We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service, adequate food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 23 July 2011

So, as many hotels, there were good and bad things with this hotel. I was in Seattle to visit friends that were in the Navy and to do a little business. While the Residence Inn was a little higher in price than I would like for it to have been, I thought it would be a nice trade-off since there is free breakfast,a few free dinner receptions, a full kitchen, a laundry room, and free Internet. So, I would stay here again, but have lower expectations as to food quality. So, the positives: (1) Good location- it is about an mile walk to the City center with the Space Needle and museums. Two to three minute walk to the trolley which will take you downtown for $2.50 and then walking distance easily down Pine to Pike Place Market. (2) The kitchen cuts down on costs- can bring leftivers back or pick up groceries. There is a Whole Foods on the trolley stop back to the hotel (Denny). (3) The wired Internet was quite speedy which helped for work (I brought an Etnernet cable but there was one hanging in the closet), (4) Good sized laundry room and you can get change at the front desk,and (5) Excellent service by the front desk employees. The two negatives: (1) The food was adequate. I was not expecting high quality, but this was by far the worst food I have had at a Residence Inn. If they have to cook it, it is not very good. Stay with muffins, toast or bagel, etc. The OJ was like orange colored water. and (2) The lake view I paid extra for was not much of a lake view- think partially obstructed view. Overall, I would stay here again, but would know that I would need to bring in more stuff to eat. The staff was extremely helpful and quick for the business services I used at the hotel.

Room Tip: My lake view was not much of a view, so be careful if you really want a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTexan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is a really nice hotel. Is it the 19th best hotel in Seattle? I’m not sure as this was our first visit to Seattle.

We had two rooms, one was booked through Marriott rewards points, and one was secured at an AARP rate. Our reward’s room was arranged in a typical Residence Inn layout (i.e. one bedroom with King Bed, and one living room with sofa bed. There was the usual kitchen area with a small eating table. The room was spotless, and the bed very comfortable. The second room had a lovely lake view and was one of the nicest rooms we have seen in any hotel. One huge room with beautiful furnishings, king bed, wood floors, love seat and chairs, with an open kitchen, and balcony. Truly a 1st class experience.

Every staff member were very helpful, and the breakfast was a step up from the usual full Residence Inn breakfasts. Food was refreshed often, and nothing ran out, be it drinks, pastries, hot items, coffee or juices. Breakfast can be eating on a number of tables located in the open atrium, or in a more private area with free newspapers available.

The hotel is located across the street from a number of good restaurants. We would recommend Duke’s Chowder House. Tip: Order off the daily specials menu for lunch and enjoy some “just caught seafood”. On our visit it was Halibut fish and chips.

All in all we highly recommend this hotel, it is a 15 minute walk to the space needle, but a taxi is probably the easiest way to reach the Pike Place Market.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Plantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed here for one night before our cruise. The hotel was overall very convenient. We had a 2 bedroom suite which had lots of room and full kitchen. We had a single bedroom suite but we were upgraded to a two bedroom corner unit facing Seattle Center. The only nit with the room was that some of the furniture in the living area was getting a little tired. They had a nice breakfast buffet with a good overall selection of food. We had a rental car for the day and park in their garage which costs about $21 a night. You can save money by parking on the side street around the property. Since we were going on a cruise we wanted to return the rental car. We returned the car at the Avis lot, than after some site seeing used the street car to return to the hotel which the last stop is within a couple hundred feet of hotel. The hotel does not have shuttle service to the cruise dock but they use a local car service. They receptionist took care of the car arrangement for us. The car service cost $20 for a Lincoln Towncar from hotel to Pier 91. We were worried that the towncar would not fit all our bags but we fit 4 people in the car with 1 large and 2 medium suitcases plus 2 carryon bags in the trunk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed 1 night here before our cruise to Alaska. That night our rooms were not great, back of the hotel facing another building, noisy.

On our return we were upgraded to a suite ( the layout of which in my opinion was odd and not efficient in its use of space), facing the Lake.

Breakfast: was a bit messy, but had an abundant of food on hand. Hours of operation was a bit limited as it ended at 9AM, a bit early for vacationers. Otherwise service was good.
Laundry: was servicable with sufficient machines.
Housekeeping: was okay. we were able to communicate with most of the housekeeping staff due to language barriers.
Front Desk: was efficient and friendly.
Location: while outside "seattle", transportation was available and quick.

Would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mewosery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We are a family of 5 travelling from Australia. We have 3 children 15, 13 and 11 year old. We booked and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. One room had a king bed that was very comfortable and the 2nd bedroom had 2 double beds. There was a sitting room with a couch that had a double bed in it. The room also had a kitchen with a small table. This area was not very big but we were not bothered by this as we were out all day. The hotel has a complimentary buffet breakfast that was great a good variety. It also had an inside heated pool but we didn't get the chance to use it. The hotel also had a laundry which was good, as it saved us from trying to find a laundry mat. Our room was not facing the lake and we didn't have any views but it was quiet which is what really mattered to us. We also had a hire car which we had to pay for parking. We walked from this hotel to the Seattle Space Needle and then caught the Monorail downtown. There was also a tram/bus outside the hotel that took you downtown. Overall we liked this hotel and thought everything was quite accessible from here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Great location, right on the Street car line in Seattle and within walking distance to the Needle. Room not ready when we arrived at 3:45 PM and we were told would not be available until after 4:30 PM. Normally, not a problem but we had been traveling since 5AM (3AM PDT) and were weary. Check in is at 4PM. Arrived back at 5:30 and the room was ready. The room itself was excellent, breakfast buffet great, great lobby, quiet rooms. great view of the space needle/ streetcar line. Only other ding on this hotel is its parking. . The parking garage is extraordinarily tight. really difficult to park in. If I am paying to park, I expect a large enough space to allow me to easily manuver into the spot. I should not have to go through multiple turns and gyrations to get into a spot. Quite frankly they would be better off with Valet parking at this hotel due to the tight quarters that have to be manuvered.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffbunten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed for one week, with four children and two adults, in a harbor facing suite with two bedrooms and kitchen. The front desk service was great- I had packages sent to the hotel and they were prompt about calling to pick them up or dropping them by the room. I also used the hotel safe; desk service was good. The suite was awesome. Beds were very comfortable; well stocked with towels; the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, plates, glasses and cooking pans. We cooked lunch and dinner there each night. Breakfast was great; buffet with many options- eggs, cereal, toast, waffles, sausage. Very good. The eating area is large and so we didn't have trouble finding a table for all of us. We used the laundry three times; the washers were good; the dryers sometimes took two cycles (all were $1 each go). We used the pool (indoor) and hot tub everyday; in good condition; a good size. We enjoyed it. There is a park in front of the hotel and the harbor has a nice walkway so we spent about an hour taking a walk around just close to the hotel. We rented a car for the week and parked on the street next to the hotel the entire stay. Hotel parking is $20/day and is a needless expense. You have to pay for parking on the street but it is very low and you can park for up to 10/hrs at a time. You have to pay for parking from 8AM to 6PM and is free all other times. It rocked. Overall this is one of my most happy stays at a hotel. I have been around the world in all sorts of 5 star places- and this place hit the sweet spot for me. In fact, my husband was booked in at the Silver Cloud Inn- Lake Union down the street, and he left his hotel one night early to hang out with us instead!

Room Tip: Get a harbor facing room; views are good
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_frm_AsiaPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £136 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing