We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, Location. Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
227 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great View, Location. Value”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised! Booked a 1 Bedroom Suite, Sofabed, Lake View, Balcony - bedroom & suite look out to city view including the Space Needle! Georgous w/ lights on at night, early morning is another beautiful perspective. The free breakfast was far better than expected. Wide variety of choices! & the coffee is good. I would definitely stay again if I return to Seattle. I spoke with another guest who said she is rather local and they stayr here for at least a week every year as the rooms are great and the free breakfast coupled with the kitchen in room saves them so much money on food it nearly pays for the room. Personally, I would not want to miss out on the local restaurants - however, for a family apparently the Residence Inn is optimal!

Room Tip: 710 Excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    316
    76
    38
    19
See reviews for
360
150
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel beause we were going to a show at WaMu theatre and didn't want to drive all the way home afterwards since it would be late. This hotel is so big but it was fairly easy to navigate and I loved the rooms. I think we got upgraded to a suite because there were two rooms, each oversized with a king bed and its own seperate bathroom which was awesome for four people to be getting ready for a night out. The living room was really big too, like, you could do a cartwheel big. It had a pull out couch and nice tv plus there was a full size kitchen with fridge and all the utensils and cooking gear for basic food prep. Awesome! Oh and there was even a little balcony that we could go out on. The front desk staff were all very nice and although WaMu is a ways away, it was easy to get there because the hotel is right next to the light rail that takes you closer. The lady at the front desk was really nice explaning how to use that since we hadn't before. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked this hotel because I was traveling with a friend, and with an 8 night stay, we wanted to be together in the same room but also wanted to enjoy some privacy as well. The Residence offered 2 bedrooms and 2 separate baths, plus a full kitchen and living area. It was like our own little villa. The bonuses were many. I spent a long time researching downtown Seattle rates and rooms, and even though this location was a bit further away from Pike Market or the waterfront, it was still a GREAT location!!! The rate included a hot breakfast with many choices every morning, which really adds value. In addition, 3 nights of the week included a Manager's Welcome Reception that offered beverages and snacks, but these weren't snacks...the food offered could've substituted for a light dinner! Again, added value. We didn't rent a car, so we had to take other modes of transportation. The hotel is only a few steps from the Trolley, which is an advantage when it's raining and/or you don't feel like walking. Walking was great, though...it's a very walkable city. The hotel also sits on Lake Union, so it's a very pretty setting right across the street. There are a few good restaurants within a few steps as well. We felt VERY safe here. As with ANY operation of business, just as in life, you have those folks that go above and beyond, and those who just get away with doing the minimum. Unfortunately, there were a few Front Desk Clerks who shouldn't be in the customer service industry, but I just kill 'em with kindess! Overall, however, this hotel met 99.9% of my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RENACRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very friendly staff at this facility. From housekeeping to front desk everyone is very helpful and nice. Management is doing a good job!

The room is very comfortable, well furnished and the amenities are very good. Housekeeping is very attentive and accommodating when requests are left for them.

The breakfast buffet is good considering it is included. The light dinner / snack is less attractive, but it is free if you need a quick bite to each in a pinch.

The lobby area is comfortable for quick meetings. The lounge area with a fireplace and large TV is good for relaxing if you don't want to be in your room by yourself.

The pool, sauna, hot tub and workout room are well maintained and equipped.

I'll be staying here next time I'm in Seattle.

Room Tip: Rooms higher and facing the harbor/marina are the quietest and with the best views when the sun is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Firestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Spent 5 days at the Residence Inn in October and was very pleased with the entire experience. We had six women and a 17 month old in a two bedroom suite and it was more than enough room. We never cooked in the room, but filled our fridge to the brim. What a help that was with a small toddler. The coffee maker was a plus as well.

The morning breakfast buffet is the best selling point of this hotel. The plethora of food provided was beyond amazing. Even better was being able to sit and enjoy it by the "waterfall" or take it back to the room.

The location is great. Driving to the hotel was a breeze from the airport. Parking is underground, and while it's $25 a day, at least you don't have to worry about your vehicle. The trolley stop is literally a short walk away and it takes you to very convenient drop off locations (even Whole Foods for shopping). One thing that I do wish was closer was a non-fancy restaurant. Yes there are a ton of places to eat right at South Lake Union, but nothing super kid friendly.

Only complaints about the whole stay/hotel: The pool is NOT heated. This was a big surprise and led to an upset toddler. The pool itself is nice, its keep in mind it's cold in winter. Only other issue was the crib. My son refused to sleep in it as it was very squeaky and the mattress was lumpy.

But seriously, other than those two issues, this place is FAB!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyHilfiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richland, wa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a glorious two week stay on Maui my husband and I booked 5 nights at the residence inn for shopping, etc in Seattle before heading home. The first two nights were great. Upgraded room with wonderful balcony and lake view. The trolley was super convenient and fun to ride to head uptown. Breakfast great. Housekeeping and cleanliness average. Furniture worn, from computer chair in bedroom to "sofa" and chair in living area though bed comfortable.

NOW THE REST OF THE STORY. Paid $25 per night for secure parking. Ths parking requires the use of your room key for entry.. Packing for multiple trips we had 5 suitcases, totes, plus shopping bags, so we were willing to pay $25 per night to park. We have used off street parking in the past there with never a problem. The third evening arrived back at the hotel around 8:15 pm and parked in secure upper level. This area is mainly used by SUV's and pick up trucks. Still spaces are super tight. Rather than lug multiple totes, suitcases, etc up to the room, we took the suitcase we needed. At around 10 pm room phone rang and the front desk told me a guest had reported my car had been broken into. A maintenance man met me on the first floor and escorted me out to my car which was parked about 30 feet from the door to the lobby. He showed me the broken window and suggested another guest had probably seen my bags and taken them. He suggested a guest could have used their room key for entry to the secure parking area, broken into my car, loaded up their car with our stuff and then exited the secure parking area through the gate. He told me a person walking through the garage could not exit thru the gate since it takes the weight of a car to open it. He did not mention the exit door to the street was a few feet away. I asked about cameras in the garage. He said there were no cameras in the garage to protect guest privacy. Night front desk staff were absolutely not helpful. Absolutely could care less about this incident. She did say this kind of incident has occurred in the past. She also indicated there are notices throughout the garage which state the hotel would not be liable for stolen goods. She did not offer to call the police or contact management. I went back to my room and called the police and waited for them in the lobby.

Here's the scary part. After little sleep, decided to check out the next morning. Different front desk staff suggested someone could have walked in off the street, through the lobby, into the garage, stolen my bags and walked back through the lobby.. This would mean no one at the front desk noticed someone walking off the street with no luggage at 10 pm, into the main entrance at 10 pm, past the front desk, across the lobby, across the reception area, out the door to the garage, back across the reception area again, across the lobby again, past the front desk again, but this time out the main entrance, with multiple suitcases, a large duffle bag, totes and Nordstrom shopping bags AND NOT ONE PERSON LOOKED UP FROM THE FRONT DESK AND NOTICED!!!! We have never ever stayed in a hotel where the front desk staff hasn't looked up to see who is coming and going.

When checking out I asked for an adjustment to my bill and staff acted like It was unreasonable of me to ask. Initially I was credited back my "secure" parking fee.

Now, if you think you are safe staying here, you are not. When I asked about cameras in the hotel, remember, for guest privacy according to the maintenance man, there are no cameras in the secure parking area. Turns out there are no cameras anywhere to protect guests staying here. The manager told me there are no cameras anywhere in the hotel, not in the lobby, not in the hallways, not in reception, not in the elevators, no where, because if something happens and they don't see it they can be sued!!. Wait, he did say there is a camera at the check in area, to keep the front desk staff safe.

Even 7-11's have cameras. Will you be safe at other hotels? Probably. Will you be safe at the residence inn at south lake union? Not likely, unless the staff looks up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

after long reaserch i found this hotel to stay in seattle for business trip about more then 1 month. And thanks to my friend who refer it. Hotel is in heart of city lake union. Very well maintained and well furnished room with fully equipeed kitchen. Every major office,mall,hangout places are nearby. local transport easy to access. The best part of hotel was breakfast and evening session. they servered a lot of items each day. Very friendly staff never felt boring after staying so long. best hotel with well maintained GYM nd Swiming Pool nd SPA nd Sauno bath, library, cafe, business center i ever seeen. Only minus is they do not have cafetaria in built.

Room Tip: room on lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing