We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but expensive”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Me and my family explored USA and Canada for 3 weeks starting our trip from Denver and ending up in Seattle. We are a family of five with three grown-up children. In some places we shared a room and in some we took two separate rooms. This was the eight hotel on this trip.

We spent four nights in a two bedroom suite with a balcony. The hotel was one of the best on our trip to US and by far the most expensive. we really liked the suite. It was specious, clean and had all the features we could hope for. The kitchen was well equipped and the two bathrooms fulfilled our needs. The balcony was nice, specially when Seattle showed us that it can be hot there as well. We thought that the breakfast was probably the best hotel breakfast we had on the trip. The neighborhood was nice, maybe a bit far from downtown but we could take the street car from across the street.

The only but was the price. Maybe we are staying in places that are more budget friendly but having to pay 100 $ extra per night in taxes and parking was way too much. And even the price for the room was on the high side.

We really loved the place but still I would say that value for money was at the most average.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatkaajaSuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    321
    76
    38
    19
See reviews for
366
154
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose this hotel to spend three days in Seattle before embarking on a cruise. The location to the port was excellent, about a 10 minute taxi ride. We were a family of 4 with 2 young kids so having a very clean, comfortable, casual atmosphere with more space than a traditional hotel room was important. This is not where I would stay for a romantic weekend in Seattle for my husband and I, or if I wanted to be in a happening area where I could easily walk to everything. But for families the convenience and cost savings of a really good continental breakfast, free wifi and a cool kids activity area makes up for the $7 - 8 taxi rides to most of the key sites (pikes market, space needle, water taxi). We spent a day hiking in Mt Rainer and to be able to wash our clothes in the onsite laundromat before getting on a cruise was great. This is a 4 star but in the category of a "residence inn" - it is not a 4 star luxury hotel but if this is what you need and are looking for than this is a great choice.

Room Tip: The third floor is the indoor pool and kids activity so if you don't have kids you may want to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Gemma35805,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your family’s trip. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of our two bedroom suite set up and our Wheelhouse Activity Center for kids. We hope to see you again if you get a chance to visit Seattle again.

Sincerely,
Ryan N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
444 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here while we were seeking an investment property in the area. Took a chance on this place again since we enjoyed our visit before and wanted to see if they were good or better than before. Wow, were we surprised. As a Marriott Platinum member, we were upgraded to a spectacular room, 502, which has a balcony bigger than the size or most hotel rooms. It faces Lake Union and had a spacious living room, dining room and bedroom. I imagine this lace must have been about 800-900 sq feet. We watched the seaplanes take off daily while laying in the bed. How very nice! The buffet breakfast daily provided many offerings- hot, cold, whatever you wanted. Eggs, meat and some daily special or make- your- own waffles and fresh yogurt parfait with fruit and granola. This place has a great location, the staff are super- very helpful and accommodating. Kudos to the General Manager and his team. I only wish Marriott would upgrade their coffers at the Residence Inn's since it is so horrible ( not attributable to this hotel but to the chain ). If you are a coffee lover, take your own Starbuck VIA packages and make it yourself- thats what we did.

Room Tip: Secure a lake view room if you want to see the seaplanes taking off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2TravelALOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Loves2Travel,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that our staff took good care of you. You are correct, we do have the standard Residence Inn branded coffee in our rooms, but we have recently changed our lobby coffee to a local Seattle company named Victrola Roasters, so that our guests can get a taste of local coffee without having to leave the building. Hopefully, the next time you get to visit us you can give it a try. Thanks again for your loyalty to Marriott and to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed here twice and will probably stay again this year. Good location and comfortable rooms. The kids liked the pool. We all enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the evening social........

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 81cch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear 81cch,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and support! I am very happy that you and your family have enjoyed your stays with us. Make sure to check out the new family activity center complete with x-box, foosball, and Legos the next time you visit! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice location and accommodating staff. The room was extremely worn and the furniture stained and our chair appeared to have been clawed by a cat. The latch dead bolt lock was falling off the hinge and did not work. On the second day of our stay we changed rooms due to the problems stated above. Our second room was roughly in the same condition. We would not recommend or return to this hotel and extremely disappointed in a Marriott property.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Kandykay,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear that the staff was accommodating during your staff and that you enjoyed our unique location. I am sorry that the room did not meet your satisfaction. We are currently working on plans to renovate the guest rooms. Hopefully you will get a chance to come back for a visit once they are completed.

Sincerely,
Ryan N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
270 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

For the price of this hotel, you would think that they would replace the furniture. It was old and frayed. The lounge chair was broken. There is a charge for parking so be prepared for this as well. Breakfast and wifi are included, which was part of our decision. We had a little balcony and could see Lake Union if you leaned. There are better places for the same price. Probably will not stay again. This is too bad as the location is very convenient. They have redone the lobby and hallways, but need to take care of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Ram1983,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear that you liked the new lobby. We are currently working renovation plans for the rooms, and I am sure they will be just as beautiful as lobby renovation. Hopefully you will be willing to join us again once they are completed, since our location is so convenient for you.

Sincerely,
Ryan N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn/Lake Union for three nights as our final destination on our summer trip. The hotel is reasonably close to downtown, and yet feels a bit outside the busy city. The area feels like it's being redone, and was relatively quiet. The hotel itself sits directly across the street from Lake Union, some good restaurants, and a busy harbor/seaport.
The hotel is configured just like an Embassy Suites, with an open atrium floor the height of the hotel itself ( 7 floors). The downstairs lobby is attractive and multilevel. I found the space very inviting, and, while busy, still quite quiet.
We were given a room on the 7th floor. I had reserved a room with a large balcony. We had a long walk from the elevator and then down a side corridor almost to the end - but it was worth it. Our room was a one bedroom suite that featured an enormous balcony, complete with table + 4 chairs and a chaise lounge. The balcony overlooked Lake Union and provided us with great views of the busy seaplanes. We also had a great view of the Space Needle.
The bedroom featured a very comfortable king-sized bed, a flat screen, a nice desk, and a large closet. All luggage fit into the closet, so we made the suite as comfy as possible. The bathroom was located in the bedroom, and had the sink separate from the toilet and shower.
The sofabed was relatively small, barely a queen, but was reasonably comfortable. It took some time to get the bed made up, and I had to call twice, but housekeeping cheerfully and competently made up the bed for us the first night and maintained it.
The kitchenette had very nice appliances, and a nice short counter for snacks or meals if desired.
This was a very nice, large room.
Even though the hotel is a bit away from all the action, the fact that just across the street there's a streetcar stop makes it possible to get to the central Westlake station very easily. From there, you could take the monorail to City Center, or CenturyLink light rail to other destinations. It's possible to walk to the City Center/Space Needle from the hotel (it's a little over a mile away) as well.
The only issues I saw revolved around breakfast. The buffet itself was nice, eggs, breakfast meat, etc., but things constantly ran out - either food, or bowls, constant lack of silverware. It seemed that guests were expected to bus their tables, but many people didn't know that and left breakfast items all over, making it impossible at times to find a clean place to eat. The same downstairs lobby was where the guests had breakfast, and it simply was an issue due to lack of food, space, clean spots. It was the only down spot to the facility, but with some attention, I believe this can come up to Marriott standards. The hotel also featured some light meals on weeknights, but those were also lacking when we checked it out on our way to dinner - just missing items, etc.
Despite the issues around the included meals, I would definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to Seattle. The rooms and location are wonderful.

Room Tip: Many configurations are possible, but if you spring for the lake view with a balcony, you've got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sunbunny31,

Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Lake Union. I am glad to hear you liked the newly renovated lobby, and the spacious room with a beautiful view. It sounds like you did an excellent job taking advantage of the great public transportation options to see all the sights. I am sorry to hear that you had issues during the breakfast service. During our renovation we completely redesigned and reorganized our breakfast area to be able to serve more guests during our peak times. We still have a few kinks to work out with our service in the new space, but we should have that ironed out by the next time you come visit us. Thanks again for bringing your family to stay at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing