We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency on Lake Union (with a catch)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #58 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 27 March 2012

WIth the expectation that a chain suite hotel gets it right through repetition, then Residence Inn Seattle Downtown doesn't dissapoint. (and in fact my pre-teen son ebulliently gave it "the best hotel" we've ever stayed-in award). With the standard elements of predictable architecture, decor and inclusive breakfast done quite well, the enhancements are a marvelous view of Lake Union (a much appreciated upgrade) and great location for exploring all that funky Seattle has to offer. The benefits are that the room rates are competitive and certainly better than the overpriced and bloated full amenity hotels up the street. The frontdesk staff are helpful and efficient if not over-friendly.
Downsides are that the underground parking is a complete rip-off. There is only very limited overnight street parking and a near construction zone limits this further. So the $28 per night incl tax charge was both exhorbitant and entirely unjustifiable. (And to add insult we had the tire caps stolen off our car in the garage overnight.) The "fitness center" equipment is a little tired and worn but sufficient. The bathroom plumbing also had some problems with a slow-draining bath-tub. Overall it's likely we would consider this property for a future stay but without a hire car next time.

Room Tip: Worth requesting the Lake-view upgrade although it's a little noisy from the tram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We always enjoying staying here even though our Seattle trips are not for enjoyment but medical. Staff is attentive & I have to give credit to our housekeeper
who did a great job even with her fear of dogs (we have two large dogs 70 & 100 lbs that go everywhere with us). Mary at the front desk is great and even managed a kiss out of Monna (which is rare from her);~) Kathy is always helpful to me when when I for reservations and goes the extra mile to make sure all of our needs will be met before we get there. We go every 3 to 6 months and will not stay anywhere else. We are able to relax here after a long day of either traveling to Seattle or sitting at the clinic. If we have our grandchildren with us we can take them swimming to unwind. There are laundry facilities, weight room, pool, hot tub, and a sauna.

Room Tip: I have always had trouble with "city noise" in Seattle. However, since we started staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed three nights in a 2 bedroom suite (2 bathrooms and a kitchenette). It's in a good location and there's an inexpensive streetcar nearby that you can take into the heart of downtown (I chose to leave the car at the hotel...parking there is $23/day so if you then also park downtown you've spent a heap on parking).

The room price includes a good breakfast in the lobby dining area (it closes at 9:30am during the week and i caution against arriving much after 9 because the hotel staff will not put out more of the main course stuff once it runs out - as it seems to around 9:10 or so). I think most evenings there's a light dinner - salad and baked baked potato bar that is also free and not advertised.

There's a pool, hot tub, gym. Wifi in our room was free too but very slow.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukelele67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

stayed 3 nights at this hotel, great property, had asked for early check-in room was not ready when we arrived 4 adults and 2 kids, after waiting about 1/2 hour the gal at the front deck upgraded us to a deluxe suite on the 6th floor great 2 bed room with large living room and a full kitchen. but the best was the view from the wrap-around balcony, Lake Union, The Space Needle, The Trolley was right outside our door. A great breakfast every morning, and a light dinner at night. Staff was great, room was clean and well maintained. Kids loved the pool.The only down side is The Marriott gives you a great room at a great price, and the City and State tax you to death.Would I stay there again..In a heart beat ..that balcony would be great in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grocer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Rooms for five adults aren't the norm, but the Residence Inn had accommodation that suited us perfectly. The bedrooms and washrooms were a good size, the small sitting room and dining area meant we didn't need to stay in our bedrooms, and we made good use of the kitchen. Beds were comfortable, and I liked that we could choose the type of pillows we wanted at the time of booking. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice, but the dining area can be crowded at times. Staff at Reception were friendly and helpful, giving us good advice about where to go for a quick meal near the hotel. One of my friends liked the hotel so much she's booked it for a stay later this year; I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I regularly join my wife on business trips up to Seattle for a change of scenery and to check in on clients I also have in the area. We stay at the Residence Lake Union exclusively for good reason. It is our dog Jo's favorite hotel. Really. He loves to travel and the staff now know him as a frequent guest. The best part is the pet charge is only $10. But seriously, this property feels like a getaway in the heart of one of the world's great cities. Easy to find, comfortable and clean, the Lake Union is a welcoming place that puts Seattle at your fingertips.

Don't confuse this Marriott on Lake Union, with the Courtyard Marriott on Lake Union. We have stayed at the Courtyard and it is not the same caliber. We actually pass right by it with the dog on our morning runs around the lake. It looks tired compared to the Residence. The trolley also run right outside the door at the Residence, for the quick trip downtown without having to hassle with parking. There is great food steps from the hotel, some right on the lake. Serafina and Pasta Freska are both close and four-star Italian restaurants. The hotel has their breakfast bar and evening snack and wine tastings which are better than average, but for a great breakfast head up Eastlake to Louisa's Bakery and Cafe.

The corner rooms have bigger decks with great views of the lake and north skyline. The kitchens make it easy to eat in. We make a stop at Whole Foods or PCC Market over in Ballard and stock up on finger foods to go with a glass of NW wine or beer out on the deck. We even invite local friends over and entertain because It is all too easy, like having your on house on the lake...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for a week last Feb. 2011, on business, loved it! Very comfortable and beautiful; the rooms seemed to have been recently renovated with tons of space. Bed was extremely comfortable, I looked forward to it each night. If I didn't feel like being in my room, the lobby area was grand with many areas to hang out and get some work done, or relax to the sound of the large fountain in the center.
I also enjoyed its location; there were great restaurants right across the street, it had a beautiful view of Lake Union, and even though this hotel is in the city... It's just on the outskirts of downtown enough that you do not feel crammed or have an issue with getting in and out. The first day I was there, I literally walked right out of the hotel and walked the entire city easily... Right down to Pike Place Market in no time!
Another interesting thing you could take part in when i was there, was "renting a roommate". For somewhere around $5 you can choose a Beta Fish to live in your room during your stay... The money goes to the local children's hospital, wonderful concept. And you do not have to lift a finger... They bring it in the room and take it away at the end of your stay; also the housekeeper feeds it each day.
When I return to Seattle, I will not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: One bedrooms are great because your work space and sleeping space are separated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RckStr511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown / Convention Center
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £115 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing