed with free Wi-Fi loved the automated blackout shade. The Ruth's Chris in the lobby has two happy hours with great appetizers. All in all a nice hotel. The only complaint is the minute you step out the panhandlers hit you up and very aggressive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hcriswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,132)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Seattle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,857 - 1,863 of 3,132 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt in Seattle with family and friends, with grand hopes after the dads had completed a marathon earlier that day in Portland. We were positive and upbeat on arrival and our mood was crushed very quickly by a mediocre check-in and rude, unhelpful concierges. Having arrived at around 6.30pm our priority was dinner. There were two women behind the desk, a bonus I assumed on the usual one. It was however quite the opposite. Our simple, standard request of 'what can we do for dinner?' was greeted with shrugs and unhelpfulness. A concierge is supposed to be professional in their approach and research their locale in anticipation of questions. Our question was not out of the ordinary but stumped them, it being the 4th July and us being a group of 11. We ended up suggesting an option ourselves and repeatedly had to request that they give them a call to see if we could get a booking. My friend had to leave the desk as she was so flabbergasted by the concierge's attitude, her upbeat mood had turned to anger. We were not alone as other couples' questions were the same.

After over 30min and no progress and a quick consult of the room service menu we opted for the bar at the Steak Restaurant at the hotel. One of our party was vegetarian and another vegan but they are easygoing and the maître d' assured us they they could be taken care of.

I felt terrible then that the best the restaurant could come up with was some steamed broccoli, spinach and baked potato, all side dishes. Some of our best meals on the holiday had been when a chef was given licence to create, a sign of a good cook, but there was a definite lack of this that night.

We had two tables near the bar, one for kids and one for adults. This was a standard arrangement that had worked perfectly for us over the holiday. All the children had ordered off the kids menu but one had thought that a $52 steak plus sides was the way to go. He did not realise what he was doing and a smart waitress should have double checked with us that his order was okay.

We left the hotel with a sour taste in our mouth and no fond memories. Very poor all round. X

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ThomasandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. Rest assured, these comments will be discussed with the appropriate managers at Ruth's Chris and Guest Services. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as we always appreciate feedback that will help us grow and improve. We hope this will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Hotels and Resorts in the future and we would welcome the opportunity to have you with us again.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wow, what a hotel! Beautiful rooms, great bathrooms and all the amenities you could ask for. Also, it is located in the heart of downtown and is located by all of the great shops and restaurants. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I must say that my guest experience at the Grand Hyatt Seattle was one of the best! This was my second visit to Seattle, but certainly not my last. I was there from July 18th - 22nd. I have to admit that I was a guest in my sisters penthouse. suit which took up the space of 4 rooms, at least on the 30th floor. However I spoke with guest whose rooms were on other floors and their rooms were nice as well. I'm not sure how new this property is but it's very modern and has a hip theme and ambiance. The desk staff, wait staff, housekeeping, in room dining and Execuitve Club staff were all perfessional and helpful. Not only would I recommend this hotel but I will stay there on my returned visit.

Room Tip: Request a room on a top floor to capture an awesome view of downtown Seattle. Rooms 27 and higher h...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We're so glad that you had such a great stay with us. That's so wonderful that you were able to stay in one of our suites, we love when we can delight our guests. Our main goal is always to deliver authentic hospitality and make our guests feel welcome and it's great that this was your experience. We look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here before our cruise to tour Seattle. We loved the location. Across the street from a mall. Starbucks located in the hotel made great breakfast sandwiches. Staff was always very courteous and pleasant. We booked the corner suite, on a high floor. Our room was clean and had great views. Very quite too.
One of the things I always seem to encounter when traveling is bad mattresses, no matter how expensive the room is. But not here, the mattresses was Awesome. No back aches the next day.
We also liked the fact the hotel is located on a fairly level street, post cruise stayed at the Fairmont which was on a hill, so you appreciate level streets after that.
They also offered personal items Incase you forgot something, like toothpaste and other items.
Also after staying at the Fairmont we liked the location of the Hyatt better.
The Roosevelt hotel is directly across the street and the Sheraton in right around the corner, about 3 minute walk. If someone wanted to compare prices.
In closing if you visit Seattle, The Hyatt is a exceptional hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Drishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your note! We're so glad that you were able to visit us before you left for your cruise; hope you had a wonderful time sailing the seas! Our goal is to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. That's great to hear that you were able to rest and sleep with ease on our lovely Grand Hyatt beds. We would welcome the opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you back to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a perfect location to walk to like place and most of downtown. Service was at the level you expect from Hyatt. Rooms were super clean and beds were very comfortable. Our view was horrible but we paid with points so I assume that's why... Other than our room view I must say this was a great hotel and I would definitely stay again without question.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived early with the intention of just leaving our luggage and exploring the city until the room was ready. No need. We were checked in right away and were very happy with our lovely room. Views were great, room was extremely clean and neat. Bathroom was quite large, with comfy soaking tub and large marble shower. Coffeemaker had Starbucks coffee. Staff was attentive and friendly. Location couldn't be beat for seeing the local attractions. Overall feeling of being in a well taken care of cocoon. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dilan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your comments! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always love when we are able to accommodate our guests special requests, like early check in, and that's wonderful that we had the availability to do so for you. It's great that our central downtown location allowed you to easily explore Seattle. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 102 in Seattle
2,456 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £152 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing