We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove West Seattle Inn
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited family in West Seattle and the Grove was very conveniently located and moderately priced. The room was clean and comfortable and they provided a substantial continental breakfast. I definitely plan to return on my next Seattle visit.

Room Tip: Rooms off the main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisingempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. Just as so many other reviews have said, our location is great for visiting Seattle and surrounding areas. Clean rooms, great guest service and great rates! What else could you ask for? I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

So surprised! VERY CLEAN, close to many Seattle attractions, easy to find, basic breakfast included (who needs dry scrambled eggs and greasy bacon), FREE PARKING, and price cannot be matched. Excellent remodel, everything new.

Room Tip: Room was on second floor facing small apt building. No noise whatsoever, although it was a very HOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2-travelers-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are so happy you found us! Yes, we are a motor inn style motel, but do offer nicely renovated rooms and are conveniently located to just about anything you want to do in the Seattle area. Even though we are a "no frills" property, we also don't charge extra for breakfast, WiFi, or parking.
We hope you will come back and visit us soon.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice and clean, limited breakfast menu (cereals, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, bananas and fruit salad, coffee & decaf, juices). We got a handicapped accessible room and I appreciated the grab bars. Within walking distance of the shopping district. The staff was helpful (we needed help adjusting the tv). Great value for the money! West Seattle is a great neighborhood (Alki Point Beach, shopping, food etc.)

Room Tip: Tell them if you need handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Renee002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you very much for the great feedback about you recent stay at The Grove. You are correct about West Seattle being such a great neighborhood. So much to see and do here without even going to downtown Seattle. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back in the future.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Gosh, if you are looking for a motel/hotel in West Seattle, look no further! It’s not because The Grove is the best, cheapest, or trendiest; it’s because it is the only one we could find in West Seattle! Luckily, it was close to the wedding and reception we were attending, and one of our most very, very favorite vegan and gluten free restaurants in the Seattle area: Chaco Canyon Organic Cafe. As I understand, after talking to the manager, this motel is on the comeback from a seedy reputation from years past. The room was typical 1970’s: comfortable, not too large, clean and quiet (well, most of the time), the internet connection passable, the Continental breakfast was very satisfying for a gluten free herbivore (a lot of fresh fruit, oatmeal, etc.). The manager is a great guy to talk too.
On the down side, the first night there, there was a wedding party headquartered at the same motel; after trying to quiet things down myself around 3:00 am with a very drunk, loud and high group, I finally called the front desk at around -4:00 am. The next morning, at around 7:00 am we were passing under an open bathroom window of one of the party-goers who was upchucking. I said with a loud voice: Oooh, the poor guy must be sick! The window was immediately slammed shut :)

Room Tip: The rooms in the back courtyard would be the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValleyPrimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your visit to The Grove. We are the only lodging in West Seattle besides a couple of B&B's, and we strive to offer the best in guest service, clean rooms and inexpensive lodging. I do apologize for the late night activities of the other wedding party.
We hope you will stay with us again if you are back in the area.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night primo to our cruise. Between the 5 of us in two rooms we had 11 bags. We were on the second floor and they had no elevator. Be prepared to cart your luggage up the stairs!! The rooms were clean and the customer service was excellent!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDomingiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Yes, I wish we did have an elevator. Even though we are only 2 stories, it would make it a lot nicer for guests with a lot of luggage or those who have a hard time with stairs. We do our best to honor any request to be on the bottom floor as long as the rooms are available. Please let us know the next time you visit us.
We hope to see you soon!
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughters 10 and 13 years old and I stayed 4 nights at this motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our tourist questions!! Loved that the water taxi shelter was right across the street and the location was accessible to the destinations we wanted to see. it was clean and a great value. Loved the continental breakfast which my girls took advantage of each morning...it helped save our vacation budget in many ways. Nothing fancy but it has been renovated with some modern style.

Room Tip: I would say try to get an interior room as our room was on the Alaska side and a little noisy but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN_Girls2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. "Great Value" says it all. Nothing fancy, just inexpensive, clean lodging with a staff that provides great service.
We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Seattle.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We originally chose The Grove because of its proximity to downtown Seattle, reasonable rate and favorable Tripadvisor reviews. The Grove offers both that convenience and value plus we also discovered that West Seattle is a very scenic, interesting place with good restaurants. The property is an example of making the very most of what you have. It's primarily a traditional motel in design, but they have furnished the rooms with good quality furniture and attractive decorations. The second floor interior queen room we had was compact-well small, but by eliminating a dresser they created a little more interior space, so that it felt less confining. There is no elevator. Stairs and halls were carpeted cutting down on noise. It was a very quiet stay. The bed was comfortable the compact window air conditioner was efficient and quiet, but the foam rubber pillows a big disappointment. The continental breakfast was just that and no more and the seating area was small. Staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't recommend The Grove for families with young children. No play areas or pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing The Grove on TripAdvisor. Yes we are a small motel, motor inn that the owners have renovated and turned into an affordable, clean and comfortable place to stay when visiting Seattle. We really try to offer our guests the best in guest service and value. Unfortunately, there isn't much we can do to alter the physical aspects of the property such as room size and access. I do apologize about the pillows you had. We do have other pillows on hand so let us know when you visiting again so we can get you something more comfortable.
We look forward to your next visit.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Georgetown Inn
#19 of 105 in Seattle
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#87 of 105 in Seattle
192 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#63 of 105 in Seattle
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove West Seattle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove West Seattle Inn

Address: 3512 SW Alaska St, Seattle, WA 98126-2731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > West Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#24 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £93 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grove West Seattle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened Summer 2011 under new ownership and management, The Grove West Seattle Inn is an oasis of comfort and convenience perfectly positioned just minutes from downtown Seattle and Sea-Tac International Airport in West Seattle, a picturesque community with an eclectic small-town vibe. From our refreshingly renovated lobby, guestrooms and suites to our genuinely friendly staff, we go out of our way to provide a truly unique, highly personalized guest experience. Featuring 46 newly renovated guestrooms and suites, we’re intimate in size yet abundant in thoughtful amenities. Chat with fellow travelers in our new lobby, where we’ll treat you to some fabulous freebies, like free WiFi and complimentary continental breakfast. Kick back in freshly revamped guest accommodations, each painted in a rich, architecturally inspired color palate and furnished with flat-screen TVs and ultra-comfortable mattresses topped with stylish new bedding. Whether business or pleasure brings you our way, our location is central to a Seattle’s bustling commercial districts, as well as spirited local shopping, dining, sightseeing and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Grove West Seattle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove, West Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Travel Lodge
Seattle Travelodge
Travel Lodge Seattle
Travelodge Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing