We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Day long weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Forty-ninth Parallel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Day long weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent a couple nights at this property with my wife and 3 y.o. daughter over the BC Family Day long weekend. Booked into a one bedroom suite and we were very happy to have a separate living area apart from the bedroom so our daughter could get to bed early without having to "go dark" for the remainder of the night.

Well equipped room, with a flat panel TV in each room (bedroom and lounging area), a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher, and two burner stove. The only thing missing from a full-featured kitchen was an oven, but we didn't miss it over our 2 night stay. The property also included a buffet breakfast each morning with the standard offerings ... a steam table with pancakes, potatoes, scrambled eggs, and sausages on the mornings we were there; full bread table with muffins, bagels, bread for toast and jams; juices and milk; yogurt and fresh fruit; and even a make-your-own-waffle station. The breakfast was decent and about what could be expected at a property of this cailber.

We chose to park on the street as the hotel parking was kinda spendy at around $27/night, and the neighbourhood seemed safe, so we chose the $1.25/hr street parking. Street parking is free after 6 PM and free on Sundays, so it was a much better choice, cost-wise.

The location was good and met our needs. Close to I5 for easy travelling outside of the downtown and a short drive to the Space Needle. Lots of coffee shops and a few decent restaurants around the Amazon office building campus sites ... especially the Top Pot donut shop, which unfortunately isn't open on the weekends.

Our family would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSpode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    316
    76
    38
    19
See reviews for
360
150
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I've stayed at the Residence Inn Lake Union several times over the past 20 years and it never disappoints. I love the extra space and the kitchen facilities -- so much nicer than the typical hotel room. Many of the rooms here have a beautiful view of the lake. Beds are comfortable and hallways are quiet. There are several good restaurants right across the street, and public transportation stops right in front of the hotel. It's also a great place to stay if you have a car because there is a garage under the hotel (although parking is expensive).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy to hear that we are still your favorite! We are glad to have been able to serve you over the last 20 years, and look forward to being your favorite for the next 20. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

2 bedroom suite was perfect for two friends in town for the NFC Championship game. Kitchen always comes in handy and living room is great for hosting friends. The hotel interior common areas under renovation, which wasn't clearly noted on Marriott's website. There was no noise that interfered with our stay, The work will make the common areas much more enticing for guests.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank uclajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to work on our renovations without interfering with your stay. We have worked very hard to try to keep our renovations from detracting from our guest’s experience. And we agree that the renovation of the common areas is going to be a big benefit to our guests. We are very excited to be updating our breakfast area, fitness center, market, business center, and all of the rest of the public space in the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We really appreciate it.
Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were attending a wedding, and our relatives chose this hotel. We really liked it because it was very roomy. This hotel is also near a hospital and clearly has the families of cancer patients in mind. The quilts on the wall in the breakfast area are a testimony to those fighting cancer and their loving families. We highly recommend this hotel for its location, large rooms, and kitchenettes.

Room Tip: Ask if there is construction going on outside and how to be far away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was an average hotel, wasn't as close to the Space Needle as we thought so ended up not walking there, because we would have had to walk under an under pass, and it didn't seem very safe especially after dark. Couldn't find parking in parking, didn't know they had a second parking so when I went to ask where we could park, manager gave me attitude about not knowing there was a second parking lot. Stayed there New Years eve, and paid over $200 for the room. Liked the breakfast, and all the seating, and the open airy feeling of the hallway. The room is older and could hear people in the next room or through the vent, also could smell cigarettes at one point in the evening in our room. This hotel was OK, not too impressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tritzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a one of the larger Residence Inns I have been to. The location is great because it is right downtown. Our room faced the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. Rooms are a bit older but still fine. The staff was very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed there for 6 days over Christmas with our family. We chose the hotel because of the 2 rooms suites. The rooms were in good size but could use some renovation. One of the rooms had a stained bed sheet, which was pretty disgusting. Other than that, the rooms were overall clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok. Hotel was not too far from downtown and is one block from the streetar stop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaryNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing