We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown(Seattle)(Great Value!)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$544
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$526
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown(Seattle)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$482
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$434
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Belltown Inn(Seattle)(Great Value!)
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$331
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$688
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$549
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
382
345
81
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
345
81
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streettwo bedroom suitelake viewstreetcar stopfull kitchenspace needleduke's chowder housestove topsmall balconyyogurtlaundry roomfree breakfastfront desk staffsofa bedpublic transportationgreat propertystreet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here while we were seeking an investment property in the area. Took a chance on this place again since we enjoyed our visit before and wanted to see if they were good or better than before. Wow, were we surprised. As a Marriott Platinum member, we were upgraded to a spectacular room, 502, which has a balcony bigger than the size or most hotel rooms. It faces Lake Union and had a spacious living room, dining room and bedroom. I imagine this lace must have been about 800-900 sq feet. We watched the seaplanes take off daily while laying in the bed. How very nice! The buffet breakfast daily provided many offerings- hot, cold, whatever you wanted. Eggs, meat and some daily special or make- your- own waffles and fresh yogurt parfait with fruit and granola. This place has a great location, the staff are super- very helpful and accommodating. Kudos to the General Manager and his team. I only wish Marriott would upgrade their coffers at the Residence Inn's since it is so horrible ( not attributable to this hotel but to the chain ). If you are a coffee lover, take your own Starbuck VIA packages and make it yourself- thats what we did.

Room Tip: Secure a lake view room if you want to see the seaplanes taking off.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Loves2TravelALOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Loves2Travel,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that our staff took good care of you. You are correct, we do have the standard Residence Inn branded coffee in our rooms, but we have recently changed our lobby coffee to a local Seattle company named Victrola Roasters, so that our guests can get a taste of local coffee without having to leave the building. Hopefully, the next time you get to visit us you can give it a try. Thanks again for your loyalty to Marriott and to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed here twice and will probably stay again this year. Good location and comfortable rooms. The kids liked the pool. We all enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the evening social........

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank 81cch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear 81cch,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and support! I am very happy that you and your family have enjoyed your stays with us. Make sure to check out the new family activity center complete with x-box, foosball, and Legos the next time you visit! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice location and accommodating staff. The room was extremely worn and the furniture stained and our chair appeared to have been clawed by a cat. The latch dead bolt lock was falling off the hinge and did not work. On the second day of our stay we changed rooms due to the problems stated above. Our second room was roughly in the same condition. We would not recommend or return to this hotel and extremely disappointed in a Marriott property.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kandykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Kandykay,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear that the staff was accommodating during your staff and that you enjoyed our unique location. I am sorry that the room did not meet your satisfaction. We are currently working on plans to renovate the guest rooms. Hopefully you will get a chance to come back for a visit once they are completed.

Sincerely,
Ryan N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

For the price of this hotel, you would think that they would replace the furniture. It was old and frayed. The lounge chair was broken. There is a charge for parking so be prepared for this as well. Breakfast and wifi are included, which was part of our decision. We had a little balcony and could see Lake Union if you leaned. There are better places for the same price. Probably will not stay again. This is too bad as the location is very convenient. They have redone the lobby and hallways, but need to take care of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Ram1983,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear that you liked the new lobby. We are currently working renovation plans for the rooms, and I am sure they will be just as beautiful as lobby renovation. Hopefully you will be willing to join us again once they are completed, since our location is so convenient for you.

Sincerely,
Ryan N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn/Lake Union for three nights as our final destination on our summer trip. The hotel is reasonably close to downtown, and yet feels a bit outside the busy city. The area feels like it's being redone, and was relatively quiet. The hotel itself sits directly across the street from Lake Union, some good restaurants, and a busy harbor/seaport.
The hotel is configured just like an Embassy Suites, with an open atrium floor the height of the hotel itself ( 7 floors). The downstairs lobby is attractive and multilevel. I found the space very inviting, and, while busy, still quite quiet.
We were given a room on the 7th floor. I had reserved a room with a large balcony. We had a long walk from the elevator and then down a side corridor almost to the end - but it was worth it. Our room was a one bedroom suite that featured an enormous balcony, complete with table + 4 chairs and a chaise lounge. The balcony overlooked Lake Union and provided us with great views of the busy seaplanes. We also had a great view of the Space Needle.
The bedroom featured a very comfortable king-sized bed, a flat screen, a nice desk, and a large closet. All luggage fit into the closet, so we made the suite as comfy as possible. The bathroom was located in the bedroom, and had the sink separate from the toilet and shower.
The sofabed was relatively small, barely a queen, but was reasonably comfortable. It took some time to get the bed made up, and I had to call twice, but housekeeping cheerfully and competently made up the bed for us the first night and maintained it.
The kitchenette had very nice appliances, and a nice short counter for snacks or meals if desired.
This was a very nice, large room.
Even though the hotel is a bit away from all the action, the fact that just across the street there's a streetcar stop makes it possible to get to the central Westlake station very easily. From there, you could take the monorail to City Center, or CenturyLink light rail to other destinations. It's possible to walk to the City Center/Space Needle from the hotel (it's a little over a mile away) as well.
The only issues I saw revolved around breakfast. The buffet itself was nice, eggs, breakfast meat, etc., but things constantly ran out - either food, or bowls, constant lack of silverware. It seemed that guests were expected to bus their tables, but many people didn't know that and left breakfast items all over, making it impossible at times to find a clean place to eat. The same downstairs lobby was where the guests had breakfast, and it simply was an issue due to lack of food, space, clean spots. It was the only down spot to the facility, but with some attention, I believe this can come up to Marriott standards. The hotel also featured some light meals on weeknights, but those were also lacking when we checked it out on our way to dinner - just missing items, etc.
Despite the issues around the included meals, I would definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to Seattle. The rooms and location are wonderful.

Room Tip: Many configurations are possible, but if you spring for the lake view with a balcony, you've got it made.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Sunbunny31,

Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Lake Union. I am glad to hear you liked the newly renovated lobby, and the spacious room with a beautiful view. It sounds like you did an excellent job taking advantage of the great public transportation options to see all the sights. I am sorry to hear that you had issues during the breakfast service. During our renovation we completely redesigned and reorganized our breakfast area to be able to serve more guests during our peak times. We still have a few kinks to work out with our service in the new space, but we should have that ironed out by the next time you come visit us. Thanks again for bringing your family to stay at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews