We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel Convenient to Downtown and Lake Union” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
314 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel Convenient to Downtown and Lake Union”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed here for one night before our cruise. The hotel was overall very convenient. We had a 2 bedroom suite which had lots of room and full kitchen. We had a single bedroom suite but we were upgraded to a two bedroom corner unit facing Seattle Center. The only nit with the room was that some of the furniture in the living area was getting a little tired. They had a nice breakfast buffet with a good overall selection of food. We had a rental car for the day and park in their garage which costs about $21 a night. You can save money by parking on the side street around the property. Since we were going on a cruise we wanted to return the rental car. We returned the car at the Avis lot, than after some site seeing used the street car to return to the hotel which the last stop is within a couple hundred feet of hotel. The hotel does not have shuttle service to the cruise dock but they use a local car service. They receptionist took care of the car arrangement for us. The car service cost $20 for a Lincoln Towncar from hotel to Pier 91. We were worried that the towncar would not fit all our bags but we fit 4 people in the car with 1 large and 2 medium suitcases plus 2 carryon bags in the trunk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    314
    74
    38
    18
See reviews for
356
150
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed 1 night here before our cruise to Alaska. That night our rooms were not great, back of the hotel facing another building, noisy.

On our return we were upgraded to a suite ( the layout of which in my opinion was odd and not efficient in its use of space), facing the Lake.

Breakfast: was a bit messy, but had an abundant of food on hand. Hours of operation was a bit limited as it ended at 9AM, a bit early for vacationers. Otherwise service was good.
Laundry: was servicable with sufficient machines.
Housekeeping: was okay. we were able to communicate with most of the housekeeping staff due to language barriers.
Front Desk: was efficient and friendly.
Location: while outside "seattle", transportation was available and quick.

Would go again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mewosery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We are a family of 5 travelling from Australia. We have 3 children 15, 13 and 11 year old. We booked and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. One room had a king bed that was very comfortable and the 2nd bedroom had 2 double beds. There was a sitting room with a couch that had a double bed in it. The room also had a kitchen with a small table. This area was not very big but we were not bothered by this as we were out all day. The hotel has a complimentary buffet breakfast that was great a good variety. It also had an inside heated pool but we didn't get the chance to use it. The hotel also had a laundry which was good, as it saved us from trying to find a laundry mat. Our room was not facing the lake and we didn't have any views but it was quiet which is what really mattered to us. We also had a hire car which we had to pay for parking. We walked from this hotel to the Seattle Space Needle and then caught the Monorail downtown. There was also a tram/bus outside the hotel that took you downtown. Overall we liked this hotel and thought everything was quite accessible from here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Great location, right on the Street car line in Seattle and within walking distance to the Needle. Room not ready when we arrived at 3:45 PM and we were told would not be available until after 4:30 PM. Normally, not a problem but we had been traveling since 5AM (3AM PDT) and were weary. Check in is at 4PM. Arrived back at 5:30 and the room was ready. The room itself was excellent, breakfast buffet great, great lobby, quiet rooms. great view of the space needle/ streetcar line. Only other ding on this hotel is its parking. . The parking garage is extraordinarily tight. really difficult to park in. If I am paying to park, I expect a large enough space to allow me to easily manuver into the spot. I should not have to go through multiple turns and gyrations to get into a spot. Quite frankly they would be better off with Valet parking at this hotel due to the tight quarters that have to be manuvered.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffbunten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed for one week, with four children and two adults, in a harbor facing suite with two bedrooms and kitchen. The front desk service was great- I had packages sent to the hotel and they were prompt about calling to pick them up or dropping them by the room. I also used the hotel safe; desk service was good. The suite was awesome. Beds were very comfortable; well stocked with towels; the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, plates, glasses and cooking pans. We cooked lunch and dinner there each night. Breakfast was great; buffet with many options- eggs, cereal, toast, waffles, sausage. Very good. The eating area is large and so we didn't have trouble finding a table for all of us. We used the laundry three times; the washers were good; the dryers sometimes took two cycles (all were $1 each go). We used the pool (indoor) and hot tub everyday; in good condition; a good size. We enjoyed it. There is a park in front of the hotel and the harbor has a nice walkway so we spent about an hour taking a walk around just close to the hotel. We rented a car for the week and parked on the street next to the hotel the entire stay. Hotel parking is $20/day and is a needless expense. You have to pay for parking on the street but it is very low and you can park for up to 10/hrs at a time. You have to pay for parking from 8AM to 6PM and is free all other times. It rocked. Overall this is one of my most happy stays at a hotel. I have been around the world in all sorts of 5 star places- and this place hit the sweet spot for me. In fact, my husband was booked in at the Silver Cloud Inn- Lake Union down the street, and he left his hotel one night early to hang out with us instead!

Room Tip: Get a harbor facing room; views are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_frm_AsiaPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We first stayed at this hotel in the late 1990s and made reservations again because we remembered it to be a wonderful place in a good location. Well, either my standards have gone way up over time (which is very possible), my memory is more generous than this location deserves (definitely likely), or the place has just seen better days. There was nothing particularly "bad" about our stay, just nothing that knocked our socks off or convinced us that we should come back anytime soon. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with king sized beds and a fold out couch in the living room, so there was plenty of space for our group of four adults. Breakfast was good with an adequate selection of fruit, cereal, muffins, pastries, eggs, and sausage, but whoever's in charge of food service has committed a cardinal sin for any hotel in Seattle: the coffee was intolerably weak four days running, even the brew that was billed as the "dark blend."

I must confess that, perhaps, my review is biased by the fact that there were SO MANY guests at the hotel with dogs in tow. I love dogs and have three back home, but it is a pet peeve of mine (no pun intended) when folks insist upon traveling with them and staying in hotels. Thank goodness, I suppose, that there are good hotels who accommodate travelers with dogs, but if this is a problem for you this is definitely not your place.

I also agree with a previous review regarding this hotel's high ranking among Seattle hotels. It is quite definitely NOT the 14th best hotel in Seattle.

This Residence Inn's location can't be beat, with easy access to the Seattle Center, the Pike Place Market, the University District, or pretty much anything one might wish to do in the area. For the price, though, one can stay in a much more luxurious hotel with some character.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fumador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a Credit Union reward room for the first night of our stay, and upon our arrival that there was only one room available in spite of the hotel not appearing full. We were told by the front desk that many people did not like this room, and that we could change the next day, but they did not make it clear why. This was room 230. If you are offered this room, please request another.

When we got to the room, we saw that it was facing an exterior sidewalk at almost street level, had not been completely cleaned, and worst, the mattress of the bed was very uneven, and overly soft. Either both sleepers rolled into each other on the center, or felt like they were going to tilt off the edge of the bed.

We were very tired the first night of our 5 night stay, so put up with it, but the next night, my wife relocated to the sofabed, and I had to resort to sleeping crossways across the bed. The next day we asked to switch rooms, and were told somewhat impolitely by the front desk that "all the beds were the same age". Clearly in this case age wasn't the problem, or the hotel would have been empty. When we got another room, the bed while soft, did not have the problems of the bed in room 230.

At the buffet, we found that many items, especially COFFEE and even PLATES were not replenished. This may have been the result of under-staffing of the buffet area.

In summary we felt that the hotel 1) was understaffed, 2) expensive for the quality received, and 3) we were given a sub-standard room for one night because we were not paying out of pocket.

In this case, the property compared poorly in all respects to a Holiday Inn Express, for example. We have also stayed at the Silver Cloud and the University Inn on previous trips to Seattle and would rate them better as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alrumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing