We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for our family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for our family”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This Residence Inn was the only facility we could find in the area we wanted to stay that had two-bedroom suites, so I was very relieved to read previous positive reviews about it. Our experience here was very good. Friendly staff, great breakfast, excellent location.

We chose to use public transportation during our stay, and most of the time we could catch a bus right in front of the hotel. When the bus stop wasn't in front of the hotel, it was across the street at the next corner. Very convenient.

As for "ambience," I wouldn't put Residence Inn in the luxury category, but it is currently undergoing a renovation, so I would imagine that it will seem fresh and new when they are finished. Currently, the decor is "modern." The large lobby area is open to the 7 floors, and there is more seating than I have ever seen in a hotel lobby. Couches and table are scattered throughout the lobby on 3 levels, which is where the breakfast seating is. I really liked that feature. It was a good use of space.

There are lots of empty terraced planters in the lobby right now, with many of them starting at upper floors all the way to the 7th floor; I'd love to see what they do with them when they finish the renovation. I think it will still be modern, but I can envision lush plants draped throughout the lobby and hanging over those terraced planters, making it seem like a peaceful, clean, bright, colorful indoor garden space. Since Seattle has so many cloudy days, this will be like walking into a sunny garden after an afternoon rain shower (I'm from Florida and can't imagine not seeing the sun after a few hours of rain clouds).

To be fair, I should mention the few things that were a little bothersome. Some of the furniture in our room was a bit shabby, and maid service arrived at about 5:30 pm, which is much later than I've ever encountered. If I were to assume reasons for either of those things, it would be that the renovation will end with refurbishing the rooms, and the cleaning staff is a bit light right now since this is not the tourist season. At any rate, neither of those things had any affect at all on our stay, which we enjoyed very much. We would return without hesitation, and highly recommend the Residence Inn at West Lake to any one who wants to be near all that Seattle has to offer, especially if they want the convenience of separate bedrooms and easy access to public transportation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    326
    77
    38
    21
See reviews for
374
156
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hood River, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was a great Courtyard Marriott - it was under construction so we were a little worried about staying but it wasn't an issue for us. They had a makeshift front counter and while I'm sure the staff must be tired of working under the construction conditions you wouldn't know it! They were very friendly and helpful - in fact the service throughout the property was excellent. The hotel had all the amenities you expect from a Courtyard Marriott plus it was a nice location for my needs (proximity to SCCA & UW Medicine) but it would be a nice location to explore Seattle from as well. It's also dog friendly which was necessary for us and there is a park and a walking path right across the street so that makes it easy for those traveling with dogs. We were given a room upgrade which was completely unexpected but most appreciated. It's not meant to be a romantic, fancy pants hotel - just dependable, comfortable, clean accommodations with kind, friendly service. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very unique Residence Inn with an open 7 story lobby. Go for a lake view. The two bedroom units have nice balconies and the units on the right side facing the lake are party big. Rooms have been recently renovated and they are working on the lobby and dining area now. I would definitely stay here again. Several restaurants across the street on the lake and an easy ride in to the downtown area. Good breakfast included in the rate. A pub is being constructed inside the lobby and that would be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Lake view room. Several two bedroom units have balconies large enough for a party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but our room was very nice. It looked out on Lake Union so at night the lights are twinkling off the water, and during the day, the sun makes the lake sparkle. We had a big patio to hang out on in the mornings to watch the sky change colors and the hustle and bustle around the lake. The room was nice, with a king bed and a living room area. Location-wise was a little far from downtown and the pier - not walking distance. All in all, I think we would stay here again. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was a nice size and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeezPulelehua27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good rooms with very poor customer experience.

Bad parking situation...$27 a night for self-parking in a small lot...very bad!

Very unfriendly staff.

It was hard to connect with management team members.

Room Tip: no tips to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynerobin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. I apologize again for the service errors that occurred. I am glad we had had a chance to talk before you left so that I could address them with you. We will certainly work to fix the mistakes that were made, and we hope to see you again the next time you travel to Seattle. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forty-ninth Parallel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent a couple nights at this property with my wife and 3 y.o. daughter over the BC Family Day long weekend. Booked into a one bedroom suite and we were very happy to have a separate living area apart from the bedroom so our daughter could get to bed early without having to "go dark" for the remainder of the night.

Well equipped room, with a flat panel TV in each room (bedroom and lounging area), a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher, and two burner stove. The only thing missing from a full-featured kitchen was an oven, but we didn't miss it over our 2 night stay. The property also included a buffet breakfast each morning with the standard offerings ... a steam table with pancakes, potatoes, scrambled eggs, and sausages on the mornings we were there; full bread table with muffins, bagels, bread for toast and jams; juices and milk; yogurt and fresh fruit; and even a make-your-own-waffle station. The breakfast was decent and about what could be expected at a property of this cailber.

We chose to park on the street as the hotel parking was kinda spendy at around $27/night, and the neighbourhood seemed safe, so we chose the $1.25/hr street parking. Street parking is free after 6 PM and free on Sundays, so it was a much better choice, cost-wise.

The location was good and met our needs. Close to I5 for easy travelling outside of the downtown and a short drive to the Space Needle. Lots of coffee shops and a few decent restaurants around the Amazon office building campus sites ... especially the Top Pot donut shop, which unfortunately isn't open on the weekends.

Our family would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSpode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I've stayed at the Residence Inn Lake Union several times over the past 20 years and it never disappoints. I love the extra space and the kitchen facilities -- so much nicer than the typical hotel room. Many of the rooms here have a beautiful view of the lake. Beds are comfortable and hallways are quiet. There are several good restaurants right across the street, and public transportation stops right in front of the hotel. It's also a great place to stay if you have a car because there is a garage under the hotel (although parking is expensive).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy to hear that we are still your favorite! We are glad to have been able to serve you over the last 20 years, and look forward to being your favorite for the next 20. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing