We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantstic staff and Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a fantstic staff and Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We just got back from a Princess Cruise to Alaska and stayed at the Residence Inn Pre-Cruise and loved the staff and hotel, we stayed again post cruise. We had a two bedroom two bathroom suite my wife and I shared with her two sisters. The rooms were seperated by a Kitchen and living room area. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff was exceptional. We had never been to Seattle before and Mary, Susanne and Eric were always there to help us with our sightseeing questions and needs. The fist day we walked to the space needle and then took the monorail to downtown Seattle and Pike's Market. We then took the streetcar back to the hotel. We had a reservation at another hotel post cruise, but cancelled it and went back to the Residence Inn. They have a great breakfast in the morning, free Wi-fi in the rooms, and it is right out the door from Lake Union, great restaurants and the marina. The hotel rates were reasonable and we just can't say enough about the city, hotel and the staff. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    316
    76
    38
    19
See reviews for
360
151
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

I just spent a couple days at the Residence Inn/Lake Union with my husband and two sons, 22 and 27. We had a two bedroom suite (one king bedroom and the other bedroom had two double beds) which was so nice because we could all still have our privacy as well as being able to hang out together in the spacious family room/kitchen area. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms are very attractive and clean. Also, the price is a good value for a family. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmegg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

This Residence Inn is an all-suites facility. Since we were traveling with my married daughter and her husband, as well as our other adult daughter, the suites made the trip totally enjoyable. We had room to spread out, televisions in all rooms, a full kitchen. And the Residence Inn breakfast buffet is the best I've seen anywhere. The downside was the bed felt as if it had been used quite a while -- you tended to slip off to the sides where the imprints were. It's right on a trolly line so travel to downtown Seattle locations is easy, and the view of Lake Union is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mguerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

We really were so happy with the Residence Inn by Marriot!

Here are the things that stand out for us that we really liked:

1. I travelled with my husband, my mom (who is in a wheelchair) and our 2 dogs. They were SO very accomodating with regards to the wheelchair! They measured the bed height for me prior to us arriving, and when the 30" bed height was too high for my mom, they offered, to take the frame off to lower the height to 16". Well when we arrived this was all nicely done for us and the bed was perfect for my mom!

2. Pet friendly. Our dogs were welcomed (yes they do charge $10 a night per pet though), and all of the staff was very friendly towards them. Actually, I saw several dogs staying at this hotel while we were there! Also the location is great for dog people. It's a nice 5 min walk around the hotel block, with grass boulevards all around. Also across the street is a park and then marina, so lots of good dog walking spots and grassy pottying areas!

3. In the lobby there is coffee, and water (for tea and hot chocolate) 24 hours a day! Love this! Also at the front desk every evening they have something else - fruit, cookies, etc! Yum!

4. Free breakfast and not a cheap looking breakfast either, a really nice one with waffle irons, french toast, eggs, hash browns, saussage, bagels, bread, muffins, doughnuts, danishes, cereal (oatmeal and cold), etc etc etc! Great breakfast! The layout of the breakfast area/lobby is awesome too! Big and open area! Very nice!

5. The rooms are wonderful! We loved the kitchen and they even give you a bag of microwave popcorn! Awesome!

6. Great pool, hot tub, sauna and exercise room! Open until 11pm!

7. Lots of restaurants across the street to choose from! And I can't remember which one, but one of the restaurants delivers to your room for dinner. There's a menu in your room kitchen. And it was delicious the meal that we had from there!

The ONLY thing that we didn't like was:

1. That the breakfast ended at 9am during the week (hours from 6 - 9am). It was a strech for us and many other people there on leisure to make it there in time. We got there at 8:40am and so did many other people ;) Hee hee! But they did a great job and didn't pack things up right away, and even when they did they took their time and still let people grab things at 9 :)

We will DEFINITELY return here again! Wonderful hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMrsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quick overnight getaway in town with our 2 1/2 year old daughter. We were very pleased with our stay at the Residence Inn. The staff was very accommodating, and in addition to making a dinner reservation for us at nearby Daniel's, hooked us up with a complimentary appetizer at the restaurant!

The room was very clean and had tasteful decor (and a very comfortable bed!). The bathroom was pretty standard (what you would expect). The room was pretty quiet for the most part, though there were some loud motorcycles and sirens around 10:00 p.m. -- it got quiet after that though. Great balcony view! Also enjoyed the pool (and especially the 3 ft. deep kiddie pool, which was perfect for our daughter).

The free breakfast was a nice touch too! (Get there early though -- it does get a bit crowded at the buffet.)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank df_genre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

This hotel was more than we expected! The room had a full kitchen, not just a mini fridge & microwave like some. They even have a gas grill on the patio that can be used by guests. The continental breakfast was the best I've ever seen, with all kinds of selection for both hot and cold food. The rooms were updated and clean. The only thing one might complain about was the CFL light in the bathroom took quite awhile to get bright enough to see. Our balcony had chairs to enjoy the sunshine and Lake Union was just across the street. Our room was nice and quite too. We didn't use the pool or exercise room, but both looked well kept. The parking garage is also secured and well lit, which was great. We got an amazing deal with "Name Your Own Price" on Priceline. We wished we would have realized that there was a stovetop and full refrigerator for cooking, or we would have gone by a grocery store before getting to the hotel. There is no convenience or grocery store in the immediate (easy walking) area. Across the street is the Center for Wooden Boats and there will soon be a large park to enjoy. The street car and bus stops are located on the same block as the hotel and go directly into downtown. Only a couple blocks up Valley/Roy is Bucca di Beppo Italian restaurant which has amazing food. We try and go each time we are in Seattle (reservations are highly recommended!). And while not the most scenic walk (you have to walk along a very busy highway)it is within a reasonable walk of the Seattle Center (Space Needle). The Experience Music Project at Seattle Center is also a must see & the Duck Tour is well worth it! We highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again the next time we come to Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutofAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

We paid over 200 dollars for one night here in Marriotts Lake Union Washington. The carpets were filthy, the bathroom floors were filthy and the Pool area was filthy. Our hopes were dashed when we went to the pool and whirlpool in the evening to relax and it was flooded with water. The pool was cold and the whirlpool was closed off for repair. I was so disappointed in my stay, I will be very careful booking with Marriott in the future. There were 2 good things: the pillow soft bed and a wonderful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank country_livin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing