We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How Can They Legally Charge For Parking!!!???” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How Can They Legally Charge For Parking!!!???”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Hotel was nice. Rooms were great. Breakfast was best I have ever had at a hotel. Parking situation was a nightmare! Not sure how they can legally charge $26 to park in a garage where the spaces are too small and tight to actually park in. Turning radius was so small I had to go back and forth 12 times to get turned into it. Even the small cars were so close together that I'm sure everyone had door dings. Only way I would stay there again would be if I didn't have a car. Seemed a bit greedy to try and fit that many spaces in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyvac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    314
    74
    38
    18
See reviews for
356
150
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

After a weekend in Vegas my girlfriend and I needed a break, so we drove down from Vancouver to drop a friend off at Seatac and stayed the night here.
Unexpectedly great.
Super professional and really friendly front desk staff.
Reception for us at 5:00 with a free stocked salad bar!
Free breakfast with a serious selection ( eggs, bacon, muffins breads etc, waffles, juice and coffee )
Big, clean rooms with flat-screens in all 3.
4-5 good,popular restaurants across the street on the water/marina.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theforeigntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

While the location isn't very central, the hotel is great value for the money, especially if you don't go during peak times. The rooms are very large, have great views and clean. The breakfasts are also tremendous.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blusuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Stayed here in a one bedroom suite Jan. 19-23. Though I asked for a higher floor in my reservation, my teenage daughter and I were given a room in the front of the hotel on the second floor. After our long trip to get there, we were just too tired to complain. The next day, however, when I walked outside onto the balcony, I felt like I was standing in the middle of traffic - the street outside, though on the banks of Lake Union, is very busy and loud. The reception staff was very cordial and friendly, and promptly moved us to the back of the building on the 5th floor for the rest of our stay after I stated my concerns.
The one bedroom suite is somewhat smaller than what I expected, but still very convenient to have the pull out sofabed and kitchen - fully stocked. Besides a bit of a stain on the carpeting, cleanliness was not an issue. The king sized bed is luxurious.
Since we arrived on a Wednesday, we were able to partake in the evening reception (Mon., Tues., Wed. only) which on that day included hotdogs and beans - and wine/beer - included in the room rate. The daily breakfast was really quite good : make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, etc. And there's always coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available in the lobby.
The hotel is located at the end of the streetcar line from Westlake and Olive (South Lake Union Trolley) so even without a car, it is convenient to get to the downtown area ($2.50 adults, $.75 youth, senior, disabled). From SeaTac, we took the light rail to Westlake (very reasonably priced at around $4.50, adult) - a nice and convenient 35 minute ride.
All in all, a nice stay at the Residence Inn - but it's not a palace :-D
(PS This is a non smoking hotel, and curiously includes the outdoor balconies)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auradain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I, along with our two dogs, stayed here in order to attend the Seattle Boat Show. The hotel is directly across the street from the show docks. We were given a free upgrade to a two-bedroom, two bath suite--a pleasant surprise! The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The beds were too soft for my taste, but then I like them rather hard. Nice decor, clean and comfortable, decent breakfast--overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shampel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We often stay at the Marriott Residence Inn at Lake Union when we spend the weekend with another couple in Seattle. It has suites with separte bedrooms and bathrooms and is well maintained, easy parking, Sunday breakfast in the Courtyard.

This hotel has been very well kept up over the years and is totally friendly to weekenders.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabb7118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

I'm pretty sure this property was a Ramada or something, because the layout is of a full-service hotel. They have a beautiful lobby and dining area with waterfalls. The inside is open and the hallways look out to the main foyer. Since it was slow in October, they upgraded me to a 2-bedroom unit with a space needle view, I didn't even ask! They were so kind and helpful during our entire stay. The local area is absolutely beautiful, but I wish there were a few more good restaurants nearby. Most of the ones close were overpriced and not all that great, but we had a full kitchen so that's not a problem! We took the train from the Seattle Airport to downtown. We then caught the seattle street car on the corner of west lake and olive (it's on the ground level, right in front of Bank of America in case you get lost), That took us almost directly to the Residence Inn (get off at Lake Union Park or the one right after it).

Right across the street they have boat rentals and a lot of other water activities. You can rent kayaks up at the University of Washington if you have a car for pretty cheap. We hit up the Theo Chocolate Factory tour which a must (not even a chocolate guy, but they have the best stuff ever). You can technically walk from the hotel to downtown (we walked at around 7pm to the whole foods downtown and felt perfectly safe) but it's a bit of a trek. The food they serve for lunch and breakfast was really good, better than most residence inns. The pool area was well kept and huge compared to most in the city. They really have a top notch hotel here, and this is the best value you can get in the city. All in all, we loved our stay at the Residence Inn and can't wait to go back to Seattle!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing