We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grove, West Seattle Inn
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Tigard, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed in this motel when it was a Travelodge many years ago. It was nice then, but it's even nicer now. The location is great - the bus into Seattle is just across the street and it only takes about 10 minutes to get into town, without all the headaches of looking for a place to park, which is just about impossible in Seattle. The new owners have done a wonderful job with updating the rooms, and the outside looks much better, too! The only thing I can say somewhat negative about my room (Room 201) was that there was no AC. They did have a good fan going, but it didn't do quite as good of a job as AC. The other rooms appeared to have AC, though. However, if this was the only room available and I stayed here again, I'd still take it. It's just a nice, cozy, and clean place. I would definitely recommend it to friends and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigardMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for mentioning the renovation. Yes, we are still a motor lodge by appearances, but what we offer are clean accommodations and great guest service along with a location that is convenient to West Seattle and downtown Seattle. One of the items I hope to have "fixed" by next summer is the lack of air-conditioning in the unit you were in, and 3 other units that don't have it. We are looking at a couple of different options to take care of that issue.
Thanks, and hope to see you back soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    135
    37
    4
    5
See reviews for
120
102
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and was perfect. The price included parking. A free shuttle bus down to the waterfront was right across the street. Once on the waterfront we took the short water taxi ride into downtown Seattle. When done for the day in Seattle took the water taxi back and caught the free shuttle bus back to the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable and the front desk / lobby person was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Another "perfect" stay. Thank you for the great review. Convenience, location and great guest service is what we are all about.
We look forward to your next visit.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Everyone at the Grove in West Seattle were very friendly and helpful. This Inn is very reasonable in price and Very convenient to downtown Seattle by way of the water taxi. the fee for the taxi was like 3.00 for each way and gives a phenomenal view of Seattle as you approach arrival. It drops you off right downtown and from that point you can easily see everything by foot or tram. The Grove has very nice rooms with nice decorations and mattresses. The breakfast has fresh fruit yogurts and all the other breakfast bar choices. The rooms are the size of the original hotel that was renovated by the ingenous people who thought of saving this site.So the rooms might be a bit small to some people but my family did not have a problem at all with room size. Besides you have so many things to do and see in Seattle that you will not be there except to sleep. And again the mattresses were very comfortable so you will get a great night's sleep so that you can get out and see more the next day.i will always stay here while visiting seattle!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to review our property. You covered all the great aspects of staying with us here in West Seattle. You did say that the room was a bit small, but as I mentioned in a previous reply, we do have quite a few different room types and sizes. Be sure to ask about those when booking to find out about rates and availability.
We hope you will come back and visit us again.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed this past weekend at the Grove. We have 2 children and a dog. I'd never stayed in West Seattle before but now, will never stay anywhere else! There is a free shuttle in front of the hotel that takes you to the water taxi for downtown Seattle. The kids loved that. There is a Rapid Ride bus stop one block away which takes you directly to downtown as well. The rooms were modern, clean and very large. We had the room with 2 queen beds. We were able to leave our dog in the room alone as long as he was in his crate. Also, they only charge the pet fee once... not every night of the stay.

The breakfast is better than most with many options. I'd only prefer better coffee (being that it is Seattle! :-) )

We also really liked the vibe of West Seattle. Great restaurants and shops just a few blocks away. I almost don't want to review this hotel because I want to keep it a secret.

Also, someone wrote about the lack of a pool. They now offer a $5 pool access/fitness facility to the YMCA a block away. Also, safe a free parking is a huge plus.

We were really amazed, surprised and thrilled by what a great place the Grove was. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Alaska street side might be noiser but we didn't have a problem with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. You covered all the pluses of staying with us and how convenient we are to everything in West Seattle and downtown Seattle. Thank you for mentioning the large room you were in. We do have more than one or two room types and for those guests that need something a bit larger or with more beds, we do have those available.
We look forward to your next visit with us!
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here last weekend, as we were in town for a wedding. The property was very nice, new and clean. The rooms were simple and tasteful, and the linens and bed were wonderful. The location was perfect, allowing for a very quick drive to any of the junction shops and Alki beach. Its a perfect starting point for sightseeing. The staff let us check in several hours early which was wonderful. Great place to stay, and West Seattle is absolutely charming! I will most definitely be staying here again! PS....Maybe you could throw 1 or 2 more pillows on that super comfy bed! Also I really loved the art in the room of the black kitty standing at the entrance of the Luna Park Cafe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowmeow1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our Inn. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope to have you back as our guests the next time you are in Seattle.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was an amazing property. It has been newly renovated and it was impeccably clean and all decor was new. Linens were also excellent. It is close to many places for eating, an easy walk to the Junction of California and Alaska which has many shops, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. We also appreciated that it was very close to the bus stop, so getting around without a car was pretty easy.

We reserved the King Suite, and really loved the space. It was an apartment style room with a convenient kitchenette and a nice living/dining room. We actually were able to have the family visit us there, and have beverages and snacks together, which was wonderfully relaxing.

The breakfast which was included was very good --- not a hot breakfast, but very good as they always had fresh fruit and even a big bowl of fresh blueberries each morning as well as juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereals, pastries and bagels, etc.

If there was a drawback, is that this location doesn't have a swimming pool and no kitchen utensils for quick cooking --- but we would definitely stay again at this hotel for its convenience and location. The staff was even so kind as to let us check in extra early as we arrive by air at 9AM, and they simply offered that we eat breakfast while they got the room ready.

Finally, the king size bed was very comfortable --- and there was no noise from the street, just some noise in the alley at night from some frisky kitty cats. We definitely would stay here again.

Great staff -- great facility!

Room Tip: The King Suite was awesome and worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Grove. The king suite is one of our most popular units for all the reasons you listed. They are great for entertaining friends and family while staying here. As you mentioned, we are perfectly located if you do not have a car available with bus stops conveniently located right outside our door. I should mention that even though we don't have the extra amenities such as a pool, we do have discount passes to be able to use the "Y" located half a block from us.
We hope to see you back soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Needed a place to stay close to my relatives in West Seattle, but still wanted to have easy access to downtown (since I would not be renting a car). My aunt told me about this place and placed the reservation for me. I had my own reservations! But turns out it was just perfect.
An older motel that has been remodeled/modernized. The outside is not that impressive, as far as motels go. But the rooms are clean, and furnished nicely. GREAT hot shower! There is free breakfast every morning in the Orchid Room between 6am-10am. Breakfast consists of: assortment of breads/pastries, yogurts, cereals, hard boiled eggs, and a variety of teas and coffee. A few mornings they had fresh blueberries to top off your cereal/oatmeal or yogurt. Nothing fancy, but tides you over until you get out and about.
Made service was not the best; i.e. she'd forget to throw away my breakfast tea cup or she'd leave 2 extra hand towels for no reason. Sort of random. But the room was always neat and tidy and I never wanted for anything.
The front desk personnel were always friendly and helpful with their information.
One great perk about The Grove, is that you can step across the street and pick up the FREE Water Taxi Shuttle, which will take you down to the Water Taxi at Alki. The Water Taxi ticket is about $3.75/less for seniors and children, one way. It's a 10 minutes ride across Elliott Bay to Pier 50 in Seattle. From there you can cab it, or walk along the water towards downtown and Pike's Market Place. Then you can do this all in reverse to get back to your hotel for the night. The front desk has the schedules you need for the shuttle and water taxi.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the most preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSWTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your experience at The Grove. Besides being a less expensive alternative to the downtown hotels, our location is perfectly suited to someone who does not have access to a vehicle. We are right on the bus lines as you mentioned and "The Junction", a collection of shops, restaurants and pubs is walking distance from our property.
We hope you will choose The Grove for your lodging needs when you are back in the Seattle area.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Georgetown Inn
#16 of 101 in Seattle
529 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 101 in Seattle
739 reviews
Days Inn Seattle Aurora
#85 of 101 in Seattle
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove, West Seattle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove, West Seattle Inn

Property: The Grove, West Seattle Inn
Address: 3512 SW Alaska St, Seattle, WA 98126-2731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > West Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#32 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grove, West Seattle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened Summer 2011 under new ownership and management, The Grove West Seattle Inn is an oasis of comfort and convenience perfectly positioned just minutes from downtown Seattle and Sea-Tac International Airport in West Seattle, a picturesque community with an eclectic small-town vibe. From our refreshingly renovated lobby, guestrooms and suites to our genuinely friendly staff, we go out of our way to provide a truly unique, highly personalized guest experience.Featuring 46 newly renovated guestrooms and suites, we’re intimate in size yet abundant in thoughtful amenities. Chat with fellow travelers in our new lobby, where we’ll treat you to some fabulous freebies, like free WiFi and complimentary continental breakfast. Kick back in freshly revamped guest accommodations, each painted in a rich, architecturally inspired color palate and furnished with flat-screen TVs and ultra-comfortable mattresses topped with stylish new bedding.Whether business or pleasure brings you our way, our location is central to a Seattle’s bustling commercial districts, as well as spirited local shopping, dining, sightseeing and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grove, West Seattle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove, West Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Travel Lodge
Seattle Travelodge
Travelodge Seattle
Travel Lodge Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing